• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 161

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    Twilight with T&A, too many monsters and too many characters overpopulate this supposedly small southern town. Seems like everyone has a power now, so much that the humans are an endangered species on this show. The plots go in circles (see the increasingly tedious SookieBillEric triangle; anything involving an angry Tara getting brainwashed or tortured or getting drunk or feeling sorry for herself) and some just come out of nowhere (Sam is now an angry drunk?). Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2011
    0
    I saw erics bum on trueblood tonight time to tweet about it or facebook it or tell all my girlfriends to come over so we can watch it in slow motion i hate what the writers did to this show sookies a stuck up sweaty **** and just lost all my respect for this show !!!! I hate that theres no good story lines yinz f'd up big time but managed to make millions and millions of girls wet f*ck off get ur minds right and start making better sh*t u f*gg*ots Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What the hell happened?? This show WAS one of my favorites. Lame, boring, disappoints me! Crystal and her "group" just disappeared, for instance (can they explain that?). Season finale was terrible! Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2011
    0
    I cried because I had no shoes....until I met a man who had to sit and watch this ridiculous crap. "If you sit here and watch this show I'll give you my shoes", said the man. "No", I replied. "But you have no shoes!" he exclaimed. "That is correct", I said. "And I really wish I had shoes. But not like this, man. Not like this." Then my best friend AL wheeled up in his wheelchair. "What's this?", asked AL.

    "This guy has to sit here and watch True Blood", I said.

    "Oh my God!", said AL, clearly horrified. "WHY???"

    "I don't know", said the man. "I just started watching it a few years ago"

    "Did you ever like it?", asked AL

    "What?"

    "The show. Did you like it. Did you ever enjoy watching True Blood"

    "I....well....I..."

    A look of realization, then shock, then pain crossed the man's face. The agony and betrayal burned into his features. AL and I had seen this type of thing before and it never got any easier to watch.

    "It will get better, won't it?" pleaded the man. "I mean, it's HBO right? It will all be ok, won't it?"

    I put my arm around the man. "No, my friend", I said in a Spanish accent. "Never will it improve. It saddens me to see this happen to you, a good man. But I fear your fate is sealed".

    "Why are you talking in a Spanish accent?", asked AL.

    "I dunno! Hahahaha. Hey it's dollar Chalupa night , does Sharon have yoga?"

    "Yeah!", said AL. "She isn't back until nine and I sure am hungry!"

    "Let's go then!"

    And so it came to pass that me and AL ate like, four Chalupas each and were completely stuffed and went back to my place and played Call of Duty until he had to get back to Sharon.
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    4
    Nope, this season does not improve on last . . . much, anyway. Plusses include more Pam, less, Tara, more Pam, less Bill 'n' Sookie, and more Pam. Minuses include less Eric (even--or especially--when Eric is present), as well as more and more and more supernatural species, to the point, where, if you live in Bon Temps and don't have a magical power or two, you might as well stay at home with your shoelaces tied together and chewing gum in your ears, because nothing you can come up with--genius, germs, or guns--will get you anywhere. "True Blood" has gone the way of many soap operas--and, make no mistake about it, the show is pure soap--in proliferating storylines to the point where characters lose all integrity, becoming mere plot vehicles. A sure-fire giveaway is a major character's contracting amnesia and undergoing a complete personality change to allow an improbable development. Yeah, I know: the book did it first--so what? Why am I still watching? (1) Kristin Bauer (though Pam's final meltdown made me cringe); (2) Nelsan Ellis, whose Lafayette don't need no stinkin' power, even though he now has one; (3) Sam Trammell, who understands how to be both fierce and sweet; (4) Deborah Ann Woll, now gloriously predatory; (5) Todd Lowe, heartbreaking icon of damaged goodness; and (6) Kevin Alejandro, finally giving beautiful Lafayette a taste of what charmless Sookie has been gulping for four seasons. Why will I watch next season? Because it looks very much as though Michael Raymond-James's Rene will be back in some form. If so, I have a hit list for him . . .. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    3
    for me this (and another season) is the worst season of true blood so far, the season ended well but the outcome they did to her was a disaster and this is also the season that I began to pray for the death of sookie
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    100
    True Blood works best when its freak flag flies--as long as its core characters are along for the ride.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 29, 2011
    83
    Blood creator Alan Ball knows how to juggle multiple pretty people and knotty, danger-stuffed story lines for the maximum amount of breathless romance and over-the-top action.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 27, 2011
    42
    True Blood returns on Sunday (June 26) night with too many new characters, not enough time with the characters I like, a general evasion of the most prickly parts of last season's finale, some plodding hints at a lumbering dramatic direction for this season and some breasts.