• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 14, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 14, 2013
    0
    Even in a year that has given us clunkers like The Mob Doctor, Emily Owens, M.D. and Animal Practice, it's tempting to declare Zero Hour the worst or at least silliest show of this or any other recent season.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 13, 2013
    10
    The acting is half-hearted, the characters are paper thin, and the dialogue and plot development are embarrassing. It’s as sophisticated as “Jonny Quest.”
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 8, 2013
    25
    It hyperventilates when it means to be breathless. [18 Feb 2013, p.44]
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 12, 2013
    16
    Preposterous, ridiculously earnest, poorly scripted and laughably acted, this is the series that Anthony Edwards chose to re-enter prime-time after a long tenure as one of ER's main men. He should've stayed in bed.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 13, 2013
    30
    Zero Hour, while initially tantalizing (priests, Nazis, Anthony Edwards, an unholy birth, a secret map--I'm in! I'm in!), is more than a little disappointing (flat-footed dialogue, absurd plot machinations, cardboard main characters, ludicrous historical leaps--I'm out! I'm out!).
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 13, 2013
    0
    Zero Hour was rancid when it got here. The dialogue is stilted and almost entirely expository. The plot is like receiving a coloring book that’s already been colored.
  7. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Feb 14, 2013
    10
    We’ve seen this over and over again: a series built around an elaborate concept, dressed up with a spooky mythology, then filled in with characters so poorly conceived, they may as well be called Kidnapped Wife Lady.
  8. 20
    Without Anthony Edwards's unpretentious intelligence anchoring Zero Hour, I doubt I could have gotten through ten minutes of the pilot without gnashing my teeth in annoyance.
  9. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Feb 14, 2013
    38
    This overly ambitious series tries to do way too much and ends up doing nothing particularly well.
  10. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 14, 2013
    0
    Hapless, feckless, goofy, dumb: take your pick of adjectives, that is Zero Hour.
  11. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 4, 2013
    0
    The first 12 minutes are enough to bury it, though given the shoddy acting, overwrought dialogue, and poor production values, it's easy to imagine that 12 full episodes would in fact bring about the end of time itself.
  12. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    10
    Zero Hour, like many of its fallen drama brethren, does the opposite, building layer after layer of false mystery around cardboard characters.
  13. 30
    Zero Hour is a terrible show. But for viewers who long to mock or hate-watch and for "Da Vinci Code" fans who like to be dragged along on a crazy ride to Crazytown, Zero Hour is a hoot.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 12 out of 29
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The Zero Hour is a cerebral thriller which requires background knowledge and an enjoyment of history. If you are under 50 then this will probably not be a story line that you can relate. The premier is a good warm up and I hope like a lot of shows that once the cast works together for awhile and the writers get comfortable with the story line that both will improve. I liked the cliff hanger ending of the first one and hope that each week it leave me wanting more. Full Review »
  2. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    While watching the pilot, I couldn't help but roll my eyes. It's a poor man's "Da Vinci Code" with a completely outlandish premise, cardboard and uninspired acting, and hackneyed writing. The writing of this is eerily reminiscent of the poor writing of the last 5 episodes of Last Resort. This is another in ABC's line of "shows" that would have been better served as a mini-series rather than a serialized drama. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    I feel like this show is a mix between Davinci Code and National Treasure, which as stated below intrigues alot of us with complex minds for mystery and ancient concepts. Overall it seems as though the show will get cancelled since not many are giving it a chance but I think the concept of the show is amazing the casting and publicity may be at flaw but worth giving a few more episodes before negative judgement. Full Review »