• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 8, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 8, 2011
    70
    It has a set of distinctive actors, a minimum of punch-line mania, and a script that is occasionally charming. The characters actually have the potential to become three-dimensional.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 8, 2011
    50
    Traffic Light is the kind of sitcom that revs from zero to zero with laughter.
  3. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Feb 4, 2011
    75
    The first episode's a little stiff as the guys mark their territory, but by the fourth the show feels sweatpants-comfortable.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Feb 1, 2011
    58
    The complicated setup, the filmic style, the attempts of a laugh track all have you expecting more than the regular relationship cliches.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 8, 2011
    40
    Traffic Light winds up with a negative hat trick, in which I found myself not caring about any of its three male leads, though I did like one of their female co-stars and several of the guests who popped up in the episodes I've seen.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 8, 2011
    70
    Traffic Light, like that old Mustang you had in college, splutters more than a bit when you turn the key, but eventually it gets going. And once it does, the splendid refinishing of a classic makes the inevitable bumps much more easily endured.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 8, 2011
    40
    The opening night lesson of the new Fox sitcom Traffic Light is that no matter how marvelous hands-free telephone technology has become, it isn't yet advanced enough to carry its own sitcom.
  8. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 8, 2011
    50
    With funnier material, they [the actors] could really make this thing work.
  9. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 8, 2011
    67
    A not-unpleasing comedy that takes time and commitment to grow on you. How long? I started to like it three or four episodes in. Seems like an awfully long time, no?
  10. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 9, 2011
    63
    Traffic Light is better than NBC's Perfect Couples--the jokes are more relaxed, and the cast includes NCIS's Liza Lapira, whose humor has bite. Not a killer ensemble, though. [14 Feb 2011, p.42]
  11. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 8, 2011
    70
    The formula may be hokey, but Traffic Light's execution of it is charming, and funny in a way that doesn't seem to be trying too hard, thanks to some happy casting and scripts that appear to have been written with real people in mind.
  12. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Feb 8, 2011
    70
    All five characters, in fact, transcend the cheap stereotypes that lazy writers so frequently use to populate their sitcoms. That may not be enough to propel their show into the long green of syndication, but for a Fox sitcom, even cautious optimism is a step in the right direction.
  13. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 8, 2011
    40
    Traffic Light seems to want to be a male "Sex and the City" or "Entourage" without the Hollywood backdrop. But the scrapes these guys get into are more recognizable and more cliched than what the "Entourage" guys encounter.
  14. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 3, 2011
    80
    It could be argued that Fox has pulled off something even more remarkable with the debut of the less-than-thrillingly titled Traffic Light, a romantic comedy whose concept was imported from Israel: because it is both funny and remarkably realistic.
  15. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Feb 8, 2011
    70
    The office scenes are by the far the series's funniest, showcasing an arrogant and idiotic boss who talks in screwball staccato.
  16. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Feb 8, 2011
    80
    On paper, it sounds like another sitcom dedicated to the tired idea that relationships are forced on men like collars on dogs, the leashes held by annoying, fun-killing women. And yet I enjoyed the show more watching it than I find I am describing it.
  17. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 8, 2011
    40
    This is assembly line rom-com TV.
  18. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 8, 2011
    91
    Traffic Light is winning and amusing without being loud and loutish.
  19. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 8, 2011
    63
    At rare moments it brushes up against an actual, weighty relationship problem, like the discovery that your financially irresponsible girlfriend is deep in debt. But the show soon loses heart and rushes its way to some silly resolution, like a nervous hostess bustling over to soothe two arguing guests.
  20. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 8, 2011
    70
    Silly in places, the show seldom careens over the top, and manages to elicit periodic laughs from all three of its couplings, though the strategic marital ground war waged between Mike and Lisa will probably resonate best.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I was not sure after the pilot if I was going to spend anymore time with this show but the pace picks up in the second episode... well worthI was not sure after the pilot if I was going to spend anymore time with this show but the pace picks up in the second episode... well worth the watch. Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    this was amazing.
    whenyou hear the premise you think, oh god, another annoing sitcom.
    but the humor here is so wry and suble that it is
    this was amazing.
    whenyou hear the premise you think, oh god, another annoing sitcom.
    but the humor here is so wry and suble that it is really fun to watch.
    this show has the opportuniy to be very big
    Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2011
    8
    This show would have been so easy to ignore based on premise and title, but I'm very happy that I bothered to look it up. They're not lookingThis show would have been so easy to ignore based on premise and title, but I'm very happy that I bothered to look it up. They're not looking to re-invent the wheel but they attack usual sitcom-ie subjects with much more subtlety which ends up being much more watchable. The single-camera aspect of it is also a big positive. I think that most of the character interactions in this show are far more along the lines of what most people would encounter in their everyday lives (only the British guy seems to be somewhat of a caricature). Of all of the mid-season network comedies (all of which I've watched), this is my favourite. Full Review »