True Blood : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 684 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 684

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DianaM.
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Unbelievably addicting and HBO deserves a whole lot of credit for putting out one great show after another.
  2. R.C.
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    True Blood is the only show that I want to air like a soap opra. I love it. the show is great. keep them coming.
  3. NataliaB.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    I can't wait for each episode! The twist and turns keep you tuned in.
  4. StephanieH.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    The best show on HBO since the Sopranos.
  5. BraxS.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    Who the heck are these critics? Honestly.
  6. JoelC.
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Right when I saw the begining of the first episode, then the ending of it I have been hooked and saw 11 episodes in 2-3 days and look forward to many many more seasons of this show. TRUEBLOOD BABY!!!!
  7. BellaG.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    A riveting guilty-pleasure. Fantastic characters woven into a story that contains a delightful blend of drama, danger, and tongue-in cheek humor.
  8. CameronL
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    I can say, that sadly, this season has ended, and I feel utterly empty. This show has been the highlight of my Sunday Nights. Engaging characters, A plot that simmers until the very end, and show conclusions that leave you hanging until the next episode only add to the excitement and phenom that has become of this show. I suggest, while waiting for next summer, to read the novels, they I can say, that sadly, this season has ended, and I feel utterly empty. This show has been the highlight of my Sunday Nights. Engaging characters, A plot that simmers until the very end, and show conclusions that leave you hanging until the next episode only add to the excitement and phenom that has become of this show. I suggest, while waiting for next summer, to read the novels, they should hold your cravings very well! Expand
  9. AnnS
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    The genre is special - either it gets to you or not. I have always had this penchant for vampires and THIS show has it all! Romance, sex, horror, true love and a great portion of humor.
  10. KelsieL.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    I love this show. It's refreshingly sexy, funny and very original. Stephen Moyer and Anna Paquin have great chemistry on screen.
  11. AaronM.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    One of the greatest television shows ever!! Can watch it over and over for 173 years.
  12. JamesC.
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    True Blood is a fantastic extension of modern vampire media that addresses complex issues such as race, sexual identity, and mortality while providing a visceral rush through gratuitous (and sometimes hilarious) sex scenes, violence, and surprisingly sharp humor. It's a vampire show that's actually fun! Although the series does seem to stall after 5 episodes or so, apparently True Blood is a fantastic extension of modern vampire media that addresses complex issues such as race, sexual identity, and mortality while providing a visceral rush through gratuitous (and sometimes hilarious) sex scenes, violence, and surprisingly sharp humor. It's a vampire show that's actually fun! Although the series does seem to stall after 5 episodes or so, apparently getting lost in the ever-deepening character development. This may be a side effect of watching all nine episodes (so far) in a row. Expand
  13. KellyB.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    I'm in the "love it" camp. It doesn't pull any punches, creating a world that is both wondrous and terrifying all at once. I'm hooked.
  14. AnnetteN
    Dec 17, 2008
    9
    Though I love the show, I many times wish that it followed along better with the actual book. I feel that many of the books notes are not expressed in the series that could quite possibly make the series even better! I look forward to season two!!!
  15. RaquelG.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    This show is just SOOOO INCREDIBLY AWESOME. the acting may not be emmy-worthy but MAN does this show move you. The last episode made me cry, get shivers and literally scream. I can watch it over and over.
  16. HeatherF.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    I love this show. I watched episode 4 and then stayed up the rest of the night watching all the others I hadn't seen. As n Anne Rice fan I was excited to see vamoires back on the screen.
  17. JennR
