Under the Dome : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Under the Dome Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 421 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A small town in Maine is cut off from the rest of the world in the miniseries based on Stephen King's book of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 24, 2013
    88
    We could all use a good summer TV diversion around now, and if tonight's entertaining, intriguing premiere turns out to be a fair guide, Dome could be just what we've needed.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Based on the pilot episode--with its taut script, strong performances and special effects that are impressive without being overwhelming--there’s hope that Under The Dome might measure up to its unsettling print progenitor.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Not only is it creepy, suspenseful and full of splendid special effects, veteran actors and fresh young faces, but it's laced with big thoughts about environmentalism and the future of the planet.
  4. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The pilot establishes an eerie claustrophobic dread, and well-budgeted special effects add intensity. [1 Jul 2013, p.35]
  5. 70
    You don't immediately sense how all of the characters are connected or how they might eventually become connected--most of the pilot is scene-setting and mood-building--but what's onscreen is compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    It remains to be seen whether either will merit watching for a full season but the pilot does exactly what it should: It intrigues and makes the case for viewers to come back next week for more.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 11, 2013
    38
    Series creator Brian K. Vaughan's adaptation is yet another tepid melodrama, in the tradition of the recent Bates Motel, in which every creative decision appears to have been made in a trendy bid to appeal to the viewer's crotch.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 133
  2. Negative: 68 out of 133
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Under the Dome was the series that I waited the most and hoping to be good, after being disappointed with Bates Motel, Under the Dome pleasedUnder the Dome was the series that I waited the most and hoping to be good, after being disappointed with Bates Motel, Under the Dome pleased me, it was well written, well directed, well acted and the dialogue is good, everything is good so far, I think it is going to be a blast. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    A very good one, the history have a few good twists, unfortunately I think it will be out of ideas quickly but it manages to keep the interestA very good one, the history have a few good twists, unfortunately I think it will be out of ideas quickly but it manages to keep the interest almost all episodes in the first season. Collapse
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    I haven't read the book yet but I'm already disappointed on how the show delivered suspense and thriller (I heard the book has a darker tone).I haven't read the book yet but I'm already disappointed on how the show delivered suspense and thriller (I heard the book has a darker tone). Although the plot is unique, the characters failed to justify it. I'm not saying they're badly acted. I just hated how the character's behaved. On a brighter scale, Under The Dome has good visual effects and a lively atmosphere. I hate to say this but I'll still watch the 2nd season because I'm just dying to know what will happen next. Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    This is one of those instances where a show gets worse episode by episode. It suffers from two common network TV flaws: 1) the premiseThis is one of those instances where a show gets worse episode by episode. It suffers from two common network TV flaws: 1) the premise demands resolution but the series is open-ended. So you get episode after episode with teasing plot threads that go nowhere. 2) the writing is mediocre. Standard melodrama stuff. Under the Dome would have made a much better miniseries. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    After watching the first two episodes I couldn't understand how Stephen King who I believe is an above average author would create such aAfter watching the first two episodes I couldn't understand how Stephen King who I believe is an above average author would create such a simplistic and silly plot. King usually creates quite lifelike and vivid characters, not the kid's play that I saw on television.

    So I bought the book...and I can tell you that the series is a not even close to what I've read until now. Well, there's a dome, yep, they got that one right. And some of the character names are the same. But that's basically it.

    It's exactly what one would expect from network television these days. A water-downed plot, a few pretty faces and over 10 million people tuning in every week...
    Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2013
    1
    What a poor and distasteful interpretation of Stephen King's suspenseful novel. Even if you have not had the chance to read the novel pleaseWhat a poor and distasteful interpretation of Stephen King's suspenseful novel. Even if you have not had the chance to read the novel please do not make your judgements of the book based off of your like or dislike of the show. It's an extremely loose adaptation at best. The show only preserves the names of the characters and the concept from the original text. The show aside from the book is a pathetic example of quality television and writing. Within the first 30 minutes of the first episode we're introduced to too many characters through too much poorly executed exposition with cheap dialogue delivered by stale acting. How this show is gaining popularity is beyond me however, after the second episode and reviews from the latter it's proving to be a faulty showing standing on brittle legs ready to collapse at any minute. I have a feeling that after a few more episodes the cracks will bust and the show will completely fall apart. Don't waste your time with this show just hope that maybe a few years down the line real writers and a progressive network will pick up the book and do it justice. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    0
    Under the dome has progressively got worse. I read the book and enjoyed the first few episodes but now it is just predictable and boring. IUnder the dome has progressively got worse. I read the book and enjoyed the first few episodes but now it is just predictable and boring. I personally facepalm a minimum of 5 times each episode. Ignoring the fact that 60% of the things that happen don't even make any sense. "Sandstorm occurs and if somehow the winds hit every wall the dome gets clogged, and setting up a tiny fan to shoot water 5 meters saves the city in 1 min flat." that is just plane stupid. I had high hopes for this season 1 but i cant bring my self to watch the next episode. Expand

See all 133 User Reviews

Trailers