Veep : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 22, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 187

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 19, 2012
    6
    Less biting than it should be, this will be a series to watch from time to time based on the talent of its ensemble cast. I can't see it growing to anything more than that, but who knows?
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    5
    I tried to like this show but I couldn't. The first 5 were unbearable. Unfunny and unintelligent, I laughed maybe 3 times in total. The next five episodes were better, I laughed a lot more and the stories were interesting. Julia Louis Dreyfuss is good, but she is really just playing a variation of Old Christine. The rest of the cast are also good. In fact the acting from everyoneI tried to like this show but I couldn't. The first 5 were unbearable. Unfunny and unintelligent, I laughed maybe 3 times in total. The next five episodes were better, I laughed a lot more and the stories were interesting. Julia Louis Dreyfuss is good, but she is really just playing a variation of Old Christine. The rest of the cast are also good. In fact the acting from everyone involved is good, the major problem for me with this show was the writing. I don't want to sound like a prude, but all the excessive cursing ruined it for me. I normally have absolutely no problem with profanities, but this time it just didn't work. It just didn't fit with the rest of the dialogue, it felt like overkill. I just didn't understand why everyone was insulting each, I get that it's like a dog eat dog world but how is insulting your colleagues going to help you. In all its a alright show with some funny moments, but nothing special. It's not "In the Loop" kind of funny (haven't seen "In the Thick of It"). 5.5/10 Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2016
    5
    Its a lot more difficult to make someone laugh than to cry so comedies should be given a little more leeway than dramas as a rule. But not carte blanche either. In Veep there is very little laugh out loud moments but plenty of smiles. Basically Seinfeld crossed with the West Wing, Politicians staff manipulating media is a cliched trope and over exaggerated. Its not like that in reality andIts a lot more difficult to make someone laugh than to cry so comedies should be given a little more leeway than dramas as a rule. But not carte blanche either. In Veep there is very little laugh out loud moments but plenty of smiles. Basically Seinfeld crossed with the West Wing, Politicians staff manipulating media is a cliched trope and over exaggerated. Its not like that in reality and its a bit boring to watch it for the umpteenth time on a TV show. Actors are very good in this show but the writing just ain't. Average Expand
  4. May 9, 2012
    4
    Julia Louis-Dreyfuss is as divine as always, and the supporting cast seems game, but not one character (save maybe Selina's daughter) is remotely likable. While there is a good chance that is true of the real-life Washington, it just doesn't make for very enjoyable or entertaining TV.
  5. Apr 24, 2012
    4
    I think this show has potential to grab a hold of viewers, but if the pilot is any indication, Veep is in some serious need of new writers. The jokes just don't seem to come together like they should, which is why the "F" word is used to help give the characters lines the extra funny that they need, it's called compensation. I think this is a new world record? a whopping 25 "fucks" andI think this show has potential to grab a hold of viewers, but if the pilot is any indication, Veep is in some serious need of new writers. The jokes just don't seem to come together like they should, which is why the "F" word is used to help give the characters lines the extra funny that they need, it's called compensation. I think this is a new world record? a whopping 25 "fucks" and "fuckin's" in a pilot episode. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Apr 27, 2012
    40
    She's not funny, the aide is told--a line that elicited in this viewer a stream of unstoppable thoughts about what was not funny about this show, which is a lot, all of which ended up pointing, inexorably, to its writers. What saves the show is Ms. Louis-Dreyfus's Selina.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Apr 23, 2012
    80
    Veep is a show, though, that finds great comedy in the space between that idealism and the reality they face every day.
  3. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Apr 23, 2012
    80
    In its focus on such details, the show finds humor in the contradiction between the staff's renowned arena and the petty ways they get things done.