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    This is a show that you either love or hate. I love it! I think that this show separates itself from the competition- yes, there are some dirty mouths, and yes there is some raunchy sex...but there is also an ever-changing storyline and great chemistry between main characters Bill and Sookie. In a way, it is not really all that "dark" at all - its more of a unconventional love story with This is a show that you either love or hate. I love it! I think that this show separates itself from the competition- yes, there are some dirty mouths, and yes there is some raunchy sex...but there is also an ever-changing storyline and great chemistry between main characters Bill and Sookie. In a way, it is not really all that "dark" at all - its more of a unconventional love story with all the drama in between. Oh, and for those haters out there....u must like something about it to be posting your comments on here. Also - Its already been renewed for a second season, so they must be doing something right. To each their own. I personally can't wait til Sunday at 9pm. Expand
  18. RamonaW.
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    Really enjoyed the first episode, and I am looking forward to seeing how the rest of the story unfolds as time goes on.
  19. TrinaF.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    A little bit of everything... violence, romance, fantasy, and a western all packed into one.
  20. PaulG.
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    The two leads were a superb choice! Bravo, casting! I have thoroughly enjoyed the first two episodes. I agree that it has a unique feel for an original HBO production. I have not quite figured out why that is. Perhaps it is simply a product of the genre and nothing more.
  21. lisaa.
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    I think this is a great show. True blood is very seductive and intriguing.
  22. Doug
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    A really fun show to watch. Tends to be on the campy side at times but overall a very good and very different tale of vampires.
  23. LynnW.
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    Love it.....as good as Blood Ties....if not better.
  24. JJJ.
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    After Rome and Deadwood fell under the weight of there own production, i'm excited about another provocative show on HBO that I can Obsess about.
  25. JoyC.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    I feel hypnotize when I watch this show. Sookie and BIll have this intense chemistry which makes the show so captivating. It's also pretty damn funny.
  26. SL
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    Love the swampy, steamy setting and the unnerving, unsettling feeling you get from watching. Never know what's round the corner, facinating, mysterious and I've watched both episodes twice, can't wait to see more.
  27. lisap.
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    Very enjoyable. An hour well spent. Dont screw it up HBO!
  28. CyndiS.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this show.
  29. RachelW
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    HBO has needed something new and exciting since Rome. This is even better! Excellent!!
  30. LauraM
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Sookie and Bill's chemistry is the hook of this show, and I'm completely obsessed--keep up the romance!
  31. CourtneyP.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Love it! So addicting, and vampire mythology is hot.
  32. AM
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I loved this show. I can't wait to see the next episodes. I am also planning to get the books. I am so glad it got picked up for a second season. Some critics didn't like it, but, as anyone knows, never trust what the critics say. If they don't like it, it must be good!
  33. Gary
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    The negative reviewers must have wanted a replay of "Six Feet Under" and must not be evaluating this show on its own merits. It is great.
  34. TaraG
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Best new show of the season!
  35. ThomasL.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Astonished at the creativity of the show, always look forward to the next weeks episode, getting all my friends into watching it.
  36. CandyP
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    Not bad so far... not bad.... long time vampire fan.
  37. SaraD.
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best series to date. I just can't get enough of the plot, the characters, etc. The cast is just plain brilliant. The connection between Sookie and Bill is just mesmerizing. I have taken an interest with every character. The show is frightening yet seductively sensual. My words and thoughts just don't do the show enough justice. I cannot stop watching every This is by far the best series to date. I just can't get enough of the plot, the characters, etc. The cast is just plain brilliant. The connection between Sookie and Bill is just mesmerizing. I have taken an interest with every character. The show is frightening yet seductively sensual. My words and thoughts just don't do the show enough justice. I cannot stop watching every episode over and over again - I think I need help! I look foward to Sundays with bated breath. Congratulations to everyone involved with this production!!! Expand
