The Walking Dead : Season 1

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2489 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    This first taste is damn near perfect.
  2. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    It amazes me that american t.v. continues to create weak and over dramatised rubbish that idiots rate as positive. This show promises so much but delivers a lot of disappointment. The characters are so annoying that the show leaves you wanting them to be eaten just to save the world before they breed. Love the zombies, but hate the imbeciles this series is based around. Producers of t.v.It amazes me that american t.v. continues to create weak and over dramatised rubbish that idiots rate as positive. This show promises so much but delivers a lot of disappointment. The characters are so annoying that the show leaves you wanting them to be eaten just to save the world before they breed. Love the zombies, but hate the imbeciles this series is based around. Producers of t.v. need better writers. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2010
    3
    Points for production values; the elaborate city scenes were convincing, grand, and well-choreographed. The cinematography was quite good, especially the tense opening sequence which had some beautiful long takes. But I was unable to give a **** about any character (except the poor horse). The acting fit the parts well enough, but these characters feel so recycled and ordinary that they'rePoints for production values; the elaborate city scenes were convincing, grand, and well-choreographed. The cinematography was quite good, especially the tense opening sequence which had some beautiful long takes. But I was unable to give a **** about any character (except the poor horse). The acting fit the parts well enough, but these characters feel so recycled and ordinary that they're unreal. You really sense the writers trying to tug our heart-strings -- the manipulative plotting left me cold. It's a low-grade melodrama that fails to address any substantive social issues (unlike the excellent 28 Days Later). There was definitely some excitement in the long city sequence, in a survival-horror kind of way. If the characters weren't so hollow, and the dialogue so canned, the action sequences would have some weight behind them. Walking Dead gives the impression of a totally insincere, mass-market cash-grab made to capitalize on the zombie fad. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    I can't believe the number of sheep who lap up this garbage with zeal. I've come to the conclusion that the writers haven't yet let us in on the survivors' ultimate plan: bore the zombies death by spending two-thirds of every episode discussing their feelings.
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    I read the comics. I saw the trailers. I watched the pilot. AMC's adaptation of The Walking Dead was truly mindblowing. The first series follows the events of the first 8 comic books. From Rick awaking from his coma up until the attack on camp. Now when they changed bits, some drastically such as the CEDA encounter for the final two episodes I was worried but they pulled it offI read the comics. I saw the trailers. I watched the pilot. AMC's adaptation of The Walking Dead was truly mindblowing. The first series follows the events of the first 8 comic books. From Rick awaking from his coma up until the attack on camp. Now when they changed bits, some drastically such as the CEDA encounter for the final two episodes I was worried but they pulled it off spectacularly and have given the TV show its own special place in an alternate setting to the comics (even if it does have a lot of the same characters). The cast are largely unknown to me but all are amazing at the role they play, bringing across the best interpretation of those well established characters possible. The Walking Dead is for any zombie fan or even people who like a good drama. A must watch by any means. Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Simply the best series I have seen in a long time. The pace is fast, which I like. I actually care about the characters. The zombie makeup is stellar. The plot, borrowed from a comic, is riviting. This series is the Gold Standard against which other action series should be held. It exceeds my expectations in every area (except maybe musical score) and is far and away better than manySimply the best series I have seen in a long time. The pace is fast, which I like. I actually care about the characters. The zombie makeup is stellar. The plot, borrowed from a comic, is riviting. This series is the Gold Standard against which other action series should be held. It exceeds my expectations in every area (except maybe musical score) and is far and away better than many theatrical releases on the zombie genre. I also watched season two, and the progression of the character development during this and the next season is truly amazing. HATS OFF TO ALL INVOLVED IN THIS PRODUCTION. Expand
  8. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    The First Season of amc's the walking dead, blew me away, i was so surprised when i first sat down and watched the first episode i honestly wasn't expecting anything like this: A zombie drama that focuses more on the survivors and how they cope with the changing of their environment, The first season of the walking dead was so good, the Past was good, the action was great, the firstThe First Season of amc's the walking dead, blew me away, i was so surprised when i first sat down and watched the first episode i honestly wasn't expecting anything like this: A zombie drama that focuses more on the survivors and how they cope with the changing of their environment, The first season of the walking dead was so good, the Past was good, the action was great, the first episode was amazing followed by 6 other will down episodes, AMC's the Walking Dead is truly worth your time. FINAL VERDICT 10/10 Expand
  9. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    People who give this show a bad score don't understand it or what it's trying to do. Please ignore any criticism of its pacing, the show is supposed to be slow (and yes the first half of season 2 is extremely slow), you can't crate tension by zipping through everything the way an action movie would. I have personally found the characters to be likable, if at times a bit stereotypical. ThePeople who give this show a bad score don't understand it or what it's trying to do. Please ignore any criticism of its pacing, the show is supposed to be slow (and yes the first half of season 2 is extremely slow), you can't crate tension by zipping through everything the way an action movie would. I have personally found the characters to be likable, if at times a bit stereotypical. The show has fantastic camera work, plot, direction, and most importantly, unlike most entertainment today, it gives itself time to breath, to get a hold of itself. People complaining about the pace probably aren't used to this, and think a show about a zombie apocalypse should be about zombies instead of the survivors. This show is simply fantastic, and one of the best shows on T.V. Expand
  10. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding our characters in everything they do keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is fantastic. The make-up and effects department are probably the best I've ever seen.
    The one downside to the show is the writing of certain characters, specifically
    Easily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding our characters in everything they do keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is fantastic. The make-up and effects department are probably the best I've ever seen.
    The one downside to the show is the writing of certain characters, specifically females, however the majority of characters are brilliant. The Walking Dead not only refers to its realistic zombies AKA Walkers, but the minds and soul of our characters and how the world around them effects their declining morality.
    Expand
  11. Aug 26, 2014
    4
    I think this show is not that good, i mean all that is fun to see are the zombies and stuff, cause i mean nobody really care about the characters, they are just not so interesting. It's 4/10. Just my opinion.
  12. Aug 30, 2015
    3
    The characters are dumb. They are not thought-over, they don't show any kind of development, they sometimes seem act at random. Like the writers forgot who they were between episodes. Apart from that major flaw, the show is nice.
  13. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Better than any zombie movie I've ever seen. The performances, the effects, everything about the first episode is sheer brilliance. I, personally, can't wait to watch the rest of this amazing series.
