Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 449 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizing your world is part of the fun. Create cool patterns for clothing or furniture, build new structures in your town, design gardens and museum displays, and so much more. Time passes in the world of Animal Crossing just as it does in real life. Celebrate holidays and see the seasons change. Meet new visitors or get gifts from your neighbors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf represents not only the pinnacle of the series, but also the ingenuity of the life simulation genre.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    97
    It’s not something that you can marathon, it’s not something you can “beat,” and going in without those expectations will ruin it for you. Its portable nature, plus all of the extra features that they’ve been adding since the first game on the GameCube make this not only the best game in the series, but also a perfect starting point for newcomers.
  3. 90
    The definitive version of one of the best feel-good franchises ever.
  4. 90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf is a beast of a game, featuring hundreds of hours of open-ended gameplay. If you were turned off by the lack of structure and real goals in previous Animal Crossing games, nothing here will change your mind.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    New Leaf is a truly magical game. It is the best entry in the series yet.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    84
    New Leaf has an addictive bent unmatched in most other titles, and it will keep those even mildly interested coming back for days and days.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A new leaf has not been turned. Rather, an old dog is on display. Faithful, loyal, and hard to dislike, but you know what it can do already.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 105
  2. Negative: 4 out of 105
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Much different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so much smoother and better in every way! The whole game seems happier and Nintendo really listened to its fans. It may sound silly, but being able to sell all your items at once or have the owl appraise all your items at once saves a ton of time and is so convenient! No game is perfect, but this is so close! 9.9/10 Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    This is one of my favourite games on my 3ds and I love it! Everything is perfect and it has a very cute charm to it! If your new to ACNL and love to customize things then this is a perfect game for you! Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am completely new to the Animal Crossing series. Up until this game, I had no prior knowledge of this series or what to expect when getting New Leaf. All I knew was that it was a life simulator with cute animal people in it.

    I ended up getting far more than I could have ever imagined. Your town and your people are ALIVE, make no mistake. This game is packed with little details and small charms all over the place that will make anyone new to the series say "Wow, really? I wonder what else will happen..."

    Your villagers are intelligent, they know what goes on around them and will comment on it. Your town grows over time, day by day, very slowly. Relationships develop, buildings rise, seasons change and villagers move in and out. There are over 300 possible citizens for your village, and you can only have 10 at a time. This is a painful kind of potential where you want to see as much as you can, but you'll only get there with time.

    It's much more than a slice-of-life simulator. It's literally another life, all to yourself, where you're in charge and these little animal people look up to you to make their town the best in the world. After a week, you may find yourself getting a deep-seated feeling for your little town and it's people, smiling at some of the things they say and hopefully getting a little chuckle out of it sometimes too.

    Daily routines are common, but somehow not repetitive or boring. There's plenty of options for things to do if something doesn't suit your mood that day, or you can just do nothing at all! This game has literally no obligations tied to it, and it makes for a very therapeutic sort of relaxation game. Go fishing. Plant some trees, water some flowers. Or just gaze at the stars.

    The possibilities are endless, and no two people will ever have the exact same town.

    I don't think I could have picked a better time to dive into the Animal Crossing series. $40 well spent; I'll be playing this game for years to come.
    Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Animal Crossing New Leaf Review

    Originally Posted at
    http://www.yeahyeahcool.com/2013/08/09/animal-crossing-new-leaf-for-the-nintendo-3ds-review/

    by: Carla Valdes @Karluccia

    Animal Crossing has been a staple of Nintendo’s games since it first debuted for the GameCube back in 2001. The newest offering Animal Crossing New Leaf delivers the same addicting gameplay with many new additions to keep you coming back for more.

    If you have never played Animal Crossing, the basic idea involves you living and interacting in a small town where the other residents are these adorable animals that want to be your friend. The home you live in is expandable and you can fill it with furniture collections and knickknacks. Your day is spent doing errands for your animal friends, catching bugs and fishing for bells. Because the game is in real time, as you go throughout your day so does the life in the town. Time and seasons change and occasionally there are town events like fishing tournaments or fireworks display.

    New Leaf has brought a more extensive and personal touch to the gameplay. Here is just a small list of the many new additions:

    The first player who moves into your town gets to be Mayor! Their duties include town ordinances and public works with the ability to spruce up the town with benches, flower clocks and other decorations.
    Expansion to the museum with a second floor that allows you to create your own showcase.
    New stores including shoes, a coffee shop where you can work part-time, and Club LOL that features nightly entertainment.
    Travel by boat to a cute island to play mini games and buy island or mermaid themed furniture.

    This is definitely a game for collectors, and as a collector of things, Animal Crossing New Leaf taps into my OCD with gusto! I do recommend checking out the Strategy Guide, either in book form or online, to keep track of your collections. As for the game play, I wish they had added more to the monthly events and happenings since they seem to be on the skimpy side. But even with that tiny complaint, I still find myself checking in daily with the animals to see if they need anything, going shopping to find out what’s on sale at Nooks and stopping by the Roost café for a cup of coffee made with care by Brewster the pigeon. He knows my preference too, Mocha blend with 2 sugars and a little cream. Aahhh..perfect every time.

    A-
    Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Definitely the best Animal Crossing so far. It's really easy to enjoy and relaxing. All the features work how you want them to. A game you can pick up for a few minutes just to kill some time. Although, it would be nice if the shops opened earlier (without having to use Early-Bird Ordinance) and the mayor had more power. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Animal crossing never fails to disappoint, the New Leaf for the 3DS is much smoother, graphically beautiful and diverse than Wild World was on the original DS. The gameplay mechanic of being the mayor has much to improve upon, but it has made a start none the less. I do feel this game could do better with exclusive events and DLC, as to me, the game does kind of get boring, slow and even tedious as you start to expand your house to the point where it costs hundreds of thousands of bells... Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    If your a classic traditional Animal Crossing Fan like me. You may find the game wanders away from the original game. You become the mayor of your chosen town which strays away from staring from the bottom as in other Animal Crossing titles such as City Life and Wild World. I felt disappointed with the game and felt the 3D in the game felt as if it was a gimmick.
    4/10 Poor Check Out My other reviews
    Expand

See all 105 User Reviews