  38. KathyB.
    Sep 28, 2008
    10
    I loved it!
  39. LaurieB.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    As a big fan of Charlaine Harris's mystery series the TV show is based on, I have anxiously awaited True Blood's premier. And over all it hasn't been dissapointing. The books, written in first person from Sookie Stackhouse's POV (a telepathic Waitress in a roadhouse in Louisiana) who falls in love with a vampires and then gets sucked into supernatural's politcs, As a big fan of Charlaine Harris's mystery series the TV show is based on, I have anxiously awaited True Blood's premier. And over all it hasn't been dissapointing. The books, written in first person from Sookie Stackhouse's POV (a telepathic Waitress in a roadhouse in Louisiana) who falls in love with a vampires and then gets sucked into supernatural's politcs, are compelling and addicitive stuff. The show however has started out a little awkardly but seems to be hitting its stride and I am anxiously awaiting episodes 4 on as they will bring in the character that peretually drives the series Eric Northman. Alan Ball has made a concious decision to have Sookie be the main character but instead of having it be from her POV with voice over, he is fleshing out the supporting characters to mixed results. as he stated otherwise, Anna Paquin would have had to be in every scene and work 15 hours a day. Is it selfish of me that I wish he had done so? Sorry Anna. When ever the action moves off of Sookie, the show seems to drag a little. Ball has emphasized, some say unnecessarily, side characters sex lives sometimes to the point of a lurid voyeuristic pornography focus, at other times to surprisingly hilarious consequences (i.e. Sookie's narcisistic and sex obsessed brother Jason pointing at himself in the mirror while having sex with one of the waitresses.) Either way, it is a fun ride and well worth a view. Can't wait to see more. Expand
  40. Shaba
    Sep 29, 2008
    8
    Weird, wild and wonderful. Our world is so full of reality that it singes my brain to watch the news and the stock market everyday. What a more intresting way to build a fantasy other than a very elder southern gentleman courting a lovely young lady, even if it coats the accent too thickly and leaves out alot of southern wit, I am already addicted.
  41. BridgetA
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    Addicted. Completely obsessed by it. And I am a literature major. The books are fine. Watched the series first and prefer it.
  42. anonymous
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Couldn't be anything other than a solid 10, it's as perfect as TV ever gets. The actors are all perfectly cast, each episode is brilliant, season 2 is a masterpiece from start to finish. It's the best thing that's appeared on TV since the channel 4 series dead set, in fact it's much better.
  43. kokobeware
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    Cool storyline, well developed (crazy!) characters, political and religious satire, some sex, some violence, what more can you ask for? works for me!
  44. als
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Great show. Can not wait for the new season.
  45. AliG.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    If you want to watch something that you can really hear what you want, then true blood is for your ears. Not mentioning the ultimate performance of the cast, it's one of the unique-obsessed tv shows i've ever watched. It is promising with top quality effects that the show offers and also ironic with what it offers by a mixture of humour and uniqueness in a depression oriented theme.
  46. AndrewG.
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    Good silly fun, buckets of blood, with lotsa sex, what more do you need?
  47. DavidL.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    The user-review rating says it all. I hate most TV shows, I really do. In fact, the only TV show I've actively followed and enjoyed in the last 5 years, is The Wire. Make no mistake, this isn't The Wire quality, but it is an incredibly fun, funny, interesting and downright intriguing show. There's nothing else out there like it. This isn't Buffy the Vampire Slayer on The user-review rating says it all. I hate most TV shows, I really do. In fact, the only TV show I've actively followed and enjoyed in the last 5 years, is The Wire. Make no mistake, this isn't The Wire quality, but it is an incredibly fun, funny, interesting and downright intriguing show. There's nothing else out there like it. This isn't Buffy the Vampire Slayer on HBO. Just like The Wire isn't The Shield on HBO. Both are incredibly different shows, and both extremely interesting. Expand
  48. SammyKay