  14. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action andThis is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action and laughs (although a bit of both can be found). Although amc is extremely **** about the quality of their shows, they have good reason to be. Expand
  15. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Just finished watching it. Wow, it was just as good as I expected it. Never was bored, I cared for the characters, the zombie effects were way better than I expected, I cant wait for the new episodes
  16. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    I'm not a fan of the horror genre but was pretty impressed by this show. Well acted, well-directed, well-written but could afford to move along at a little bit faster pace. More gore than I think I've ever seen on a basic cable show too. Looking forward to upcoming episodes and hope they utilize the twists and turns in the writing that AMC shows are known for.
  17. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I am a zombie kind of guy. I love the genre, even the pseudo zombie films like Resident Evil and 28 Days Later. Some are cheesy and enjoyable in their own right while others are marvelous. I am perhaps a "heretic" by saying that the remake of Dawn of the Dead was so much better than the original yet I think the original NoTLD is still the best. With Walking Dead I kind of had spoilersI am a zombie kind of guy. I love the genre, even the pseudo zombie films like Resident Evil and 28 Days Later. Some are cheesy and enjoyable in their own right while others are marvelous. I am perhaps a "heretic" by saying that the remake of Dawn of the Dead was so much better than the original yet I think the original NoTLD is still the best. With Walking Dead I kind of had spoilers going in because I had read the Kirkman books, but I was also apprehensive. When I heard a TV show was being developed I thought okay showtime or HBO, because they will be the only ones that can pull off the REQUIRED headshots, so I was worried that AMC had it. Not their rep for quality, just the reality of their audience. But wow, its gorgeous, and it had done a heck of a good job staying faithful to the source material. In the books the zombies are NOT in every frame, in fact they are ultimately secondary participants, and the fact that the show has followed this same blueprint is what makes the show superior. If the show continues keeps faith with the source, even if only 50%, we have some great television coming. Romero build the genre and the rules that go with it, but the Walking Dead will be looked upon as DEFINING the genre. Collapse
  18. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    The Walking Dead is engaging, it's intense and overall very entertaining. Although a short season, this is definitely a strong one. It sets the atmosphere and story really well, has some good characters, and some annoying ones but overall it's a good start to the show and way better than season two.
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best series from AMC. They did well with Mad Men, even better with Breaking Bad, and now completely outdone themselves with The Walking Dead. A perfect opening season for an amazing zombie show. The zombies on the show have to got to be the best I've seen in a while.
  20. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    To be truthful, i havent read the comics. I dont think its fair to right off a series based on how well they have copied the comic from which it is adapted from. The Walking Dead is a an excellently filmed series with accurate characters. The series may have suffered in terms of popularity in the first and second season because the plot and the story was still developing. ApocalypticTo be truthful, i havent read the comics. I dont think its fair to right off a series based on how well they have copied the comic from which it is adapted from. The Walking Dead is a an excellently filmed series with accurate characters. The series may have suffered in terms of popularity in the first and second season because the plot and the story was still developing. Apocalyptic series or films have been known to take long to develop a story, like the film Resident Evil which has along sequel. The plot is great and I think we'l get a good 10 seasons Expand
  21. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back withThe perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back with the gore, showing the gruesome splash of blood for a gunshot wound, which some shows are editing so they appeal to larger audience, but lessens the feeling of connection with the bullet. I recommend this to those who love a story driven horror adventure, and to those who aren't faint of heart. Expand
  22. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    The best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies andThe best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies and all hail AMC for another excellent series for adults. This and "Rubicon" should be getting some Emmies. Expand
  23. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Very enjoyable show, guns are nice, atmosphere is amazing; and this was actually like a zombie apocalypse. The only downside is that there weren't that many episodes for this season and it ended too quickly. They should have made more. Instead of just putting it in front of you for 5 minutes, then you'll see it next year.
  24. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    The first part of the season is a well crafted, almost shot-for-shot adaptation of the original graphic novel. The second half strays away but maintains the excitement and terror you'd very much expect from a zombie apocalypse.
  25. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    With top notch performances from Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Laurie Holden, Sarah Wayne Callies and Norman Reedus, what's not to love about The Walking Dead? Due to a great ensemble cast and some of the best writers and directors in the game (most of them are responsible for writing and directing for some of the best shows on television, including: Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, The Wire,With top notch performances from Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Laurie Holden, Sarah Wayne Callies and Norman Reedus, what's not to love about The Walking Dead? Due to a great ensemble cast and some of the best writers and directors in the game (most of them are responsible for writing and directing for some of the best shows on television, including: Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, The Wire, The Shield, Rescue Me, and Sons of Anarchy) The Walking Dead has became a mega-hit and due to a large fan base (Although some of you don't appreciate the Walking Dead's brilliance as much as others) a rating's juggernaut. Expand
  26. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    AMC's "The Walking Dead" is an epic zombie series. It combines the scare everyone is after in a good zombie movie or show. While at the same time shows the hardships the characters go through living in a world where the dead have taken over, and now inhabit. It is bloody and brilliant, while at the same time having twists in the story leaving the viewers wanting more. "If you like bloodyAMC's "The Walking Dead" is an epic zombie series. It combines the scare everyone is after in a good zombie movie or show. While at the same time shows the hardships the characters go through living in a world where the dead have taken over, and now inhabit. It is bloody and brilliant, while at the same time having twists in the story leaving the viewers wanting more. "If you like bloody horror with plenty of zombies and suspense I would say this is the show for you!" Expand
  27. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    By far, one of the best shows on currently on cable, season one of 'The Walking Dead' manages to bring out the vibrant characters, set pieces, and palpable tension of the graphic novels, while not loosing the appeal in the transition to the medium of TV. Week after week we may find ourselves returning, not solely for the promise of zombies and gore (which are delivered in spades here, byBy far, one of the best shows on currently on cable, season one of 'The Walking Dead' manages to bring out the vibrant characters, set pieces, and palpable tension of the graphic novels, while not loosing the appeal in the transition to the medium of TV. Week after week we may find ourselves returning, not solely for the promise of zombies and gore (which are delivered in spades here, by the way), but for the lived-in, realistic drama of these troubled characters and their plights. Its a shame that the vast dramatic territory explored through the post-apocalyptic universe hasn't been charted yet (if it has, it hasn't been given justice apparently), and The Walking Dead makes for a great argument for the continuation of the horror genre. A great show that should please everyone (save for the squeamish, maybe). Expand
  28. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of the two best shows on TV. This first season was great and it keeps getting better & better. The 3rd season is starting off to be a hell of a ride. I dont know what some of these reviewers are talking about not caring about the characters; I like the show because of the character development! I was not into watching TV shows every week until I got into The Walking Dead &This is one of the two best shows on TV. This first season was great and it keeps getting better & better. The 3rd season is starting off to be a hell of a ride. I dont know what some of these reviewers are talking about not caring about the characters; I like the show because of the character development! I was not into watching TV shows every week until I got into The Walking Dead & Breaking Bad. These shows are like having 30+ hour movies! Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    Honestly, I have never seen a movie with a zombie apocalypse that is more interesting, thrilling, breath-taking than this TV Series. AMC really did succeed on bringing entertainment through the film. I haven't seen the comic books. Maybe that's why I got thrilled all the time. Talking about actors and their performances, one word: Legitimately magnificent.
