• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
True Blood Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sookie seeks Eric's help after Bill is kidnapped and the vampire loans her a werewolf to help her.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 100
    Eclipsing even last summer's BBQ bacchanal involving an ancient spirit, the new season feels like one big undead sex party-a kinky alternate lifestyle where vampires and monsters do the nasty (and other violent acts) in roadhouses, backrooms, backwoods and the occasional antebellum mansion.
  2. 88
    True Blood is worth the work, particularly since the main plot (Sookie's search for her kidnapped vampire lover Bill) is pretty much a self-starter.
  3. Initially, these and other fresh characters make Season 3 feel overcrowded--and we pity any new fan trying to make sense of it all. But by the middle of the second episode, the show begins to gain traction and sucks you in with its new set of tantalizing mysteries.
  4. 80
    While the orgiastic madness of Season 2 might be hard to top, the first three episodes of Season 3 look promising indeed, serving up one juicy twist after another, plus a steady flow of great dialogue, intense conversations, brutality, blackmail, mystery, suspense and, best of all, some wickedly funny moments that are beyond compare.
  5. It's unavoidable that True Blood will fall into some of the same dramas as other vampire shows. It's just got sharper teeth.
  6. 75
    And better, this season the vamps and the shape-shifting alcoholics find themselves with too many werewolves on their hands. And the werewolves are pretty terrifying and very vicious. Very. How can you not love that?
  7. That for those of you who love True Blood for its soapy mix of sex and horror--and occasional flashes of humor--nothing important is missing from the three episodes I've seen of the new season.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Very addicting. Season three is really great. The only thing annoying about this season is the infuriating beginning of a love triangle, which is so over done. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Remarkable show. Extremely well done, very creative. Great actors. Great fx. Awesome soundtrack. The plot is a little hard to follow with so many things going on, but definitely worth watching. Collapse
  3. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    The thing that makes True Blood remarkable is the energetic gulf between the supernatural and the mundane. Bon Temps is a fictional town fully stocked with the unremarkable and yet the characters are everything but (with only a few rare exceptions such as Marlene). It would be easy to be lulled by the background if someone's head wasn't being ripped off every few minutes. This is a town where a flamboyant, arrogant, homosexual, drug-dealing angry black man's tirade comes off as comic relief. I suppose the fact that every show begins with a woman screaming is just the writer's way of letting us know it's time to pay attention to the TV again. This excellent work functions as both social commentary and horror-fantasy of the highest order. It's as primal as Andy Bellefleur's advice to Jason Stackhouse: Dick on, conscience off. And everything IS alright! Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    True Blood season three is by far the better out of the first three seasons, because it had a likeable antagonist, more suspense and had heaps of action packed moments. This season still provides the humour and performances that I still liked from season one. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    I'm not a fan of vampire shows. But this one is probably the best out there. It has interesting characters and doesn't centre only on vampires. There are also other 'creatures' involved. What I didn't like was, that each season is one story the seasons themselves do not connect to a greater story line. also everything seems to be very linear, it is like watching someone play a computer game, where at the end they defeat the big monster. Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2010
    5
    When "True Blood" first aired, I worried that soap and silliness would prevail over weirdness and mystery, and it has. Sometimes Lafayette and Sam seem the only characters able to balance comedy and the uncanny, while everyone else devolves into sentimental caricature. Godric raised the bar for a bit in Season Two, then Maryann dropped it again, and it has stayed low throughout Season Three so far. I don't see the werewolves contributing much, and, yes, I get that they represent an existential underclass and so illuminate the social stratification of the supernatural world. The King of Mississippi is a disappointment; with the exception of a single special effect, nothing about the performance reads 3,000 years old or hugely potent, where Godric and 1st-season Eric did give off flashes of ancient power. But the real heartbreaker for me is James Frain, normally a master of intelligent menace, who should have been allowed to raise Rutina Wesley's game and finally make her Tara interesting. Instead, they're locked in competition to see who can make sillier faces, as though the camera is a bored toddler in line at the grocery store. Bill and Lorena are just rehashing the same old grievance (albeit with more blood), and Pam, as usual, is undeservedly relegated to obscurity. Jessica, too, seems wasted, aside from a few pointless hijinks, and Eric's evil charisma has gone the way of his hair. As for our undead Romeo and mind-reading Juliet, I remain bored, as "Angel" and "Moonlight" exhausted what little interest I had in Pinocchio Vampires and their ambivalent human sweeties. Note to writers: vacillation does not equal drama. When I saw Stephen Moyer as a truly eerie bloodsucker in the first episode of "Ultraviolet" the other night, I realized how much more compelling Bill would be with an edge. Yeah, I know: his wickedness in the '30s is supposed to supply it, but it's too far in the past, too thoroughly regretted, and too blamed on Lorena to cast a psychic shadow. The show is supposed to be about a population that has just made peace with humanity after millennia of predation and fear; everything, even the comedy, should be darker. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2010
    0
    Ugly actors, terrible show. A few of the supporting characters are worth watching but the main characters are annoying and should be either muted or avoided if you watch this show. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.