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Excellent new material - ingenious concept re-creating the typical vampire story.
  49. mariashavzin
    Dec 21, 2008
    7
    I like the show, but I haven't watched the ending. I really like Bill, Rene, and Jasons new girl Amy. I absolutely HATE Sam, and often fast forward thru scenes with him in it. Sam realy has that short male complex were he has to prove something. Tarra is hard to take, but I can deal with her. It depends on how this season ends wether ill be seeing it next season. If sam dies, ill I like the show, but I haven't watched the ending. I really like Bill, Rene, and Jasons new girl Amy. I absolutely HATE Sam, and often fast forward thru scenes with him in it. Sam realy has that short male complex were he has to prove something. Tarra is hard to take, but I can deal with her. It depends on how this season ends wether ill be seeing it next season. If sam dies, ill watch for sure. He is obviously the collie. In fact he acts like a collie. He certainly isn't anything better.Maybe a shetland pony. Expand
  50. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    The show is decent at best as far as acting, but its the story and the world that makes true blood worth watching. Unlike shows such as Lost the plot is simple enough to keep viewers interested, but has enough characters and events that keep them guessing. The acting is the shows downfall due to either overacting, or underacting. Its easy to see why people are interested in the show, butThe show is decent at best as far as acting, but its the story and the world that makes true blood worth watching. Unlike shows such as Lost the plot is simple enough to keep viewers interested, but has enough characters and events that keep them guessing. The acting is the shows downfall due to either overacting, or underacting. Its easy to see why people are interested in the show, but hard to see what keeps the viewership so high, when its usually fighting, talking, sex, talking, sex, and then more sex, but then again thats TV these days. Expand
  51. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Brilliant, imaginative, funny and at times very moving. The storyline is varies to that of the Sookie Stackhouse books, so should not be compared too closely by literary fans but it is a very good adaptation. I have been glued and after one episode become a fan. Would highly recommend.
  52. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    Twi-hards, look out! There's a fangbanger that's not afraid to bite: True Blood. Yes, the new vampire series is the very essence of the vampire culture that many is afraid to write. True Blood is surprisingly powerful and gory when it wants to be. The dramatic series includes many themes such as drug use, sexual relations with vampires and a serial killer on the loose killing women who'veTwi-hards, look out! There's a fangbanger that's not afraid to bite: True Blood. Yes, the new vampire series is the very essence of the vampire culture that many is afraid to write. True Blood is surprisingly powerful and gory when it wants to be. The dramatic series includes many themes such as drug use, sexual relations with vampires and a serial killer on the loose killing women who've associated themselves with vampires. In her best since The Piano (a performance that earned her an coveted Oscar title), Anna Paquin is a breath of fresh air as Sookie Stackhouse, a waitress at bar and diner Merlotte's who can read minds. She soon falls for the dazzling Bill Compton (Moyer) -- a vampire -- who soon introduces her to the vampire world. It isn't long before trouble hits her way. There are so good story-lines that will grab your attention enough to keep on the edge of your seat, characters that you don't want to see go and characters that you will love (that's including Sam Merlotte (Sam Trammell), boss of Sookie who turns out to be -- not telling you!, Jason Stackhouse (Aussie Ryan Kwanten), brother of Sookie; Tara Thorton (Rutina Wesley in a breakout role); best friend but like sister of Sookie and Lafayette (Nelsan Ellis), Tara's fast-talking, tough-as-s&%# and openly gay cousin) Expand
  53. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    I didn't think this TV series would ever be my cup of tea, it doesn't hold back on the amount of blood and gore, sex scenes, or torture. Surprisingly, three seasons down the line, I'm well and truly hooked. It's nothing like your Edward and Bella romance; maybe it's just as intense and sloppy, but surrounding them is an increase in murders, kidnappings, and an ever growing variety ofI didn't think this TV series would ever be my cup of tea, it doesn't hold back on the amount of blood and gore, sex scenes, or torture. Surprisingly, three seasons down the line, I'm well and truly hooked. It's nothing like your Edward and Bella romance; maybe it's just as intense and sloppy, but surrounding them is an increase in murders, kidnappings, and an ever growing variety of creatures appearing in little Louisiana.