  30. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    I am SHOCKED that anyone has anything bad to say about this show - and I am a VERY critical person when it comes to television. The first season of this show has action and heart, and something sorely missing in modern storytelling - a hero. There's plenty of action and gore, heartfelt moments and incredible storytelling and character development, and incredible graphics that seamlesslyI am SHOCKED that anyone has anything bad to say about this show - and I am a VERY critical person when it comes to television. The first season of this show has action and heart, and something sorely missing in modern storytelling - a hero. There's plenty of action and gore, heartfelt moments and incredible storytelling and character development, and incredible graphics that seamlessly mix old world prosthetics and makeup with new world CGI, There is not a single weak link in the incredible ensemble.cast. The storytellers who are writing the plot keep things just twisty enough so you never know what will happen next - but not so twisty that you can't easily keep track of what's going on. The only reason this first season has a 9 instead of a 10 is that there are a lot of characters to keep track of, and in only 6 episodes, you don't have quite enough time to get really attached. Keep up the good work, Walking Dead!!! Expand
  31. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    If TWD had been only one season long, it would have been a classic. Less episodes and a budget you can see where it went. Before the days of TWD becoming a soap opera with no sense of direction, Season One was great. Recomended.
  32. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    I usually don't stick with TV series (sometimes movies are already too long), but after I saw the first episode I got hooked. I'm watching the second season at the moment and it's even better than this one.
  33. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    This show is amazingly written. Like other series they are messy and loose their storyline but with the Walking Dead ABSOLUTELY IMPRESSED! LOVE IT MUST WATCH
  34. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    One of my all time favorite shows!!It has had me on the edge of my seat quite a bit!Ya never know what will happen next and the effects and graphics are phenomenal!!The cast is perfect...especially Hershal and Carl....well ok so I like all of the cast but those two are my favs...and Darryl...ya all are fabulous and hope it doesn't end soon...Thanks for the awesome show:)
  35. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This series is toats amazeballs ive never watched anything better i honestly say ive never watched anything better its SOOOOOO good. WATCH do it now NOW
  36. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show has fallen far from where it started. the first season was well done, actually creating tension within the group led by Rick with zombies! Now the show has devolved into "Days of our Lives" zombie edition with nothing but walking, talking, and petty drama issues that are basically, "he did it, no he did it, no she did it." It's upsetting to see the zombies have taken a complete backseat to these kind of dilemmas. When watching an episode you have a 10% a zombie will pose an actual threat. Otherwise back to the petty squabbles of humanity. I would understand if they had the drama like the first season with Merle and T-Dog but keep the zombies as the forefront of the problem. The stupid governor and his village has carried on with absolutely nothing happening in each episode for far too long. The writers even managed to make me hate basically all the characters except for Daryl and Merle (and he died when they were finally giving him some back story). I'm sorry but I was glad when Lori died (she always screwed something up and never watched Carl), I hate Carl (he is the reason Dale died), Hershel is pretty cool (he's just Santa without a foot), Rick doesn't really seem to know what's going on anymore, Michonne has potential but I started to dislike her after that dumb picture/cat scene she had with Carl. In the previously mentioned cat/picture scene I was hopeful they were bringing Morgan (that was his name right?) back from the first season because I really liked his character. He's just coocoo for cocopoofs though because his son died (it is a tragedy but I didn't like where they left him personally). They should stick to a "zombie" show that actually has zombies and not people just at each other with nothing ever happening in any of the episodes. Waste of time. Expand
  37. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    Not as much of a let-down as a show like Dexter sinceThe Walking Dead is more of a steady uniform malaise that has no heights to fall from. It's a sugary rush that leaves you empty though you'll probably notice a lingering dissatisfaction from watching the series long after you're done. There are no real characters, no cohesive viewpoints, no real theme–all empty calories. If you're inNot as much of a let-down as a show like Dexter sinceThe Walking Dead is more of a steady uniform malaise that has no heights to fall from. It's a sugary rush that leaves you empty though you'll probably notice a lingering dissatisfaction from watching the series long after you're done. There are no real characters, no cohesive viewpoints, no real theme–all empty calories. If you're in for great special effects and cheap thrills and don't want to wrestle with big ideas or emotional weight stemming from what great characters and great writing in a series can bring you, then you will be rewarded by watching this series. Expand
  38. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    Been playing the game and then I was hooked after first episode season one. Watched the entire first season in 24 hours. This is one of the better zombie shows, even better than 28 Days Later. It's really good!
  39. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    If you've seen movies such as Dawn of the Dead, 28 Days/Weeks later, Land of the Dead or even the Resident Evil series you'll find nothing new here. On top of that you've got boring characters doing stupid things and zombies that appear to have script adjusted speed. Many times characters say don't do X and then the next minute do X with predictable results.
    In short this is a series with
    If you've seen movies such as Dawn of the Dead, 28 Days/Weeks later, Land of the Dead or even the Resident Evil series you'll find nothing new here. On top of that you've got boring characters doing stupid things and zombies that appear to have script adjusted speed. Many times characters say don't do X and then the next minute do X with predictable results.
    In short this is a series with zombies, written by zombies for zombies. Give it a miss, things get worse in series 2. [3/10]
    Expand
  40. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    AMC's The Walking Dead is an adaptation of the comic series of the same name, about a group of survivors in the zombie apocalypse. Being a giant fan of the comics, I watched the show, and I actually didn't mind it for a couple episodes. But the farther the show goes on, the more pacing problems it gets and the more obnoxious my favorite characters would become, if they even showed up atAMC's The Walking Dead is an adaptation of the comic series of the same name, about a group of survivors in the zombie apocalypse. Being a giant fan of the comics, I watched the show, and I actually didn't mind it for a couple episodes. But the farther the show goes on, the more pacing problems it gets and the more obnoxious my favorite characters would become, if they even showed up at all. Tyreese and Michonne are nowhere to be seen. Instead, we're given the generic redneck Daryl and the EXTREMELY stereotyped token black character T-Dog. Seriously. His name is T-Dog.
