Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 15 out of 30
  1. 48
    You'll complete the game within a couple of hours, with little more to do than unlock self-gratifying awards.
  2. Mar 28, 2011
    46
    Even at the discounted price of 30 dollars, this is clearly the wrong move to bust on a new platform.
  3. 45
    Bust-A-Move Universe is a great puzzle game, but unless you're a big fan of the series or a die-hard puzzle fanatic, this is a senseless purchase. You can find similar games online for free or, inevitably, for much cheaper on the 3DS download platforms (when they launch).
  4. May 13, 2011
    40
    An oldie but a goodie. Alas, also a shortie. [May 2011, p.50]
  5. May 12, 2011
    40
    Considering that the 3D visuals and the two game modes don't raise the bar as many had hoped and expected, Puzzle Bobble Universe will only appeal to real hardcore fans of the series. If you're not among them, look for one of the many flash versions of the game available through the web.
  6. May 12, 2011
    40
    Puzzle Bobble Universe has a great lack of content and it's missing both multiplayer and regular leaderboards. The game is also very easy to beat, extremely short and a bit hacky feel in the control, although some of the core gaming is still fairly solid.
  7. May 10, 2011
    40
    The pre-historic puzzle-animals Bub and Bob shoot bubbles in three different dimensions this time, which really says it all. The game has no multiplayer modes, doesn't use the unique 3D-capabilities and can be finished in a few hours. The game simply isn't worth your money.
  8. May 1, 2011
    40
    Easy to understand and addictive in small portions, but extremely short on content and no multiplayer.
  9. Apr 25, 2011
    40
    The 3D effect itself, cheerfully rotating its wheels in the background, does absolutely nothing. [Issue#108, p.116]
  10. Apr 5, 2011
    40
    Bust-A-Move Universe – from the puzzles to the music – feels stale. There simply are not enough new features to warrant purchasing it.
  11. Apr 12, 2011
    33
    A tiny game that costs full price.
  12. Mar 30, 2011
    33
    Bust-A-Move Universe stops just shy of being an irredeemably terrible game, but it's certainly not good.
  13. May 4, 2011
    30
    We have played many times this game. It hasn't news and the use of the bad 3D is an excuse to sell it. Short, ugly and boring. It's not the funny puzzle that it was.
  14. Apr 20, 2011
    30
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Apr 2, 2011
    16
    With features actually removed from what the last DS game was like, only 80 levels of play, and no use of anything but a serviceable 3D effect from the new Nintendo hardware, Bust-A-Move Universe has broken down.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    By far the worst Bust a Move Game ever made. It has less features and content than them dam GAMEBOY COLOUR Bust A move, to say nothing of the Ds or Ps1 games. The Vs computer mode is gone, multilayer is gone, and single player is about a 1/10 of the length it is in other games, without difficulty levels to improve the experience. Every single new mechanic this game introduces is poorly convinced and poorly tested. This game offers absolutely nothing over any other Bust a Move, and its existence is rendered redundant by the DS games. I cannot recommend this game to anyone, unless all the copies of the ds games disappear from existence. Even then, its still outclassed by every other Bust a Move Game. which is just sad. A 3ds game should have more features than a GBC game that is at least a decade older, and shouldn't be so utterly terrible compared to a PS1 game released in 1996. Full Review »
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    0
    Terrible. Absolutely terrible. The game is very boring and brings nothing new over previous versions. Without any online play capabilities, you will get tired of it very quickly. Full Review »
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    5
    Believe it or not, this was the game I was most looking forward to at launch. This is because my only other experience with the Bust-A-Move series was the stellar DS version (Bust-A-Move DS, not the more recent B-A-M release). The reason I love the DS game so much is it's robust multiplayer options and the fact that you shoot your bubbles via the touch screen like a sling-shot. I expected it to be more of the same, only in 3D, and to have this game for the life of my 3DS system, like I did and do with B-A-M DS.

    What I got was a very barebones game with NO touch screen controls and NO multiplayer. The game controls with the D-pad and shoulder buttons, which I assume is how all other B-A-M games control other than the DS version. This would be great if it were all I knew, but it's not. Knowing that there's a much more fun way to play was very deflating. As far as the lack of multiplayer goes, that's a crime. I believe head-to-head has been a part of the series for some time now, and with the great multiplayer offered in the DS version, it seriously just makes me sad because this game is such a wasted opportunity.

    On the plus side, it does adequately function as a Bust-A-Move game, and the 3D graphics look cool and colorful. As far as features go, this game is seriously lacking. There are two main game modes and some metals or something to collect for meeting certain criteria. However, these metals do nothing. In closing, stay away from this game at all costs. With Bust-A-Move DS able to be played on your new 3DS system, you'd be better off playing that and enjoying yourself, knowing that the added 3D graphics aren't worth all you'd have to give up.
    Full Review »