    The series follows the story of Sookie Stackhouse (played none other than Anna Paquin - Rogue in X Men) who lives with her brother Jason and who works in your regular family restaurant owned by Sam Merlotte. The restaurant contains most of the main characters, what with it being a small town, but this makes it easy to keep up with all of them. Then there are the vampires, mainly Bill Compton, who Sookie falls in love with, but they're not all 'good'. You'll meet Eric Northman, and Lafayette Reynolds, who deals out vampire blood. Characters come and go, mostly the really naughty ones, and it usually takes a whole season to explain who or what one character is, making it that much more gripping. Some characters have their own powers, making the humans more likeable, however you won't find out what Sookie's is til season three!

    Season three has pleasantly introduced werewolves, and about time really. It's a lot darker, gorier, and you can begin to see the split between the vampires, as some take the humans' side and others such as Russell Edgington (The vamp king of Mississippi) who want to kill off the human race. So if your a Twilight fan but would appreciate a real fight between fang and fur, then get your teeth stuck into True Blood. What's not to like, especially when all the characters are appealing to look at!
    Expand
  54. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    definitely my cup of red zinger tea. Funny smart, sexy... I cant wait for summer to come back, and I will miss my true blood during the long winter ahead
  55. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    I love true blood!! its the best tv show ever created. The scences are so damn hot and sexy. I haven't missed any episodes. I love all the supernatural creatures that are shown and the show just keeps getting better and better. I have seen the episodes over and over, i just can't get enough of true blood.
  56. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    The first season of True Blood was definitely the best by far. The characters were still mysterious and the plot was still somewhat interesting. It was truly a promising show back then.
  57. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Very nice show indeed. Most of all, the characters will keep you occupied. Its not a show that makes you laugh all the time, but it still somehow makes it all fun to watch.
  58. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    I absolutely hated the first three episodes but after getting passed that it's a decent show. I find the script to be somewhat cheesy at parts. And the characters can be somewhat annoying and unlikable.
  59. Dec 27, 2010
    7
    Good show for awhile, goes downhill after awhile. Every character is annoying in their own special way and the delivery of their lines is usually painful but in seasons one and two, it's entertaining enough to let it slide. Season 3 has turned this show into a teen drama that happens to involve miscellaneous mythical creatures. Stop at the end of the second season.
  60. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Having just watched Season 1 and Season 2 feel let down. I am a big fan of the books and can't understand why the series homes in on lots of cheap 'out of work and can't act extras' who have only experience in porn. The stories are great and the series has potential because the main characters work well but the shows potential is brought down to tacky because of it's constant use ofHaving just watched Season 1 and Season 2 feel let down. I am a big fan of the books and can't understand why the series homes in on lots of cheap 'out of work and can't act extras' who have only experience in porn. The stories are great and the series has potential because the main characters work well but the shows potential is brought down to tacky because of it's constant use of useless characters that aren't sexy but offensive. The directors must have their hands down their pants constantly because instead of focusing of the main events of the story; love, hate, deceit, greed and such an eventful imagination from Charlaine Harris they murder it literally. Are they secret Stephanie Meyer fans and want to see the show end? O.K. we know she's the other extreme and she ripped off Charlaine Harris's ideas but still. If you want to make porn, make porn. Don't mess around with great story lines and kill them. Expand
  61. May 7, 2011
    10
    I love this show ! An adult version of vampire show yummy ! very good story line and love the humor with the gore and the plot very well played hope to see more !
  62. Mar 1, 2015
    9
    I'm reviewing the whole 7 seasons here. Before watching the show for the first time, I was skeptical about a TV series about vampires but I was wrong ! Not all seasons were as good. The first seasons were my best. I think the cast was really impressive. I will miss Eric, Sookie, Bill, Jason, Pam, etc !
  63. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love how even though the idea is the most used up of all ideas, this show remains entertaining and full of action and sex all of the time. They stayed close to the book which I really wanted them to do even though it is officially only "loosely based" on the books. The deaths are original and this show just has something special.
  64. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I am really entertained with this show, I watched four episodes, and got hooked. I found to enjoy all of the characters and loved the drama/suspense!
  65. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    new episode of true blood


    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
    watch here - http://new-tvseries.blogspot.com/search/label/True%20Blood
  66. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    The last time I reviewed True Blood, I was only two seasons in and I praised it. Now being all caught up, I can say this show has lost alot of its charm. Theres barely any sex anymore, barely any blood, and the plots are getting messy. It has to many thing happening at once and not one of them is truely compelling. Sookie seems like a side character now in season 5. Hopefully season 6 goesThe last time I reviewed True Blood, I was only two seasons in and I praised it. Now being all caught up, I can say this show has lost alot of its charm. Theres barely any sex anymore, barely any blood, and the plots are getting messy. It has to many thing happening at once and not one of them is truely compelling. Sookie seems like a side character now in season 5. Hopefully season 6 goes back to its roots. Expand
  67. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    True Blood gives that sense which other series lack (a solid characterization of the human characters). A plot that blows uo in the end, the conclusions leave you hanging until the next episode comes and it gives. Providing excitement and phenom that has become of this show. Promising, top quality effects, and offers a mixture of humour and uniqueness in a depression oriented theme.
  68. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Sex, mayhem & violence.... what more could I want in escapism entertainment! With extreme violence in cop and hospital dramas as status quo - I am enjoying the surreal premise, and quirky character development.
  69. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Dark, powerful, witty, funny, dramatic! One of the most captivating shows on TV. That has become a pop culture phenomenon for many. Who wants more S-O-O-K-I-E!!!!!!!
  70. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Fresh, witty, entertaining and suspenseful series that is fun to watch and is very, very addicting. Once you watch one episode, you have to watch the rest.
  71. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Well written, though they can leave off some of the nudity and sex scenes. I am definitely waiting for the next season of this show to pick up where they left off. A must see series with loads of exciting scenes and great characters!
  72. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    I'm almost 100% certain that you don't have a soul or just plain hate EVERYTHING if you don't like this show! It's mostly because of the fact that it's just so awesome the actors, the setting, the characters, the plot, the villains, the heroes EVERYTHING is just FANTASTIC!
  73. Jan 22, 2012
    7
    The first two seasons of this show were awesome, but then came season 3. Season 3 created too many story lines, which lead into season 4. Even though season 4 was better, they need to kill a few more characters and have only one or two solid story lines. Other than that, the show never gets boring.
  74. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Sexy, scary, and powerfully acted, True Blood is an emotional powerhouse. While watching, you are in the control of the show as they make you happy, scared, turned on, and grossed out. After watching season after season, I can conclude that this addicting show is what Twilight dreams to be...but never will.
  75. Mar 8, 2016
    9
    Fresh, witty, entertaining and suspenseful series that is fun to watch and is very, very addicting. Once you watch one episode, you have to watch the rest.
  76. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Very entertaining show with interesting characters and plotlines. Setting aside the fact that it is a fictional work about vampires, the sheer number of supernatural creatures in and around this small town in Louisiana strains credulity at times.
  77. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    The first season will always be a great season. And I know many people always say the same **** about the "first" part to any movie or TV franchise, but its first season was actually very good, albeit it wasn't my favorite. However, it managed to draw me into the series and 5 season later, I'm a diehard fan. So it must have done something right.
  78. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    True blood is awesome. I love the acting especially in the first season! Tara's character especially nails it out of the park!

    Andy

    www.funnyordie.com/andy_knuth
  79. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    True Blood has gotten better and better with each season. While I'm not a fan of other vampire shows/movies, True Blood does it so well. It has evolved a lot from the first season and doesn't only focus merely on the vampire aspect. Another HBO hit!
  80. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This show has had its ups and downs with storylines but it has always ben a must see for my wife and me. This is not for people who don't mind a little gore. The storyline is a little hard to follow with all the supernatural beings.
  81. May 23, 2013
    10
    I love this show every season has an epic storyline cliffhangers drama suspense supernatural its the whole package and there are many stories going on in one season
  82. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best shows ever on tv, but then i wouldn't expect anything less than brilliance from Mr Alan Ball. What i love about True Blood is it's ability to evolve and surprise the viewer just when they least expect it. Also it has an abundance of interesting and developed characters who are constantly evolving along with the show. This one is definitely on my A List of shows that are aOne of the best shows ever on tv, but then i wouldn't expect anything less than brilliance from Mr Alan Ball. What i love about True Blood is it's ability to evolve and surprise the viewer just when they least expect it. Also it has an abundance of interesting and developed characters who are constantly evolving along with the show. This one is definitely on my A List of shows that are a 'must see' for genre fans. Expand
  83. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I've watched this since 2008 so I've basically grown up with it! A mature television show about vampires. Once you get past the annoying pronunciation of Sookie's name by Bill, you'll enjoy it. Season two is better than the first.
  84. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    "True Blood" has never been the best show on television, but man, the first couple seasons were really enjoyable. All stories were connected, whether thematically or plot-wise. People's relationships actually mattered. There were some nice metaphors about religion and homosexuality. Anna Paquin gave one of the tv-s best performances.

    But above everything else, in its early days,
    "True Blood" has never been the best show on television, but man, the first couple seasons were really enjoyable. All stories were connected, whether thematically or plot-wise. People's relationships actually mattered. There were some nice metaphors about religion and homosexuality. Anna Paquin gave one of the tv-s best performances.

    But above everything else, in its early days, watching "True Blood" was fun and that made up all of its occasional silliness. I personally wish the show had stayed the way it was in its first seasons.
    Expand
  85. Aug 19, 2014
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  86. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoyed the series. The writing was really well done and fits our forward thinking and changes in society. Hope to see more programs like this in the near future. Expand
  87. Mar 30, 2015
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  88. Aug 17, 2015
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  89. Nov 13, 2015
    9
    So I am not going to lie: when the vampire mania after Twilight came out I was not at all into it. I really wouldn't have predicted I would like this show so much.

    I think the appreciation for this show has to be understood through a lens that everything in the show, no matter how gory, campy, or riddiculous, is intentional. This isn't supposed to be a gritty drama, it is a carosel of
    So I am not going to lie: when the vampire mania after Twilight came out I was not at all into it. I really wouldn't have predicted I would like this show so much.

    I think the appreciation for this show has to be understood through a lens that everything in the show, no matter how gory, campy, or riddiculous, is intentional. This isn't supposed to be a gritty drama, it is a carosel of violence and vice, and you just have to enjoy the ride that stretches credulity.

    One thing I think this show doesn't nearly get enough credit for is being laugh out loud hilarious. In season 2 when Hoyt's (sp?) mom is possessed by Maryann I littlerally die laughing every time as she plays Wii and cusses up a storm. Jason has some pretty hilarious one liners too that are delivered reliably throughout the shows seasons. Andy Belfluere (also sp-never read the books so I'm not sure about spelling) is also consistently hilarious.

    I don't know why, but season 2 is my hands down favorite. I think that in the horror or fantasy genre Maryann is a really unique character/mythology to explore.

    The only critique I have is that the last few seasons weren't as good, but I think that happens to a lot of series. I definitely recommend this show to just about anyone.
    Expand
  90. Jun 5, 2016
    9
    Right now finished the first season of True Blood. Puhh.. it was better as I thought, after I saw the critics, I can´t understand why this has such a bad score?

    It´s dirty´n hot, the atmosphere of the southern is captured great. The main characters looks damn good, some of them funny, others creepy.. The story is well paced with a lot of turns and highlights. The first 12 episodes from
    Right now finished the first season of True Blood. Puhh.. it was better as I thought, after I saw the critics, I can´t understand why this has such a bad score?

    It´s dirty´n hot, the atmosphere of the southern is captured great. The main characters looks damn good, some of them funny, others creepy.. The story is well paced with a lot of turns and highlights. The first 12 episodes from season one shows sex, drugs and Vampires.. The Vampires shown so far are great, like Bill with his passion for Sookie or his cool "Boss" Eric. Other "mythical creatures" showing up promises a great 2nd season with tricky climax!
    Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.