    The second season definitely drags on, even though it barely touches on any actual plot from the comics. They spend about 8 episodes trying to find Sophia, a girl who went missing and (Spoilers) is a zombie. The sad part is Sophia is alive and well in the comics, nothing bad actually happens to her. The same is to be said with Shane's death, which was much more emotional in the comics, considering Carl is the one who actually kills human Shane to save his father's life. The choice to instead have Rick stab Shane was a waste of good material.
    The more and more I watch this show, the more and more I find myself no longer caring about the characters. They do dumb things, and someone dies. And I don't care. They aren't the characters I love anymore. They're annoying whiny people. Eventually, you'll find yourself rooting for the zombies.
    Expand
  41. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    I was a bit skeptical before the premiere but now I am sold. It's truly amazing how AMC continues to come up with such great series that pretty much put the big networks to shame. This series shows great promise. Watching this premiere was like watching a high production movie, but in a good way. Definitely hope it gets renewed for a second season if it hasn't yet.
  42. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Movie quality TV. Completely agree with that review. The acting, zombies, and cinematography is great. Definitely looking forward to the rest of this great TV show.
  43. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Great episode. If the show continues to be anything like it was tonight this will be one of the greatest adaptations ever! Also liked how AMC came out and proved that they aren't going to hold back on the show.
  44. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Amazing! My favorite show ever. Constant twists throughout the episodes with a great ending. I can expect season 2 to be even better. Daryl and T-Dog are the best.
  45. Dec 20, 2011
    5
    I just dont see what people see in this, I dont. Once again the short season doesnt allow for any real development in the show's story. It doesnt help that it takes far too long to get into as well. Also the show is rather generic and isnt all that interesting. The acting is ok and the production value is great but the show just doesnt hit with me.
  46. Jan 11, 2012
    4
    Everything just feels vanilla. It's watchable show but I've two major problems with it. One is the writing isn't good enough to tell the kind of story they are trying to tell. In so much that they are trying to tell a story about the psychological effects of the zombies on the survivors, as much as are just doing an all out zombie fest, and it doesn't work because they are going for theEverything just feels vanilla. It's watchable show but I've two major problems with it. One is the writing isn't good enough to tell the kind of story they are trying to tell. In so much that they are trying to tell a story about the psychological effects of the zombies on the survivors, as much as are just doing an all out zombie fest, and it doesn't work because they are going for the best of both worlds. The acting isn't good enough to support the former either, with the acception of Andrew Lincoln. On that note watching Sarah Wayne Callies three eye-face expressions is painful.

    The second major problem I have with this season of the show is that it's not scary. At all.

    Like I said though, it's watchable in a 'sit round having a few beers with friends' way I guess.
    Expand
  47. j30
    Jan 24, 2012
    8
    A really well made show that feels more like a movie than a TV show. The make-up, acting, and direction all work together beautifully. Making a TV show where you care about the characters and what happens to them goes a long way.
  48. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    super exciting story line! Fast paced, no boring episode! I love the writing and direction of this show! I wish they will put more episodes into a series since the last time. I am definitely hooked and I can't wait for the next episode!
  49. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Great show, good plot, and entertaining characters. I had heard of this show from friends, some people I talk with online, and some family members talking about it. To my knowledge, it has a really big crazy fan base, and I can see why as I have joined this fan base. Let me start of by saying that I've always been a big fan of zombie movies/games. Resident evil namely being one of myGreat show, good plot, and entertaining characters. I had heard of this show from friends, some people I talk with online, and some family members talking about it. To my knowledge, it has a really big crazy fan base, and I can see why as I have joined this fan base. Let me start of by saying that I've always been a big fan of zombie movies/games. Resident evil namely being one of my favorite, also being one of the most prestigious series out there, I believe that this might just rival that! I don't want to talk about any specific moments in the series because I don't want to have any spoilers in this review, I mainly just want to talk about what I think. The actors in this series are great, especially that main character, Andrew Lincoln AKA Rick Grimes. He always seems to find a way out of bad situations and is a very motivational character and a great leader. The story line is very grabbing and can be very emotional at times. If you're a big zombie fan, this series is a MUST watch, if not, this series is great one to start with! Expand
  50. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    Truly a fantastic show and one of the best you'll find on TV. Great cinematography is present in every episode of the series. The fright factor does fade over time however, as you become accustomed to seeing a zombie pop up every now and then. The emotional journey that you are taken on with the characters however does leave a lasting impression. This show is well paced and featuresTruly a fantastic show and one of the best you'll find on TV. Great cinematography is present in every episode of the series. The fright factor does fade over time however, as you become accustomed to seeing a zombie pop up every now and then. The emotional journey that you are taken on with the characters however does leave a lasting impression. This show is well paced and features writing and a story that allows the viewer to immerse themselves in the world represented here that is overrun with zombies and only a handful of survivors. Expand
  51. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Great special effects for a TV show and the story line was great. Hopefully the writers can maintain the intrigue for many years. Just watched the first season on Netflix and trying to find out where I can watch the second season already.
  52. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Survival horror is strong with this one. I have honestly never been more scared than since I have watched this show. Zombies may be slow, but they are freaking scary!
  53. May 21, 2012
    10
    I'll be honest. I love TV. It's a great way to pass the time with plenty of fun, action, humour, and good acting.
    However, I only love TV if the programme that's on it is blow-your-socks-off amazing.
    Obviously, The Walking Dead fits into this category. With it's gory but fun deaths (Don't deny it! You know the deaths are awesome to watch!), it's great acting, and it's suspenseful
    I'll be honest. I love TV. It's a great way to pass the time with plenty of fun, action, humour, and good acting.
    However, I only love TV if the programme that's on it is blow-your-socks-off amazing.
    Obviously, The Walking Dead fits into this category.
    With it's gory but fun deaths (Don't deny it! You know the deaths are awesome to watch!), it's great acting, and it's suspenseful storylines, this is my favourite show on TV. I look forward to seeing the return of it's third season later in the year where, it's been said, the show will get more gorier, more action-packed, and more better...RESULT!
