Treme : Season 2

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 11, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 22, 2011
    100
    Will Antoine achieve his musical dream? How long can Ladonna hold onto her business when her husband and sons (and now mother) live long distance in Baton Rouge? Theirs are among the myriad stories swirling in the funky gumbo of this one-of-a-kind drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 22, 2011
    100
    You won't find a better rendering of time and place anywhere else on the sprawling TV landscape. This is still the real deal, through and through.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 21, 2011
    100
    It was last year, and remains so this year--one of TV's very best.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 19, 2011
    100
    Ambitious? As always. And if the first few episodes are any indication, tighter, even more evocative and as lush and lovingly constructed as possible when conveying the plight of the forgotten.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Hicks
    Apr 25, 2011
    90
    Simon's Treme is an equally astute portrait of "an urban people" still struggling to come back from a brink.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 21, 2011
    90
    With none of the conventional plot techniques TV viewers are accustomed to, it is a collection of rich moments and poignant characters that loosely adds up to something quite powerful.
  7. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 21, 2011
    90
    It remains, stubbornly and triumphantly, what it was: an unhurried exploration of the aftermath of a city's catastrophe, told through the experiences of those who didn't have the luxury of shutting off CNN when they'd had enough. And all set to some extraordinary music.
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 20, 2011
    90
    In season two, the strengths of Treme remain strengths, while some of the show's weaknesses have been much improved.
  9. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 28, 2011
    88
    It takes awhile to adjust to the dissonance, but the muted naturalism of the superb cast draws us in. [9 May 2011, p.40]
  10. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Apr 22, 2011
    88
    Treme gives you the best, then, of dramas and documentaries: a moving snapshot of a city, and its flesh-and-blood people, in transition.
  11. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Apr 25, 2011
    80
    From scene to scene, Treme is novelistic in the best sense--a long, complex, involving story that takes a while to settle into, but that you can't put down and don't want to end.
  12. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 25, 2011
    80
    Those who love it aren't likely to get that itch scratched anywhere else. Like jazz, though, that's a relatively narrow audience, one that Simon--perhaps even more so than in "The Wire" and "Generation Kill"--has chosen, for better and worse, to uncompromisingly serve.
  13. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Apr 25, 2011
    80
    The second season, beginning in 2006, about a year after the last, will probably not change minds among lovers or haters. There's somewhat more capital-D drama to the early episodes.
  14. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 21, 2011
    80
    Some aspects of this show work better than others, but, in its generally excellent second season, the drama has cohered into a compelling, if sprawling, portrait of the Crescent City.
  15. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 22, 2011
    70
    It's often difficult for them to shed the topical baggage they are made to carry and simply be themselves. Still, if you stick with them, you'll see Treme becoming a well-paced work of fiction rather than see Treme spending too much effort speaking truth to an indifferent power.
  16. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 25, 2011
    58
    It's wonderful HBO is willing to subsidize so many artists, but Treme feels more like a tax write-off than an actual series.
  17. Reviewed by: Tony Norman
    Apr 25, 2011
    50
    There are scenes in the first five episodes of the new season that are as compelling as anything television has to offer. But the viewer has to wade through material that fails more often than not to deliver on its promise.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    0
    I was a huge fan of The Wire which was written by the creator of Treme. I watched last season and the first episode of season two hoping forI was a huge fan of The Wire which was written by the creator of Treme. I watched last season and the first episode of season two hoping for character and story devlopment I might care about. It never gave me a real plot that I saw or really likeable characters. I am done with the show. I gave it a real chance to hook me and it never did. Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    2
    What I -- and most other folks -- loved about David Simon's "The Wire" was the writing, the stories. Everything flowed from that. "Treme" isWhat I -- and most other folks -- loved about David Simon's "The Wire" was the writing, the stories. Everything flowed from that. "Treme" is "The Wire" without the writing. Where is the tension? When is the show going to break out of this slow (but beautifully filmed, beautifully acted, beautifully scored) journey? Unless there is going to be a shift in its direction I can't imagine there will be another season. Case in point: John Goodman's Creighton Bernette drifted through season one without developing into a character we wanted to care about, and it wasn't John Goodman's fault. Yes, we got the whole "I'm pissed what's happened to my city" schtick, but that was the extent of his character? Really? Bernette, and many of the other characters, come across as permanently one dimensional -- more similar to characters in "Law and Order" than "Breaking Bad", the current gold standard for shows with great stories.

    With such as awesome cast (thank G-d Khandi Alexander's back on the TV) and a potential as wide and long as the MIssissippi, "Treme" could be much better, much much better.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    6
    This show has a great writing staff, a great cast, and beautiful filming. It seems like an attempt to create a new "The Wire", from theThis show has a great writing staff, a great cast, and beautiful filming. It seems like an attempt to create a new "The Wire", from the creators of that show. It's the same, patient build up of the characters and networks between them. They got the guts not to rush it, which I like in a quality TV drama. But where "The Wire" had excellent portraits of the harsh realities of life in Baltimore through the stories and characters, this one is just one, long glorification of New Orleans. We get it, the city has a unique, vibrant flair, and the music is the heartbeat of the city. But really, you don Full Review »