• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 22, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Veep Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vice President Selina Meyer (Julia Louis-Dreyfus) seeks a larger role after her successful midterm election appearances.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 12, 2013
    100
    Veep is the single most improved series on television.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 11, 2013
    88
    Louis-Dreyfus's performance--which, like Congress, can be divided into two houses, Crackling Charm and Hysterical Ego--still drives the show, but we're getting more realistic sense of political gamesmanship. [22 Apr 2013, p.45]
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    The show is smart--smarter than most on network television--and it has life.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Apr 3, 2013
    75
    The wit is rapid-fire, and keeping up with Louis-Dreyfus as she sprints between appointments, all shaken up like a soda bottle about to explode, is good fun. But the humor is so meta, it's easier to find yourself thinking "This is funny" than actually laughing.
  5. Reviewed by: Luis Sanchez
    Apr 10, 2013
    75
    The cast's highly attuned instincts for knowing when to press complicated dialogue into kinetic banter and when to dial back to find the subtlety in a one-liner joke is what keeps Veep's humor vital.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 12, 2013
    60
    Veep offers uncomfortable comedy at its most sardonic.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 9, 2013
    50
    Season two yields modest improvement thanks to shrewd cast additions, augmenting the pleasures of Julia Louis-Dreyfus.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After the first season of Veep ended, I was really looking forward to the second season premiere. We were able to enjoy two extra episodes and an outstanding season finale. My favorite episode was in this season and i think I watched it about ten times. Veep is one of the funniest show on television--once they win the Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series, they will be the funniest show on television--and I can't wait for season 3, and the return of the some of the funniest people on television, with Julia Louis-Dreyfus as the funniest woman ever to be on television. With the possibility of at least two more seasons, with POTUS leaving the ticket, I wouldn't be surprised if we see Selena as president by or before the series finale which I hope to not see anytime soon. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Funny, funny show. I thought season one was great but season two has me laughing out loud. Take a new twist on being in the white house. Highly recommend to those of you who were Seinfield fans back in the day. Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    An encouraging and noticeable improvement over its previous season, Veep shines as a typical HBO comedy with the bonus attraction of the magnificent Julia Louis-Dreyfus. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    The second season didn't disappoint at all! It's still hilarious, smart, and at times unbelievably ridiculous (in good ways). Veep will be on the air for a long time if the comedy keeps being at high level like this. Collapse
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Tragically underrated, Veep is a hilarious and witty political satire featuring a brilliant performance from Julia Dreyfus, along with excellent supporting roles from the rest of the cast. The humor works best within its more subtle jokes and references, and for those who love a strong script, there's always something going on to laugh at here. Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    10
    Season one was OK... Season two however, thus far has been downright hilarious!! The entire cast is really delivering the goods this time around. Absolutely love it!

    How any critics gave this a low score and bad review completely baffles me!? Hopefully HBO wont cancel this one, like so many others in recent years...
    Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    So glad VEEP is back! One of the smartest comedies on television. Julia Louis- Drefus delivers each line with perfection. This is a fast paced office like comedy with nonstop laughs. The writing is incredible. I will often watch each episode twice and I always discover a new joke the second time around. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.