    Expand
  54. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    I love this show! Sure the characters get "whiny" and the episodes move kind of slow, but compared to most of the **** that's on tv and new movies, The Walking Dead is the ultimate zombie apocalypse by far! The actors and actresses got their skills on point! The writer is just amazing writing such a powerful apocalyptic drama, and the characters execute their performance so astoundinglyI love this show! Sure the characters get "whiny" and the episodes move kind of slow, but compared to most of the **** that's on tv and new movies, The Walking Dead is the ultimate zombie apocalypse by far! The actors and actresses got their skills on point! The writer is just amazing writing such a powerful apocalyptic drama, and the characters execute their performance so astoundingly that it feels so real and makes viewers actually feel the events and the characters' personal experiences. This show, plus The Walking Dead game makes us wonder what would we do, or what choices would we make? What is our true character in a survival scenario? If you like masterpieces like this, then you should check out some new shows this year (not zombie, but just as much powerful quality dramas) like "Scandal" with Kerry Washington or "Touch" with Kiefer Sutherland. Expand
  55. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    An amazing show about survival & zombies to be exact. Very emotional and it is hard to stop watching when your glued in. Not as good as Breaking Bad but it's a special show.
  56. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    I loved this season, lost of suspense and action and plenty of places to take the series, but as soon as it went mainstream, Seasons 2, 3, and 4 have been complete and utter **** Season 2 was a snooze fest. They tried to turn the show into a drama with some zombies here and there. Absolute boring & the drama was completely stupid too. Season 3 they tried to incorporate action with a newI loved this season, lost of suspense and action and plenty of places to take the series, but as soon as it went mainstream, Seasons 2, 3, and 4 have been complete and utter **** Season 2 was a snooze fest. They tried to turn the show into a drama with some zombies here and there. Absolute boring & the drama was completely stupid too. Season 3 they tried to incorporate action with a new town but it's too late, they were just filling in their own grave. It's boring, each episode has the same style and it's all predictable with ****ty ass characters. If they would've taken a good turn after Season 1 this probably would be one of my favorite shows, but it's complete **** now. My rating is for Season 1 and Season 1 ONLY. Not for the other ****ty seasons. Expand
  57. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    A great but short beginnning of a benchmark-setting series telling the story of former sheriff deputy Rick Grimes who wakes up from a coma finding out nothing's like it used to be before. The only thing he wants now is finding and look after his wife and son. This is not just a series about zombies or the "walkers". This is a series about how people act when the world around them comes toA great but short beginnning of a benchmark-setting series telling the story of former sheriff deputy Rick Grimes who wakes up from a coma finding out nothing's like it used to be before. The only thing he wants now is finding and look after his wife and son. This is not just a series about zombies or the "walkers". This is a series about how people act when the world around them comes to an end. This is a series about getting to know all the different characters, learning to understand their thoughts, their feelings and then crying over them suddenly passing away. A world where not the walkers are the main enemies humanity has to face: Humanity has to face itself. Expand
  58. Aug 6, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its a good tv show, although most of the bad ratings will have been from season 2, it was a bit slow and it was not really what people whee looking for, just stick with it, it gets better. Expand
  59. Jan 25, 2017
    8
    The beginning of one of my favorite TV shows ever. The Walking Dead's first season has the perfect number of episodes, neither one nor one less, and it kept me interested almost every time. There are not filler episodes at all, and that is something you will be suffering on the following seasons, but there are some boring chit chat scenes that will be appear more frequently. It is notThe beginning of one of my favorite TV shows ever. The Walking Dead's first season has the perfect number of episodes, neither one nor one less, and it kept me interested almost every time. There are not filler episodes at all, and that is something you will be suffering on the following seasons, but there are some boring chit chat scenes that will be appear more frequently. It is not scary at all, some scenes may be tense but this is not a horror show. Good acting, good characters, good special effects, good music, and the zombies (or "walkers") steal every scene they appear. I enjoyed a lot watching to this when it aired during 2010, and I am sure that I would enjoy it even more if I watch it today, taking into account how the show is nowadays. I am concerned that it is not the best show ever, I love it, but I think there are way better shows and I can not give this one more than 8. Expand
  60. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    This show blows. How did they cancel Rubicon and renew this crap? Seriously. WTF. What is so exciting about Zombies? And my zombie loving friends, say there's less than 5 min of zombies in each episode anyway. Trash.
  61. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    It definitely had me staring at the screen instead of my computer, especially the end scene in the city. I'm excited for the rest of this show, and glad there's a zombie tv show, and it's actually very good. You don't really know the characters too much yet, but I feel like we will find ourselves caring about them quite a bit. I mean, it is AMC, and they tend to do shows well. If only IIt definitely had me staring at the screen instead of my computer, especially the end scene in the city. I'm excited for the rest of this show, and glad there's a zombie tv show, and it's actually very good. You don't really know the characters too much yet, but I feel like we will find ourselves caring about them quite a bit. I mean, it is AMC, and they tend to do shows well. If only I didn't have to wait... Expand
  62. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The contrasts of the show's visuals of death with the fantastic scenes of humanity give this weekly zombie flick a surprising effect. They take this show seriously, and so should you. Even if you've seen a thousand zombie movies before, don't pass this one up. Fantastic performances, cinamatic feel, beautifully constructed tension makes the viewer crave another episode as bad as aThe contrasts of the show's visuals of death with the fantastic scenes of humanity give this weekly zombie flick a surprising effect. They take this show seriously, and so should you. Even if you've seen a thousand zombie movies before, don't pass this one up. Fantastic performances, cinamatic feel, beautifully constructed tension makes the viewer crave another episode as bad as a zombie craving brains. Expand
  63. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    All the months of waiting paid off, thank you amc got this show and not HBO. Phew and the show actually made the comic book better. The gore and violence are all in context and not just stuck in there for the shock value.
  64. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Wonderful. I have read 70 of the comics, so most of the plot has been ruined. However, AMC and Darabont included so many awesome points of embellishment to the meager beginnings of the series that the TV episodes stand on their own. This show is totally gripping. If you are a huge nerd, it can own your life. Since I am a huge nerd, I have no problems admitting I have not been thisWonderful. I have read 70 of the comics, so most of the plot has been ruined. However, AMC and Darabont included so many awesome points of embellishment to the meager beginnings of the series that the TV episodes stand on their own. This show is totally gripping. If you are a huge nerd, it can own your life. Since I am a huge nerd, I have no problems admitting I have not been this excited about any TV show since Lost. Expand
  65. BMF
    Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Holy **** this shows great its the only show I actually plan to watch every week I hope it doesnt get cancelled prematurely like other excellent series.
