Bit.Trip Saga 3DS

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    72
    Colourful and entertaining minigames with retro feeling.
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    70
    The mixture of varying styles throughout the entire Bit.Trip Saga package is enough to keep fans of rhythm games content thanks to it proving to be far more than a run-of-the-mill music-based product, instead being a wonderful combination of great tunes and intriguing genre-splicing.
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    70
    Only 6 mini-games in this compilation but if you like Pong and old school experiences, you will be excited to meet the very famous CommanderVideo.
  4. Mar 26, 2012
    70
    Bit.Trip's carefully poised fusion of old-school difficulty and retro-futuristic aesthetics won't be to everyone's taste, but anyone with an interest in distilled arcade design owes it to themselves to at least have a go.
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    70
    The new control variations offer a fresh spin on the games, and despite looking absolutely amazing on the small screen of the 3DS, the frame rate issues do end up bringing down the overall experience a bit. Ultimately, BIT.TRIP is still one of the best gaming series to come out of this generation, but you can't help but feel that this 3DS compilation could have been much better with a little more polish.
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    60
    Bit.Trip Saga may be lacking in frills, but it certainly isn't short on thrills. Granted, there are occasional problems with the 3DS controls, while the lack of extras compared to the Wii release is a little disappointing, but overall Bit.Trip Saga is an entertaining collection of games well suited to the small screens of the Nintendo 3DS.
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    It's not the ultimate sendoff for what may very well be the end of the series, but another chance to put my fingers through the Runner gauntlet is worthwhile.
  8. Sep 21, 2011
    50
    Bit.Trip Saga, the 3DS set, is certainly disappointing in that it's more of a bare bones grouping of the titles as opposed to the Wii compilation.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    3
    I've been putting off this review for quite some time and for good reason. My significant other purchased, played and clobbered the originalI've been putting off this review for quite some time and for good reason. My significant other purchased, played and clobbered the original bit.trip games for the Wii console, and I was looking forward to getting my hands on them as well in the portable format I so greatly prefer. I've actually grown attached to the soundtrack in its entirety, being a fan of some hardcore electronica, glitchcore, and 8-bit symphonic. I don't think I've ever been quite so let down in my life by anything. I've since even played through the originals in the console, and to call them significantly better is somewhat of an understatement. FATE is completely unplayable, since I'm left handed, and no effort to give those like me any chance at it was made whatsoever. Worse yet, it's by far one of my favorites of the series. RUNNER has a similar unplayability. A tiny amount of lag changes much of the timings, and said lag only gets worse as one plays. Even turning off and leaving off the 3D functionality entirely doesn't end it, prevent it or even limit it much. If you want to play the bit.trip series, stick with the Wii version, and pass this up. Just like I said of Sega and the Sonic Classics collection, I say deservedly for bit.trip saga on the 3DS: If you're going to do it, do it right, or just don't do it. Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    The Bit.Trip series has always been a shining example of a great indie game, and being able to play any of the bit.trip games portably on aThe Bit.Trip series has always been a shining example of a great indie game, and being able to play any of the bit.trip games portably on a Nintendo DS is a pretty awesome thing. Bit.Trip Saga gives you all of the great bit.trip games in one place, and then puts some pretty impressive 3d through it as well. The games all run smoothly, and the 3ds controls work great - especially those changed to use the touch screen. The 3d is subtle - about as noticeable as in the 3d classics games, but still great quality. The Games are all fantastic, but this compilation suffers from a lack of extras. Bit.Trip complete on the wii contains bonus levels for all the games, and comes bundled with the soundtrack, as well as containing video extras, but this collection is simply the games. Overall, a great game. Full Review »
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    The wonderful joy of 6 bit trip games... from home to home... And now you can play all six bit trip games on a hand-held device, without theThe wonderful joy of 6 bit trip games... from home to home... And now you can play all six bit trip games on a hand-held device, without the need of a cable. And with a downloadable version of Bit Trip Saga which got released on December 20 for only $15, it will be a deal price with five games all together. Rather then that, the game starts with Commander Video, the protagonist. Some of these games will become your favorite. Others won't be... mostly Bit Trip Void is people's least favorite.(Void is my favorite game) As you go through the adventure of Commander Video, you will either cry or laugh(depends if you love him or not) at a certain point... It's a sad part... But this game is worth it, for a low price. This game is a fun and interesting game, but if you want more stuff like art and challenges, you should get the Wii version, called 'Bit Trip Complete.' Full Review »