• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 19, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 19, 2012
    67
    The toughest part of most new series is coming up with characters that the viewer will want to watch for weeks, if not years, on end, and they've already licked that part of it. We'll see if the rest follows.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Jan 13, 2012
    67
    A template house-party plot and goofy supporting characters end up steering it toward something more predicable. [20 Jan 2012, p.71]
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 13, 2012
    63
    Not all of Unsupervised's jokes stick their landing, and the content is on the crude side. But I'm willing to check up on Gary and Joel every so often to see how they're acting out while growing up.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 17, 2012
    60
    Although light on laughs, with its spare design and limited animation Unsupervised does create a reasonably cohesive, grimy little world, made tolerable by the absence of actual kids.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 19, 2012
    58
    Unsupervised might induce at least a small handful of smiles per episode. But only if its mood strikes you.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 19, 2012
    50
    It's disappointing this animated series is so tame.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 17, 2012
    42
    Unsupervised is a cheerier, less nihilistic "Beavis and Butt-head Lite," and not remotely as funny or trenchant.
  8. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 20, 2012
    40
    When the series works it's when Long and Hornsby invest their characters with counter-intuitive hope and positivity.
  9. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Jan 19, 2012
    40
    Unsupervised appears content to amble along, reiterating what we've seen before.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 18, 2012
    40
    In "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia" the raunch is often funny, though, while in Unsupervised it's mostly off-putting; the show's concept and its tone seem to be at odds with each other.
  11. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jan 18, 2012
    40
    A gross-out cartoon. Fans of "Archer" likely won't sit still for the more juvenile antics of Unsupervised.
  12. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 18, 2012
    40
    There's no sophisticated humor in FX's Unsupervised, which plays like a less witty "Beavis and Butt-head."
  13. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 17, 2012
    40
    Unsupervised doesn't explore emotional story threads. It's mainly a Beavis and Butt-head echo.
  14. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 18, 2012
    38
    Unlike "Archer" or "Sunny" or FX's "The League" and "Wilfred," Unsupervised refuses to go for the throat. And that makes it unfunny.
  15. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 18, 2012
    25
    Unfortunately, no amount of tweaking can save Unsupervised from itself. It's just a sad waste of good intentions and great talent.
  16. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jan 18, 2012
    25
    You partially feel guilty about criticizing a show that boasts so much talent, is so well-meaning, and yet misses the mark entirely, but I defer to the gurus on this one: Uh–huh-huh-huh-huh, this sucks.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This show is a great example of one of the many problems with the world today... nobody has any patience. It doesn't go for the jugular with cheap yucks and silly one-liners. Instead, it builds its characters slowly, and the payoff, if you stick with it, is great.

    If fact, I would argue that shows like the Simpsons and early Futurama would have never lasted today. They would have taken too long to build an audience. But once you get into the characters, the sky's the limit. And these are some great characters, especially the two main kids and their three main peers at school.

    Kudos to FX and the Sunny guys for having the balls to try something like this. I hope it works.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I love this show. The jokes are hilarious and the characters are good and the Stories are just as good as any other show. My Favorite Character is Russ. I could watch that show every night. Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    3
    Really I had high expectations for this show, it's seems like a I'll conceived toilet and childish humored show that is a bad attempt to be dare I say south park, the characters are completely mindless and dimwitted toons thats soul purpose is to get laid not only that but I saw the show to lack humor or entertainment it's just a messy and dirty show which I thought would be violent and more suggestive because of the TV-MA-LSV rating but not at all entertaining like Archer, this show is a poor excuse of adult animation and the
    humor and subject matter seems like something coming out of a mindless kids show. It's seems to me like a bad rip off of Beavis and Butthead on crack and not in a good way
    Full Review »