  66. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This show has been a long time coming. Being that it is based off the great Graphic Novel series of the same name, it holds water that it will continue to be fantastic. I had high hopes going in and was still completely blown away. The production value and directing, special effects and acting, and sheer scope of possibilities this has to offer is astounding. They don't pull anyThis show has been a long time coming. Being that it is based off the great Graphic Novel series of the same name, it holds water that it will continue to be fantastic. I had high hopes going in and was still completely blown away. The production value and directing, special effects and acting, and sheer scope of possibilities this has to offer is astounding. They don't pull any punches here, ie: it's as bloody and gory as any zombie flick worth noting. So if you are interested in a series that has the time to really connect you to the characters ( and by the looks of it, they plan to ), and are any kind of a zombie flick fan, this is what you've been waiting for. I for one, truly cannot wait to see more. Expand
  67. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    I wouldn't go as far as pulling the trigger on giving The Walking Dead a perfect 10/10 to the head so soon after it's risen, but it's shaping up to be a hit. AMC airing the Dawn of the Dead remake right before The Walking Dead really put both in perspective. While Dawn of the Dead is an action-packed but no-brainer gorefest, The Walking Dead is convincing and unsettling in its approach.I wouldn't go as far as pulling the trigger on giving The Walking Dead a perfect 10/10 to the head so soon after it's risen, but it's shaping up to be a hit. AMC airing the Dawn of the Dead remake right before The Walking Dead really put both in perspective. While Dawn of the Dead is an action-packed but no-brainer gorefest, The Walking Dead is convincing and unsettling in its approach. When Rick Grimes saw the "bicycle girl" zombie, I felt his terror. It didn't look like masterful special effects, it looked like a person who had been brutalized, come back to un-life, rotted, and dried out crawling around in the sun. Rick is human, not a juggernaut of a protagonist. I don't know if Rick will ever truly feel safe but as long as Rick doesn't feel safe, I won't feel safe, and as long as everybody feels unsafe and The Waking Dead remains goal-oriented, the series won't just "shamble along." Expand
  68. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    Completely engrossing, movie quality series. This does nothing different, in fact, it fully embraces all the old Zombie cliches, including the old classic 'blood writing on the walls', moulding them into one fantastic show, which manages to keep you fixated on the screen.
  69. Feb 5, 2013
    2
    How does this get a user rate of 8.4? Cool zombies, good special effects in that respect, but but but! Clunkily written pure melodrama with one-dimensional STUPID characters that we don't care about. Look up over-acting and you'll see a picture of the crazy rednecks and the roided up dude. Why the hell are they camping up on a hill surrounded by deep forest? Anyone think of 'establishing aHow does this get a user rate of 8.4? Cool zombies, good special effects in that respect, but but but! Clunkily written pure melodrama with one-dimensional STUPID characters that we don't care about. Look up over-acting and you'll see a picture of the crazy rednecks and the roided up dude. Why the hell are they camping up on a hill surrounded by deep forest? Anyone think of 'establishing a perimeter'? Get to work building trenches and walls, people! My daughter and I were chanting "Zombies, Zombies" for minutes on end as we endured the drawn out scenes where the zombie-like non-zombies expressed their feelings. Expand
  70. Mar 13, 2013
    3
    I find myself willing over and over for the series to improve, but it always manages to disappoint. The pilot promises just enough to make me watch another couple of episodes, for a couple of terrific spectacle sequences in downtown Atlanta give the series an epic sense of scale. Masterful cinematography, cg, makeup, and choreography aside, however, Walking Dead is lackluster. The plot isI find myself willing over and over for the series to improve, but it always manages to disappoint. The pilot promises just enough to make me watch another couple of episodes, for a couple of terrific spectacle sequences in downtown Atlanta give the series an epic sense of scale. Masterful cinematography, cg, makeup, and choreography aside, however, Walking Dead is lackluster. The plot is contrived, characters often behave with complete disregard for common sense, the writing is poor, and every single female character is frustratingly weak and useless. I find myself wishing the protagonist would die- perhaps that way some genuinely captivating grit could find its way into a series that despite its physical blood and gore, is just a little bit too morally and interpersonally clean and pretty to take any real satisfying risks. Expand
  71. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    A drama series based on the zombie apocalypse sound entertaining, but the dialog in 'The Walking Dead' just seems like it was written by amateurs (I caught myself rolling my eyes a lot) and the incredibly slow pace makes 90 minutes feel like forever. The direction, make-up, design, etc are all pretty good... it's the dialog, or maybe the execution of the dialog that drags this show down.A drama series based on the zombie apocalypse sound entertaining, but the dialog in 'The Walking Dead' just seems like it was written by amateurs (I caught myself rolling my eyes a lot) and the incredibly slow pace makes 90 minutes feel like forever. The direction, make-up, design, etc are all pretty good... it's the dialog, or maybe the execution of the dialog that drags this show down. I watched Episode 1 twice (on Halloween, for maximized affect) to see if maybe I was missing something, but the second go-around was more boring than the first. It's worth watching if you like zombies and there's nothing else on, but it definitely won't be on my DVR. Expand
  72. Aug 24, 2013
    0
    zOMG Walking Bad is a epic RAWR! zombiez and de bacon and like epic zombie bacons are like SO epic. This epic show is like SO epically in tune with my young generation's epic aesthetic legacy right meow meng. I feel so in tune with my generation because I watch this show about zombies right meow. Epic zomby apocolips is like so comin dudes. If you don't like Walking Bad than you arezOMG Walking Bad is a epic RAWR! zombiez and de bacon and like epic zombie bacons are like SO epic. This epic show is like SO epically in tune with my young generation's epic aesthetic legacy right meow meng. I feel so in tune with my generation because I watch this show about zombies right meow. Epic zomby apocolips is like so comin dudes. If you don't like Walking Bad than you are incompetent. If you don't think this is the best tv show of the decade you don't understand the magnitude of important uniquely intellectual epic zombiez symbolizm right meow. You will be proven wrong as time passes and people look back on this as profoundly prophetically epic and edgy. Watching Walking Bad and enjoying it is tantamount to moral and intellectual truth. Walking Bad is pure swag so don't be critical of it in any way or you will be considered an uncultured idiot. I want to watch it again right meow YOLO K thx bai Expand
  73. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I come home from on Halloween night and like it was destiny I turn on the tv to find The Walking Dead just starting. From that point on I couldn't take my eyes off the tv for the next hour and a half. It was amazing! It had it all. Blood, drama, horror, and great acting from all parts. The best part it had a cliffhanger at the end. I'm so watching every episode from this point on! YouI come home from on Halloween night and like it was destiny I turn on the tv to find The Walking Dead just starting. From that point on I couldn't take my eyes off the tv for the next hour and a half. It was amazing! It had it all. Blood, drama, horror, and great acting from all parts. The best part it had a cliffhanger at the end. I'm so watching every episode from this point on! You should certainly watch this show. Expand
  74. Nov 1, 2010
    7
