True Blood : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 694 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 694

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RonP.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Brilliant, lurid southern Gothic soap opera. in its own way, it's as groundbreaking and masterful as ball's "six feet under." the first show to have me completely hooked from the first episode since "sopranos."
  2. JennetP.
    Nov 5, 2008
    8
    I was trying to ramp up my enthusiasm for this show when I came across another reviewer's mention of "John from Cincinnati," which scuttled the effort by reminding me of what REAL innovation looks like. In the wake of "Buffy," "Kindred," "Angel," "Blade," "Blood Ties," and "Moonlight," not to mention forebears such as "Dark Shadows," today's tv vampires must hack through a I was trying to ramp up my enthusiasm for this show when I came across another reviewer's mention of "John from Cincinnati," which scuttled the effort by reminding me of what REAL innovation looks like. In the wake of "Buffy," "Kindred," "Angel," "Blade," "Blood Ties," and "Moonlight," not to mention forebears such as "Dark Shadows," today's tv vampires must hack through a forest of cliches. I'll admit I don't love TB's "out of the coffin" premise, first because culture war jokes stopped being funny in the early 90's, and second because the need to kill or injure--and the conflicts that arise from it--is one of the most resonant features of vampirism. And because what I don't love is the central premise, I suppose there's a pretty low ceiling on my potential enthusiasm for the show. Unless Eric and his ilk become more prominent, that is--and, I must admit, my interest skyrockets whenever he shows up. Don't get me wrong: I like Bill and Sookie (though I disagree that they have chemistry, as a good part of their 150-year age difference is evident on-screen, giving their love scenes an unpleasant whiff of pedophilia, for me). And, cartoonish as it is, I like the southern gothic atmosphere, with its unusual integration of the uncanny into daily life. What gives me most hope for the show, however, is moments such as Bill's emergence from the graveyard soil, which tweaks a horror film cliche into a profoundly novel love scene, at once arousing and sad, warm and terrifying. More of such boldness (and more Eric), and the show will realize its considerable potential, for me. Expand
  3. JoelL.
    Sep 8, 2008
    2
    Not funny, not thrilling, not sexy, very hokey and very badly acted excepting Paquin.
  4. MikeG.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing show! I love that the char. are more fleshed out and feel real compared to the crap on nbc, etc. The sex scenes add to the dynamics of the char. backstory and are well done. I haven't wanted to pick up a novel in a while, but if the book series is this good, I've been missing out. this show is like heroes, law and order, and friends all in one.
  5. LeahB.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this show.. Right when the show ends, I can't wait for next Sunday to watch what will happen next!!!
  6. CharlotteL.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    I've read the books and though the show is a bit different its not too bad. The reason that will make me stop watching is if they force sam to be the serial killer.
  7. Magicmann
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    The best show on Hbo. Filled with suspense, great story line, action...this show has drama.
  8. LouiseS.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, I am hooked on this show. True Blood has a bit of everything for everybody. Very original, great choice of casting, believable storyline too , ( which I know sounds strange). All I can say is watch the show.
  9. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    True Blood is another series jumping on the vampire bandwagon and I have to say, the Vamps have never seemed cooler, sexier and crazy! Additionally, what TB offers that other series lack is a solid characterization of the human characters as well. Sookie Stackhouse differs from Bella Swan in that she is not nearly as self-deprecating and it's refreshing. But I have to say, Eric NorthmanTrue Blood is another series jumping on the vampire bandwagon and I have to say, the Vamps have never seemed cooler, sexier and crazy! Additionally, what TB offers that other series lack is a solid characterization of the human characters as well. Sookie Stackhouse differs from Bella Swan in that she is not nearly as self-deprecating and it's refreshing. But I have to say, Eric Northman steals the show. The hot blonde vamp is surely the object of many hot dreams. Kudos TB Expand
  10. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    The first few episodes are a rocky start, but stick with Alan Ball's True Blood. By episode seven, so many questions will be bubbling in your brain, you'll hardly be able to wait to watch the next one.
