• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 1, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ttn
    Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Very intresting show it is a must see once you watch once youre hooked.It is very sad to see the people dieing but in the same perspective it is intresting to learn about the dieing process.Just all together a great show trust me if you whatch it once you will be hooked
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    This is a very powerful program. Having been in a position of many of the family members in this docu-series, I can tell you it is spot on. Helping someone transition is the least selfish thing you will ever do in your life. Nothing compares and nothing will be as difficult, at least that was the case for me. When we make a promise to a loved one to fulfill their wishes when they are unable to make the decision for themselves takes a tremendous amount of courage and strength. Getting family aligned is essential. Not everyone will agree but remain focused on what your loved one wanted and what their wishes were. Dying is simply part of the life cycle. I can tell you I do not like it but I know it's going to happen and we will all experience it. After your loved one passes, know they are now part of something much more powerful in the world if you believe this to be true. Every rainbow, singing bird or beautiful sunset brings a smile to my face. I know Dad is out there letting me know he is OK. For me, this helps me cope with him dying. There are days when grief sneaks up on me, whacks me on the head, and runs away. But there are more good days now than bad now. I will always miss my father but know in my heart he is healed and that one day we will meet again. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    I watched all the episodes at least twice from the perspective of a cancer patient. I was extremely ill for 5 years and an experimental bone marrow treatment saved me from death which would not have been far away otherwise. I don't know why some survive and others do not and it is humbling. It was most interesting to see the experience of cancer from the perspective of the caregivers. My favorite episode was Laura and Lisa. Lisa's post death video blog was so heart wrenching and true. I felt privileged to meet her mom and Lisa is truly a rare gem among humans. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Nov 1, 2013
    100
    You won't want to watch this, Yes, it will wreck you. But you'll be grateful you let it. [8 Nov 2013, p.61]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Although some viewers will find it difficult to watch the stories of real people in their last months and moments of life, there's an uplifting quality to the series because of the sheer humanity on display.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 31, 2013
    83
    Time of Death breathes new life into a handful who chose otherwise. And with this series, they also chose pretty wisely.