• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
True Blood Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 653 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sookie Stackhouse comes to television in the Alan Ball adaptation of Charlaine Harris' Southern vampire series.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. 90
    After watching five episodes, I can say True Blood stands out as one of the strongest new series in an uncertain fall.
  2. 88
    Part mystery, part fantasy, part comedy, and all wildly imaginative exaggeration, Blood proves that there's still vibrant life--or death--left in the "star-crossed lovers" paradigm.
  3. 80
    True Blood is an unlikely but irresistible mixture of pungent political satire, observant pop sociology and lurid drive-in thrills.
  4. 60
    Even though the second episode of the season isn't structured very well, with lots of rambling talk about nothing, even though the show lacks the tightness and the natural momentum of "Six Feet Under" (and the weight and the intensity, for that matter), True Blood is still odd, unpredictable and off-kilter.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    The supporting players aren’t nearly as interesting initially as the intense bond between Sookie and Bill, though they do keep the first few installments busy, including some nicely gratuitous sex, adventures in the Viagra-like effects of vampire blood and a tepid murder mystery.
  6. 50
    It’s not surprising that Ball gets the mixture wrong a fair amount of the time; what’s surprising is that it’s possible for such a strange gumbo to work at least some of the time.
  7. 38
    HBO's new series from death-obsessed Alan Ball, creator of the legendary "Six Feet Under," whose new show True Blood, won't so much make your blood run cold as it will leave you cold.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 240
  1. ML.
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    The best vampire show I've ever seen. Wow, this show is totally addicting. Nice mix of drama and social/religious/political satire. Very funny at times, but also sad and moving sometimes. A little different from the books which are also great. The characters are a pretty believable, and many of them remind of me of people I know. It's not perfect, the accents are a little fake, and it's a mystery why Eric's hair doesn't grow back when he cut it(my girlfriend loves him but wishes they had left his hair long). They overdue the sex scenes sometimes too. Still, overall one of my favorite shows of all time. There's not many good Vampire movies or shows, so it's a refreshing change. Expand
  2. NancyH.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best shows on television right now. Alan Ball is amazing, but Charliane Harris' imagination to create this world is unreal. Kudos to the all of the actors on this show, they all do a great job with restrained emotion to help not make this series meleodramatic, but intriguing, and exciting. Expand
  3. R.C.
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    True Blood is the only show that I want to air like a soap opra. I love it. the show is great. keep them coming.
  4. KarmaGirl
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    So far, so good.
  5. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Very nice show indeed. Most of all, the characters will keep you occupied. Its not a show that makes you laugh all the time, but it still somehow makes it all fun to watch. Expand
  6. mariashavzin
    Dec 21, 2008
    7
    I like the show, but I haven't watched the ending. I really like Bill, Rene, and Jasons new girl Amy. I absolutely HATE Sam, and often fast forward thru scenes with him in it. Sam realy has that short male complex were he has to prove something. Tarra is hard to take, but I can deal with her. It depends on how this season ends wether ill be seeing it next season. If sam dies, ill watch for sure. He is obviously the collie. In fact he acts like a collie. He certainly isn't anything better.Maybe a shetland pony. Expand
  7. KateS.
    Sep 22, 2008
    0
    High school drivel. Really terrible puns-they should be fined. Why do people put up with this crappy kind of tv?

See all 240 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.