    Being a true horror fan, I have to say it's a nicely done show, given a basic cable series's budget. It has a good undead plot, with just enough drama, blood and gore to keep any horror fan pleased to come back for more. Yes, a true horror fan will be able to pretty much read most, but not all, of what is coming. I did like that very human element of what would you do if this were reallyBeing a true horror fan, I have to say it's a nicely done show, given a basic cable series's budget. It has a good undead plot, with just enough drama, blood and gore to keep any horror fan pleased to come back for more. Yes, a true horror fan will be able to pretty much read most, but not all, of what is coming. I did like that very human element of what would you do if this were really happening? Could you trust everyone left? Would you feel pity &/or anger towards "the (un)dead?" I also liked the fact that it's not all just an "easy" shoot 'em up, giving the series an additional dramatic dimension. Add in some good graphics and cinematography to make it "look" believable, and voila! It seems as if this will be a continued good series that makes me salivate for watching/recording some basic cable. I'll definitely be watching it over the next 5 episodes, just to see what does truly unfold. Expand
  75. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I thought this show was amazing. Obviously this review is based off the first episode which doesn't do many shows justice. However, this is the first time I've seen a horror-type film/show that is highly story driven. Usually zombie themed media relies on fear to drive the entertainment. Personally, I don't get much entertainment from the "fear" aspect and I judge things on theirI thought this show was amazing. Obviously this review is based off the first episode which doesn't do many shows justice. However, this is the first time I've seen a horror-type film/show that is highly story driven. Usually zombie themed media relies on fear to drive the entertainment. Personally, I don't get much entertainment from the "fear" aspect and I judge things on their composition. Sure, the show started slow. However, the interactions before the disaster are extremely important to the structure of relationships between characters. This show is obviously not for the someone that's looking for a "bloody" good time. I do recommend this to someone who is looking for a realistic account to a very unrealistic scenario. Expand
  76. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Being an avid zombie fan I naturally decided to watch this show and I'm glad I did. It did not disappoint in the slightest. While it's far to early to give a full review on this show the premise is actually something that hasn't been done before in the zombie genre and that's focusing on character development. Something that I hope this show will handle well. Right from the start theBeing an avid zombie fan I naturally decided to watch this show and I'm glad I did. It did not disappoint in the slightest. While it's far to early to give a full review on this show the premise is actually something that hasn't been done before in the zombie genre and that's focusing on character development. Something that I hope this show will handle well. Right from the start the direction of the show has been great, from the great special effects to even nodding at a couple of zombie cliches. It's not scary but I don't think that's the point, it's a drama with zombies. The first episode alone is better than most zombie movies out there and I hope that the rest of the series follow.

    It's a wonderful show and I do suggest picking it up. Unless gore is not your thing, because the gore here is very high.
    Expand
  77. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This is by far the best show on television right now. It has movie quality acting, special effects, and storyline. It's basically an epic movie that amc is showing an hour of every week.
  78. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    By far one of the most gripping stories told on television to date, and these days television is looking better than movies. The people, the zombies, the building all tell a story and... man, what a story. I can not stress enough how great this show is, i have no idea who these actors are but they are SO compelling and they drew me in. I cannot wait for this story hit it's strideBy far one of the most gripping stories told on television to date, and these days television is looking better than movies. The people, the zombies, the building all tell a story and... man, what a story. I can not stress enough how great this show is, i have no idea who these actors are but they are SO compelling and they drew me in. I cannot wait for this story hit it's stride because the substance they can use is basically infinite. Expand
  79. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a huge fan of the comic, and I have to say that I wasn't let down in the least. In Ireland the first episode aired on a channel called FX, which screened the entire episode from start to finish in an hour (no ad breaks) and I have to say I was absolutely glued to the screen for the entire hour. The iconic scene when Rick stumbles across whats left of a wom-bie (woman zombie) really hits home how much of a world of **** / suffering Rick is in store for. Brilliant stuff - I can't recommend this enough to everyone. Must see series. Expand
  80. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    First of I'm not much of a zombie apocalypse fan as the whole genre seems overdone. However, I had read a few issues of the The Walking Dead graphic novel and was fascinated, with the direction the writers took with the story. When I heard about the TV version of it, I was a bit skeptical because film almost never does a great book justice. I'm glad to say that I am absolutely wrong onFirst of I'm not much of a zombie apocalypse fan as the whole genre seems overdone. However, I had read a few issues of the The Walking Dead graphic novel and was fascinated, with the direction the writers took with the story. When I heard about the TV version of it, I was a bit skeptical because film almost never does a great book justice. I'm glad to say that I am absolutely wrong on this account. The show is brilliantly paced, well scripted and the visuals are dark and gritty with the cinematography just hinting that something better is going to come for our protagonist, inevitably followed by something that much more sinister. I love this show!!!! Expand
  81. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I honestly can't find anything overwhelmingly unlikable about this show. The storyline is off to a good start. The characters are likable when they need to be. The blood and violence are intense, graphic, and very well done... but they don't use it as a crutch. All in all, this is probably the best new show I've seen in the last couple of years.
  82. pps
    Nov 17, 2010
    10
    i first watched this show thinking it would be the biggest crappfest on tv, mostly because i hate those horrible, unscary zombie movies with bad acting. but i was extremely surprised about how great it was, it kept you on the edge of your seat but also was truely about the characters, which really makes the show. i almost never like shows this much but it is really great, and makes mei first watched this show thinking it would be the biggest crappfest on tv, mostly because i hate those horrible, unscary zombie movies with bad acting. but i was extremely surprised about how great it was, it kept you on the edge of your seat but also was truely about the characters, which really makes the show. i almost never like shows this much but it is really great, and makes me can't wait to see the next episode becaus the show takes its time but is also fast paced. Expand
  83. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I'm not much of a Zombie fan. This Series, however, has blown me away. The Walking Dead is loaded with suspense and action in every episode. The plot is mysterious and exciting, which always keeps you on the edge of your seat. I easily recommend The Walking Dead to everyone! Watch it!
  84. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    Episode 1 was amazing!!! The end of the world atmosphere was captured, watching it took me into this world... I wanted more and more! Starting from episode 2 to 6 was alittle of a disappointment, it felt like it was Soap opera with a touch of zombies to get the action going. But, overall it was a very good show. I became a fan of "The walking dead"!!
  85. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    This is simply the best show on television right now. The series is perfect for anyone who likes zombies, as I do. It has a lot of suspense to it and the show is really developing a great following for a reason.

    Best show on TV as of March 2012, period.