  11. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    It's addicting and entertaining. The writing isn't the best, and the acting isn't that solid, but the first season of True Blood is definitely worth your time.
  12. Nov 4, 2014
    5
    I would say after season three the show starts to get rather stupid. I enjoyed watching it prior to the show becoming what it has become. I think they should of went a completely different route than what they did, but this is just my opinion. If you're just looking for a show to pass some time then this show will suffice, but I wouldn't put any time in if you're looking for a show toI would say after season three the show starts to get rather stupid. I enjoyed watching it prior to the show becoming what it has become. I think they should of went a completely different route than what they did, but this is just my opinion. If you're just looking for a show to pass some time then this show will suffice, but I wouldn't put any time in if you're looking for a show to actually get into. Expand
  13. ML.
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very funny at times, but also sad and moving sometimes. A little different from the books which are also great. The characters are a pretty believable, and many of them remind of me of people I know. It's not perfect, the accents are a little fake, The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very funny at times, but also sad and moving sometimes. A little different from the books which are also great. The characters are a pretty believable, and many of them remind of me of people I know. It's not perfect, the accents are a little fake, and it's a mystery why Eric's hair doesn't grow back when he cut it(my girlfriend loves him but wishes they had left his hair long). They overdue the sex scenes sometimes too. Still, overall one of my favorite shows of all time. There's not many good Vampire movies or shows, so it's a refreshing change. Expand
  14. AntonioM.
    Sep 13, 2008
    2
    Boring, lame. slow paced, terrible acting. PAris Hilton scary House of Wax was a masterpiece compared to this. we were 4 in a room and we all agreed, that it sucks... Very disappointing
  15. RionaD.
    Oct 3, 2008
    5
    This show has SO MUCH potential, but it gets lost in it's attempt to sell itself better by sticking in a ridiculous amount of sex and nudity. I honestly felt like I was watching a porno with a plot thrown in as an afterthought. It has it's good points, though. It got some laughs out of me with it's cheesy humor, and the characters are generally likable. As I said earlier, This show has SO MUCH potential, but it gets lost in it's attempt to sell itself better by sticking in a ridiculous amount of sex and nudity. I honestly felt like I was watching a porno with a plot thrown in as an afterthought. It has it's good points, though. It got some laughs out of me with it's cheesy humor, and the characters are generally likable. As I said earlier, it has the potential to be absolutely great. They just need to realize that people will still watch it if they don't include a sex scene every ten minutes. Expand
  16. KathrynM.
    May 23, 2009
    0
    I HATE this show. I'm sick of being hit over the head repeatedly with what bigoted, homophobe I am and America is. Nothing like the books. They were fun. Too bad the director can't tell a story without bashing America and overloaded with sex and profanity.
  17. JennyT.
    Jun 30, 2009
    0
    This show was really, really bad. The characters aren't interesting, and the dialogue is overplayed. The overdone stereotypes certainly don't help give credibility to th storyline, and the whole show feels like a failure.
  18. LaurenS
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    I saw one episode, and didn't like it at all. But i understand that others do like it, i just couldn't get into it. I'm not blaming the actors, storyline, or the writer, but i just found that it was boring.
  19. CryseC
    Jul 31, 2009
    3
    I'm so disappointed with this. Being a big fan of a lot of vampire books and movies, I was really looking forward to this and there was so muc hype before the series started. I'm not sure how they could even compare it to the likes of such great shows as Dexter or the Sopranos. The acting is cringe-worthy to watch, the accents are terrible, the characters are generally comical I'm so disappointed with this. Being a big fan of a lot of vampire books and movies, I was really looking forward to this and there was so muc hype before the series started. I'm not sure how they could even compare it to the likes of such great shows as Dexter or the Sopranos. The acting is cringe-worthy to watch, the accents are terrible, the characters are generally comical even though I don't think they should be.I've heard the books are really good, which I can believe; I think this is just a very badly made show. I laugh every time the fangs pop out. They make this weird mechanical sound and the fangs look so fake, I don't know how the vampires can possibly appear scary. I'm hoping it'll get better so am still watching. It can't possibly get any worse. Expand
  20. JannyS.
    Sep 9, 2008
    1
    Bleah! Did no one else think that Paquin's performance was bug-eyed bizarre? Overacting, much? As a fan of both Alan Ball and Charlaine Harris, I was appalled. I made myself sit through the first episode in hopes it would get better. I won't be watching any more.
  21. AnandG.
    Nov 16, 2008
    2
    I've seen 4 complete episodes only because people keep telling me this show is really interesting. after 4 episode I can honestly say there are about 5 minutes where it didn't suck. terrible dialog, acting, storyline, and uninteresting characters. they need a nuclear bomb to go of in that down and move Bill, the only with some potential, somewhere more interesting. this show is I've seen 4 complete episodes only because people keep telling me this show is really interesting. after 4 episode I can honestly say there are about 5 minutes where it didn't suck. terrible dialog, acting, storyline, and uninteresting characters. they need a nuclear bomb to go of in that down and move Bill, the only with some potential, somewhere more interesting. this show is less interesting than john from cincinnati and that should say it all. Expand
  22. StephanieS
    Jun 9, 2009
    2
    Quite possibly the worst adaptation of book to show I've ever seen. The story line is not even close and major changes are made to the lore Harris created in the book. About the only similarities are the overarching thread of season one to book one (murders of fangbangers and vampire enthusiasts) but other than that the only things that are the same are the characters and the Quite possibly the worst adaptation of book to show I've ever seen. The story line is not even close and major changes are made to the lore Harris created in the book. About the only similarities are the overarching thread of season one to book one (murders of fangbangers and vampire enthusiasts) but other than that the only things that are the same are the characters and the settings. Sookie is nothing as I imagined to her to be (and the acting is terrible) except for blond. The only accurate casting was possible Eric and Pam but acting still leaves something to be desired as does the special effects. C'mon people! Buffy didn't have great quality graphics but yet they were more believable than this show's. I am truly disappointed. Expand
  23. RichieV
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    Probably the worst HBO show ever made! I was extremely disappointed with this show because I had high hopes. It played out like a really bad B horror movie...that wasn't scary. Horrible. Period!
  24. FrederickS.
    Sep 10, 2008
    3
    I cannot believe this made it on HBO. Trying to sound cool by using terms like "fang-banger" and phrases like "out of the coffin" are just stupid. (Spoiler below) I understand they are trying to make it seem real, but I can't take a series very seriously if the opening scene is a girl feeling "bored" enough to give her boyfriend some ...assistance in the pleasure department in their I cannot believe this made it on HBO. Trying to sound cool by using terms like "fang-banger" and phrases like "out of the coffin" are just stupid. (Spoiler below) I understand they are trying to make it seem real, but I can't take a series very seriously if the opening scene is a girl feeling "bored" enough to give her boyfriend some ...assistance in the pleasure department in their car. I don't care for sex, but sometimes, HBO makes it decent. I was bored to tears with all the random sex in this show, and there were so many scenes of it. Is this seriously what HBO thinks will beat Dexter and Californication? GEEEEEZ. They are way off. Don't waste your time with this piffle. In the words of Niles Crane, it's "piffle light." Stay away if you want to leave your brain cells intact, and lose them not to vampires but just ignorant TV-making. One final thought: the acting is TERRIBLE. Characters going from pissed off to happy randomly annoys me constantly. I could do a better job! Expand
  25. TomC.
    Sep 19, 2008
    2
    This show is the most pretentious dribbling sappy excuse for drama on television. The premise is trite with casting that scrapes the bottom of the barrel. I'd give this a zero if I wasn't such a die hard fan of Six feet Under (well at least the first two seasons). I've never read the books and after watching two episodes I don't think I ever will. If I was from the This show is the most pretentious dribbling sappy excuse for drama on television. The premise is trite with casting that scrapes the bottom of the barrel. I'd give this a zero if I wasn't such a die hard fan of Six feet Under (well at least the first two seasons). I've never read the books and after watching two episodes I don't think I ever will. If I was from the South I would be offended by the portrayal of hedonistic, judgemental, one dimensional caricatures portrayed here. Also, absolutely no chemistry with any of the cast members. I really want to know who is blowing the reviewers that are giving this show scores above a 5 (LA Times seems to be the last bastion of sanity.) Expand
  26. JoeB.
    Sep 22, 2008
    1
    This show is absolutely terrible. It is beyond corny, the acting is terrible (especially the fake southern accents), the sad thing is is that there is enough funding to keep this show on the air. To see this show get good reviews baffles my mind and I hope people begin to realize how ridiculous of a show this is. I keep laughing when I see fangs! THIS SHOW IS A JOKE
  27. KateS.
    Sep 22, 2008
    0
    High school drivel. Really terrible puns-they should be fined. Why do people put up with this crappy kind of tv?
  28. CyndeeB.
    Sep 24, 2008
    1
    I was really looking forward to this show being a huge vampire fan. The first episode was ok and I was looking forward to seeing more. The second episode was ok but slow and left me wondering what was the point of this series. The third episode really took a turn for the worse and makes me wonder what they are trying to do. I think the show has a lot of potential to be good or even great I was really looking forward to this show being a huge vampire fan. The first episode was ok and I was looking forward to seeing more. The second episode was ok but slow and left me wondering what was the point of this series. The third episode really took a turn for the worse and makes me wonder what they are trying to do. I think the show has a lot of potential to be good or even great but right now comes across as pornography with an attempt at a plot thrown it because it is expected. I have not read the books and this series does not make me want to read them. A friend of mine has read the books and stated they are very different from the show and cannot believe the author ok'd what they did to her world. Expand
  29. DianeM.
    Sep 29, 2008
    2
    Loved the books, Hate the show! Really disappointing, not anything like the wonderful Southern Vampire Mystery books. This could have been so great, what a bummer!!
  30. DustinC.
    Oct 28, 2008
    0
    Terrible acting. Terrible production values. Simply TERIBLE!
  31. FirstLast
    Nov 9, 2008
    0
    This piece of garbage series is nothing but a low grade soap opera veneered with pop vampire lore. It's not funny, it's not scary, nor is it even thought provoking. The shallow, crass character development reduces its characters to boring stereotypes. A complete and utter waste of time.
  32. MichaelEmersonFan
    Apr 3, 2009
    0
    The first episode of "True Blood" is an absolute train wreck. Where do I start? 1- The dialogue is unbelievably stupid and every word- instead of advancing the plot and allowing for character development- is astronomically expensive filler. Gratuitous F-bombs fizzle damply in every other line, although it seems as though the audience is supposed to be shocked by these fu-nannigans. Yes, The first episode of "True Blood" is an absolute train wreck. Where do I start? 1- The dialogue is unbelievably stupid and every word- instead of advancing the plot and allowing for character development- is astronomically expensive filler. Gratuitous F-bombs fizzle damply in every other line, although it seems as though the audience is supposed to be shocked by these fu-nannigans. Yes, we know.. it's HBO. People say "F-" and don't get bleeped out. What's new? 2- The actors take the most cliche interpretations imaginable, resulting in lifeless performances. In spite of this, the actors still manage to overact each sequence so painfully that it makes me want to shove forks into my eyes. 3- Above, I had mentioned such trivial things as "plot advancement" and "character development." I'm sorry. 4- I would have to say that the melodramatic musical sequence that plays whenever Suckie sees the vampire must be what they refer to affectionately as "comedic relief." Every show needs it. And this show needs something. Like an axe. Expand
  33. EmilyS
    May 22, 2009
    2
    This show seemed like it might be good, but it just seems to have gone down hill with each episode. The writers apparently have no idea how to deal with problematic characters other than just killing them. It follows Jason for much of the show simply having hallucinogenic dreams and sex and being far too stupid to live. There was no foreshadowing as to who the murderer might be, even This show seemed like it might be good, but it just seems to have gone down hill with each episode. The writers apparently have no idea how to deal with problematic characters other than just killing them. It follows Jason for much of the show simply having hallucinogenic dreams and sex and being far too stupid to live. There was no foreshadowing as to who the murderer might be, even though the main character can read minds- it seemed like they just picked him as the killer in that episode and made it obvious in the first couple minutes of the episode. Now it seems for the next season Jason has joined an anti-vampire church and so will continue being more stupid than ever and taking up time where we could be doing so many better things, like throwing salt in our eyes. Expand
  34. AndrewN
    Jun 14, 2009
    3
    This show is painfully weak in character and dialogue, nothing close to the powerhouse that 6 Feet Under was. I watch because I have nothing better to do and it gives me confidence in my own writing abilities that something so poorly crafted as this can actually get produced.
  35. BartH.
    Jun 23, 2009
    0
    I'm all for suspending my disbelief to enjoy a good story, but I honestly felt like the plot was starting to make me stupid. Time after time the I was forced to push the "I believe" button to overcome some scenario which defies any common sense logic.
  36. Martit
    Jul 17, 2009
    0
    Worst thing i've ever seen , accents are terrible , storyline is very poor , i watched first 4 eps to see if it got any better but will never watch anymore , chop it before it gets any more embarrassing.
  37. DinaW.
    Jul 26, 2009
    0
    Totally sucks. I am from the south. not from louisiana, though. i am very disappointed at the quality of acting, script, and story line. i have a lot of "stories" for sale that are much more entertaining and more specifically written like someone with a brain. Sorry, hated it!!!!!
  38. debbiep
    Sep 2, 2009
    0
    Not at all impressed with this show, it's sort of weird. The acting is not that great either. Won't watch again!
  39. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After hearing rave reviews from friends I decided to check the show out for myself. Now at the 8th episode and I'm quitting. I gave it a fair shot, but this show is hugely disappointing. The acting is very poor, there's an extreme reliance on sex/drugs to make the show seem "bad ass" and most of the plot/storyline seems to be pretty boring. There have been a few moments that gave me some hope and convinced me to continue watching but they ultimately fail in the face of all the other things that are wrong with this show. I've got nothing against a good Vamp film/novel, but when you start getting into Vampire blood being used as a drug ("V", really?) its a sure sign you need to come up with a new series... Expand
  40. May 23, 2011
    0
    A bunch of vampires now live in a small southern townâ
  41. Jul 18, 2011
    3
    Absolutely do not get the appeal of this show. Tried watching season 1 at many friends' insistence and found it to be extremely.....strange is really the only word I can come up with. This show is strange. In an after-viewing feeling of "what the hell just happened to the last hour of my life?" kinda way.
  42. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Seriously aimed completely at women. It felt slow and as if ever happened it was just cutting from scene to scene with mediocre acting. Worst bits for me were the constant music telling you how you should be feeling and the story line where they could just make up ridiculous solutions to problems scenarios they had created in the plot. My girlfriend however loved it .
  43. May 8, 2014
    10
    This SHOW is the best compared to Vampire Diaries(little kids show and of course virgin stupid girls) and the mos stupid show Twilight).This show posses the best character I could ever dreamed of : Eric,Godric,Bill, and Alcide...the best SHOW EVER
  44. jonathans.
    Sep 7, 2008
    7
    Good, but not nearly up to the standards of both Alan Ball's previous work and HBO's usually shining work. It just doesn't have the feel of an HBO production, nor of Ball. It has room to improve, but it already has the smell of cancellation. Which is unfortunate, because HBO just never gives high-talent shows time to develop (cough John from Cincinattie cough)-- I mean, if Good, but not nearly up to the standards of both Alan Ball's previous work and HBO's usually shining work. It just doesn't have the feel of an HBO production, nor of Ball. It has room to improve, but it already has the smell of cancellation. Which is unfortunate, because HBO just never gives high-talent shows time to develop (cough John from Cincinattie cough)-- I mean, if a show has huge, already assured talent behind it, just give it time to grow. Expand
  45. ANance
    Sep 7, 2008
    8
    Good first show, not great but definitely good. I love the story line that this potential laden show has laid out.. Definitely looking forward to next weeks episode.
  46. JasonS.
    Sep 8, 2008
    8
    Quirky, vibrant, and funny. A real breath of fresh air. Most TV shows are just by the numbers, recycled garbage. This show has great potential and I hope it gets the chance to fulfill it.
  47. Kyle
    Sep 8, 2008
    8
    I'm rating this based on the pilot and I must say.. it was quite good. Very different. And I'm sure it has potential to last. My only problem though; Couldn't they have chosen a better actress for Tara? Her accent is a bit obnoxious.
  48. JoeT.
    Sep 9, 2008
    7
    It's too bad the show hides behind all the vampire mumbo jumbo (or made it more implied). The pilot at least would have been served if it tackled issues of prejudice and depicted its Southern setting straight on. Maybe future episodes will justify the paranormal premise of the show.
  49. StevenS.
    Sep 9, 2008
    7
    It was better than I expected.
  50. aimeer.
    Sep 9, 2008
    5
    The Southern accents are terrible and the acting so so. It held my attention but mostly because I was so excited about the series. Kind of let down but am hoping it will take a turn for the better.
  51. HeatherC.
    Sep 10, 2008
    9
    The pilot was great! My only complaint is that Sookie has been dumbed down some from the books, but that may change as her character develops in the TV series.
  52. RolandB.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    Paquin is awesome...intriguing start.
  53. RamonaW.
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    Really enjoyed the first episode, and I am looking forward to seeing how the rest of the story unfolds as time goes on.
  54. TrinaF.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    A little bit of everything... violence, romance, fantasy, and a western all packed into one.
  55. KathyB.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    I loved it!
  56. ChrisC
    Sep 12, 2008
    4
    Terrible. I've heard more believable dialog in a Spongebob cartoon. The characters are all trailer trash stereotypes, and there's a lot of random gratuitous sexuality that has nothing to do with the plot and only seems to be there because it knows it's on HBO. It makes no original take on vampire mythology only to make them into a political special interest group. Very Terrible. I've heard more believable dialog in a Spongebob cartoon. The characters are all trailer trash stereotypes, and there's a lot of random gratuitous sexuality that has nothing to do with the plot and only seems to be there because it knows it's on HBO. It makes no original take on vampire mythology only to make them into a political special interest group. Very disappointing. The only thing even remotely redeeming about the show is the main character. Expand
  57. KarmaGirl
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    So far, so good.
  58. PaulG.
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    The two leads were a superb choice! Bravo, casting! I have thoroughly enjoyed the first two episodes. I agree that it has a unique feel for an original HBO production. I have not quite figured out why that is. Perhaps it is simply a product of the genre and nothing more.
  59. lisaa.
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    I think this is a great show. True blood is very seductive and intriguing.
  60. [Anonymous]
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    I've not read the Sookie Stackhouse books, but the first two shows have me riveted. The characters may start as caricatures of themselves, but the viewer quickly learns that there is more than meets the eye, and I expect that the series will take some very exciting twists and turns.
  61. LouiseR.
    Sep 15, 2008
    10
    I love this show what can I say it is great. Good job.
  62. tthomas
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    The best Vampire show ever created and one of the most interesting shows on HBO. I also have to mention the great acting, beautiful visuals and wonderful dialogue. This is a must see. Don't believe the critics. Don't let this be the next Firefly.
  63. Doug
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    A really fun show to watch. Tends to be on the campy side at times but overall a very good and very different tale of vampires.
  64. sherryk.
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    Sensual, sexy, steamy - each episode has kept me mesmerized. Can't wait for episode 3.
  65. LynnW.
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    Love it.....as good as Blood Ties....if not better.
  66. JJJ.
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    After Rome and Deadwood fell under the weight of there own production, i'm excited about another provocative show on HBO that I can Obsess about.
  67. JoyC.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    I feel hypnotize when I watch this show. Sookie and BIll have this intense chemistry which makes the show so captivating. It's also pretty damn funny.
  68. MicheleB.
    Sep 17, 2008
    8
    I like the general principle behind the series. I like the Sookie and Bill characters. I do not like Jason or Tara, Jason is a horndog in the books, but not that stupid. Tara is just plain over the top mean.
  69. BrittneyS.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    It has everything you need in a show. I bet it gets better and better!
  70. MitsuH.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Fantastic acting, interesting idea of integrating vampires into the everyday lives of Americans, great combination of funny and threatening scenes. Anna Paquin is luminous and expressive, and the entire cast is doing a stupendous job. First-rate all around.
  71. JessicaD.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    I love this show. I like that fact that is not you typical vampire show. Its, its almost like real life. Nothing stupid like turning in to a bat and wearing a cap. Its great
  72. EliseS.
    Sep 18, 2008
    8
    I love the series...I have already bought the Tshirt...I am a dreamer and I love Vamp movies...this is a great mix...its great and I love Anna P and Ryan is fresh...another HBO hit to me.
  73. SL
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    Love the swampy, steamy setting and the unnerving, unsettling feeling you get from watching. Never know what's round the corner, facinating, mysterious and I've watched both episodes twice, can't wait to see more.
  74. lisap.
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    Very enjoyable. An hour well spent. Dont screw it up HBO!
  75. DebraR.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    I am a huge fan of Charlene Harris' series of books and this show was awesome. I can't wait to see what else you come up with over the course of the next 11 episodes.
  76. CyndiS.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this show.
  77. RachelW
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    HBO has needed something new and exciting since Rome. This is even better! Excellent!!
  78. zaragh
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Love it. i watched each episode 5 times and i can't wait to see more.it;s so far one of the best shows I've ever seen.
  79. JoshD.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    I can't believe there are big name papers that aren't giving this show the full credit it deserves. I thought the show is a sexy, scary and modern view of the century old concept of the vampire. I look forward all week to find out what happens next. I love it!!
  80. AlianaB.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Fabulous show - each character interesting and so well played. Love Moyer in this role. I'm hooked.
  81. LauraM
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Sookie and Bill's chemistry is the hook of this show, and I'm completely obsessed--keep up the romance!
  82. HeatherW.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I think some people are going into this show with there eyes closed. They are so use to the glamuor the Blade and Underworld have put on the vampire world... At least TrueBlood puts the dirty and not so pleasant views of what vampirisum. It should not always be so intriguing.. the bad side of it needs to shown and Trueblood does that...
  83. WilliamN.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Finally something to watch after Deadwood, Rome, Six Feet Under, etc. Great TV! And a very sensual fantasy world portrayed.
  84. LINDAL.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Love it. Really true to the books and great casting!!!!!
  85. CourtneyP.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Love it! So addicting, and vampire mythology is hot.
  86. JenniferL.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    A lot of fun to watch, the stars are magnetic.
  87. AM
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I loved this show. I can't wait to see the next episodes. I am also planning to get the books. I am so glad it got picked up for a second season. Some critics didn't like it, but, as anyone knows, never trust what the critics say. If they don't like it, it must be good!
  88. Gary
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    The negative reviewers must have wanted a replay of "Six Feet Under" and must not be evaluating this show on its own merits. It is great.
  89. DeborahJ.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    I love this show!! True escapism.
  90. TaraG
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Best new show of the season!
  91. ThomasL.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Astonished at the creativity of the show, always look forward to the next weeks episode, getting all my friends into watching it.
  92. ChristinaM.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    I watched this show out of curiosity and fell in love. I watched the first 3 episodes back to back and I can't wait for the 4th. The show has that side of fantasy mixed with reality that I think really draws people in. Not all the characters are amazing, but the season just started so I'll give them time to develope more. The main characters, Sookie and Bill, are wonderful. The I watched this show out of curiosity and fell in love. I watched the first 3 episodes back to back and I can't wait for the 4th. The show has that side of fantasy mixed with reality that I think really draws people in. Not all the characters are amazing, but the season just started so I'll give them time to develope more. The main characters, Sookie and Bill, are wonderful. The strange attraction between the 2 really makes you want to watch more. I can't wait for the rest of this season and seasons after! Expand
  93. R.DamienW.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    I Like the taste of this fresh HBO series, and I must have more(fangs pop out)...I feel like I am getting "glamored" because like Sookie I just can't turn away from it, and I feel real guilty because the show is so dang sinful and wicked, but it is just so interesting. Lord, forgive me, but I have set my DVR to record.
  94. JarvisM.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    REALLY A 10!! - I'm just leaving room for the series to surprise me!! - This is easily the BEST show on TV right now!! - The Vampires are mixed so realistically into the human world it'll almost make you start wondering about your real-life neighbors!!
  95. DonnaB.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    LOVE IT!! LOVE IT!! LOVE IT!!! Keep going, can't wait too watch every week! THANKS HBO!!! Was waiting for a good horror show like this!!!
  96. LisaN.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    I love this show. Bill is great I hope her really isn't leaving after 5 shows I can't wait until Sunday!!
  97. RhondaR
    Sep 25, 2008
    6
    I tend to like fantasy. And, I do like the story concept and interaction/chemistry between the lead characters. However, I feel that the amount of gratuitous sex is way over the top. I have already started to fast forward the DVR when they start. Still, I'll keep watching for a while to see if they can remedy this and the sometimes flat narrative.
  98. JasonP
    Sep 26, 2008
    8
    Great show, always left satisfied and wanting the next episode. Absolutely love the Southern Gothic vibe. I think the characters are fascination. I love the sex aspect of the show (we Americans are just so prude, I love that people with varying sexual appetites are being shown). And quite possibly the best title sequence/theme song for any show I have ever seen.
  99. CandyP
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    Not bad so far... not bad.... long time vampire fan.
  100. LisaL.
    Sep 26, 2008
    7
    I'm a true southerner...born and raised and I can't help but think of Elvis every time "Bill" says "Sookie". "Tara's" accent is just way off....I don't know what she's trying for but it's not working! Writing....for the most part, I'm hooked. But when Moyer's Compton said it was "magic" keeping him alive....I just laughed. Couldn't he just of I'm a true southerner...born and raised and I can't help but think of Elvis every time "Bill" says "Sookie". "Tara's" accent is just way off....I don't know what she's trying for but it's not working! Writing....for the most part, I'm hooked. But when Moyer's Compton said it was "magic" keeping him alive....I just laughed. Couldn't he just of said something like "an unknown power"? I mean, how lame is "magic"? Not sure I would have cast Paquin...she's just not as attractive as I think she needs to be. I believe the attraction from Sookies standpoint, but what really does Bill see in Sookie? Sure, she's not affected by his "glamorizing" and she did save his life, but what else? Maybe she reminds him of his long lost wife? Can't wait to see what's up with that Dog! Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.