Today  Image

No score yet - based on 0 Critics

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Summary: On January 14 1952, The Today Show, a long running morning news program on NBC, went on the air. It aired at 7:00 A.M. (Eastern Time) as a 2-hour news and information show. For many years it was a 2-hour program from 7:00 to 9:00 ET, until NBC expanded it to 3 hours (7-10 A.M. Eastern Time) on October 2, 2000. On September 10, 2007 a fourth hour was added to the show. Today was the first of its genre when it first signed on with host Dave Garroway. The show successfully blends national news headlines, in-depth interviews with newsmakers, lifestyle features, other light news and gimmicks (including the presence of the chimpanzee J. Fred Muggs as the show's mascot during the early years), and local news updates. It has spawned several other shows of a similar type, including ABC's Good Morning America, CBS's The Early Show, and the Canadian series, Canada AM. The show is filmed and produced at studio 1A in Rockefeller Center, New York, just across the street from NBC headquarters at the GE Building. The studio is located right next to the street and many times the hosts do the weather or other events from outside. Today was the brainchild of Pat Weaver, who was then vice-president of NBC. Later, he became president of the company from 1953 to 1955, and then served as chairman of the board for another year. The show is currently hosted by Meredith Viera and Matt Lauer. Al Roker does weather updates and Ann Curry reads news headlines. Gene Shalit is the entertainment critic. Previous hosts have included Bryant Gumbel, Jane Pauley, Deborah Norville, Tom Brokaw, Barbara Walters, Hugh Downs, and Flyod Kalber. Popular former weathercaster Willard Scott still appears on the show daily doing the 100th birthday announcements he first became famous for in the 1980s.
Network: NBC
Genre(s): Talk & Interview, News
Seasons: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 110, 111, 112, 210, 211, 212
Cast Credit
Lee Meriwether Herself
Meredith Vieira Co-Anchor
Al Roker Co-Anchor, Weather And Feature Reporter
Billy Bush Correspondant (2001 - )
Jack Lescoulie Reporter (1952 - 1966 )
Phil Donahue Interviewer (1979-1982)
Gene Shalit Panel Member
Matt Lauer Co-Host
Matt Lauer Himself/Host/Interviewer
Tom Brokaw Host (1976-1982)
Tiki Barber National Correspondent
Jim Hartz Host (1974-1976)
Ann Curry Co-Anchor
Kathie Lee Gifford Fourth Hour Co-Anchor
David Gregory (II) Co-Anchor
Hoda Kotb Co-Anchor (Fourth Hour)
Natalie Morales Feature Reporter
Barbara Walters Host (1963-1976)
Bryant Gumbel Host (1982-1997)
Dave Garroway Host (1952-1961)
Katie Couric Co-Anchor
Jane Pauley Co-Host (1976-1989)
Amy Robach National Correspondent
Savannah Guthrie Co-Anchor
Carson Daly Orange Room Host
Lester Holt Co-Anchor
Willie Geist Third Hour Co-Anchor