  86. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    The Walking Dead television series is brilliant, such a good plot and very in depth, however it can be slow at points and take a more "Lost" approach in drawing the story out. Another good reason to watch this is because there is only 10 episodes so far (Across both series), so will be easy to get up to date with it.

    However series 2 is even more slow then the first, this I think is
    The Walking Dead television series is brilliant, such a good plot and very in depth, however it can be slow at points and take a more "Lost" approach in drawing the story out. Another good reason to watch this is because there is only 10 episodes so far (Across both series), so will be easy to get up to date with it.

    However series 2 is even more slow then the first, this I think is because they've been commissioned to create more episodes and series.
    Expand
  87. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    First off the costume/make-up designs for the zombies is fantastic and is better then any zombie movie that was ever produced. The story is fantastic, personally I think the best part of the show is the fact that the zombies are not the main antagonist of the show so to say, the real antagonist is survival and functioning on whatever society is still left within the characters. The showFirst off the costume/make-up designs for the zombies is fantastic and is better then any zombie movie that was ever produced. The story is fantastic, personally I think the best part of the show is the fact that the zombies are not the main antagonist of the show so to say, the real antagonist is survival and functioning on whatever society is still left within the characters. The show does stick to the comic book as best as it could without making it to unrealistic (no spoilers sorry! Read the comic however because it is quite different then the show) One of the best shows on television right now, as well as one of the best horror shows on television ever. 10/10 Expand
  88. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This was a zombie masterpiece. It trumps most zombie movies out there and here it's just a TV show. Season 1 of The Walking Dead is something that's tough to beat. There's a good level of violence and character development here and that's just what you want on a show based on zombies.
  89. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    The Walking Dead brings many new and innovative ideas to the table without fully erasing the classic post-apocalyptic zombie atmosphere. At first I was skeptical whether a television series centered around surviving a zombie out break would work, but like the characters in the show, The Walking Dead finds a way to survive. The acting and make-up were excellent through every episode, but IThe Walking Dead brings many new and innovative ideas to the table without fully erasing the classic post-apocalyptic zombie atmosphere. At first I was skeptical whether a television series centered around surviving a zombie out break would work, but like the characters in the show, The Walking Dead finds a way to survive. The acting and make-up were excellent through every episode, but I did find after half way through the season the plot began to lack and was sometimes questionable. The average viewer will be impressed and entertained by the gripping zombie action, awesome cinematography and make-up, and the general desire for the main characters to survive. Although it does need more depth in the characters and the plot, overall The Walking Dead is an excellent series with great potential. Expand
  90. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    I'll give this a 9/10 because the pacing of the first part of the Second Season was way too sloppy, I understand the need of them discussing morals, and I like that, but the plot doesn't move forward during those 5-ish episodes, the first part is awesome and the school part too, but the plot just stays still.

    I love this series, and now it has an antagonist which is badass, and I also
    I'll give this a 9/10 because the pacing of the first part of the Second Season was way too sloppy, I understand the need of them discussing morals, and I like that, but the plot doesn't move forward during those 5-ish episodes, the first part is awesome and the school part too, but the plot just stays still.

    I love this series, and now it has an antagonist which is badass, and I also loved how they would discuss morals in both the first and second season, this is going great
    Expand
  91. May 20, 2012
    10
    i love this show and i hope it always gets good ratings and hope it goes on for a longi love this show and i hope it always gets good ratings and hope it goes on for a long time......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  92. Oct 22, 2011
    2
    Are you people on crack? Some of the worst acting I have ever seen, including one of the worst shows. Is this show a comedy? 'What would happen if Zombies took over the world, leaving nothing but white trash behind?" Seriously. W.T.F.
  93. Dec 4, 2011
    4
    started out really promising for first few episodes, but bad choice of main character, and the timing is all out of sync, it seems too fast as portrayed, but the story drags its heels, and the characters all have way too much to say about nothing to feel realistic in that sortof situation.
  94. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing!! A great zombie movie made series!! Can't wait to watch it all!!! Great photography, great effects!!
    Well acted, very emotional!!
    WHAT ARE YOU WAITING TO WATCH IT!!!???
  95. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Very promising show as down of the dead the movie was several years ago
    The first episode is very impressive in term of special effects and actors playing
    Hope it will continue on the same base This is an excellent tv focussed and refreshing try on the zombie genre
  96. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    This is definitely one of the best new shows out there right now. I've seen a lot of zombie apocalypse movies and haven't been impressed, but this is something that leaves me wanting more. The plot is solid, the characters are well played, and the scenes of horror are intense enough to experience the characters' despair yourself.
  97. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What could be more entertaining than watching a show about zombies? The answer is nothing. The characters are developed extremely well, and the core of the show is a dark and lonely tone, with everyone who hasn't been bitten by the infected people coming together to survive. Simplicity is a trend I have noticed in 2010, and the show creators create one of the most interesting and WTF?What could be more entertaining than watching a show about zombies? The answer is nothing. The characters are developed extremely well, and the core of the show is a dark and lonely tone, with everyone who hasn't been bitten by the infected people coming together to survive. Simplicity is a trend I have noticed in 2010, and the show creators create one of the most interesting and WTF? shows of the year. Expand
  98. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    The cinematography is amazing, the music is amazing, the actors are good, the plot is amazing, the atmosphere is very well crafted, and the general tone of the show is very well done. Do not miss The Walking Dead.
  99. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    Great show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great show that doesn't overwhelm you senseless killing. It does a great job proportioning every aspect of an a fantastic show. Everyone who does not like it just likes complaining. Someone was complaining that the men go hunt while the woman wash clothes,Great show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great show that doesn't overwhelm you senseless killing. It does a great job proportioning every aspect of an a fantastic show. Everyone who does not like it just likes complaining. Someone was complaining that the men go hunt while the woman wash clothes, right, well only one man was actually hunting and the girls were washing clothes, how do you know that the men and the women do not switch that role every day? Clearly, someone is way to offended by a small glimpse into how people would live in a community that had been hit by zombies.. nothing to get offended about.... To everyone else, I would strongly suggest this show. It is the only show that I follow, I usually like t.v. shows but this is the first one I am sure to watch. It is an the best show I have ever seen by far. Expand
  100. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Heck it made me start watching tv again. Does bore a bit in places bot otherwise a great show.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Darabont uses the TV-series format to break convention not only by defying the predictabilities of the horror genre (boo!) but also by infusing the recipe with more storytelling elan.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    I was encouraged that the character-driven third episode was stronger than the zombie action-heavy second, and perhaps the producers will be proven right--that the longer this saga goes on past these initial six episodes, the more it will set itself apart from the zombie canon.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive