Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion 3DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This Cartoon Network Fighter is a crossover fighting game featuring the stars of Ben 10, Dexter's Laboratory, PowerPuff Girls, and more.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. 75
    A wonderful example of how to make a good Smash Bros. send-up. It's not quite as polished as Nintendo's premier fighting franchise, but it is a fun experience with an entertaining and interesting single-player mode, as well as amusing multiplayer, if you can find the people around to play it.
  2. Nintendo Power
    May 6, 2011
    70
    Punch Time Explosion is not a trendsetter; that's for certain. But with no portable Super Smash Bros. in sight, it's a likeable interpretation that will curb your cravings--or start them anew. [May 2011, p.89]
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    70
    Solo fighters can also duke it out with the CPU, but the real draw here is CNPTE's surprisingly fleshed-out story mode. Lightning-quick combat, loads of unlockable characters, fun stages that effectively capture the flavor of the source material, and varied challenges should keep fans absorbed throughout. It's not about to rob Smash Bros. of its championship belt, but it's still a thumb-blistering good time for anyone who can claim to have spent a few couch-bound afternoons soaking in Cartoon Network's unique brand of boob-tube fare.
  4. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Mar 19, 2012
    56
    Shows promise, but the combat hasn't been fine-tuned carefully enough. [Apr 2012, p.94]
  5. Nintendo Gamer
    Feb 26, 2012
    52
    A passable clone of Nintendo's classic brawler is undermined by a frustrating single-player mode. You're better off waiting for the real thing instead. [Feb 2012, p.97]
  6. May 29, 2012
    50
    Super Smash Bros in all but name, this basic fighter just doesn't do enough with its fighting engine or character-rich licence.
  7. May 29, 2012
    40
    If you watch Cartoon Network during the day you may like it, if you prefer their Adult Swim shows avoid.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game was a huge surprise, because I thought it was just going to be shovelware based on all the different cartoons in the game. After sixThis game was a huge surprise, because I thought it was just going to be shovelware based on all the different cartoons in the game. After six hours deep into the storyline, I realized that Punch Time Explosion was not an attempt for the creators to make a quick buck. The game has great production value, great gameplay, and awesome wi-fi multiplayer (even though my roommates are better than me).

    We used to play a LOT of SSBB, and when we started playing Punch Time, it brought back some great memories. The game has a good range of characters that are nicely balanced. I actually like that the makers of the game followed some of the rules that Smash did. Your damage percentage goes up during a fight, which will make you fly farther off the arenas. The characters have Smash attacks that can be timed to do a lot of damage. I wish Smash was on 3DS, but since it's not, you can at least play Punch Time. It's easily the best smash fighter out there on 3DS.

    They definitely chose the best characters from Cartoon Network. Samurai Jack and the Powerpuff Girls are probably the best fighters, in my opinion. However, my roommates tend to use Dexter, Grim, Ben10, and Numbuh One the most. You'll have to play the game to find your best characters.

    The reason why I'm giving the game a 10, is because it's a brand new title on a brand new console, and offers quality art and gameplay. I was getting bored with playing Street Fighter, because I had already played it to death on 360. Of all the original titles for 3DS, this is the best one.
    Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    If you ever wanted a smash bros game but with different characters other than nintendo, then this is the game. The gameplay feels exactly likeIf you ever wanted a smash bros game but with different characters other than nintendo, then this is the game. The gameplay feels exactly like smash but in my opinion movement control of the character is even better. Every character has their unique traits, speed, attacks, movement, so you can find a character that matches your style of gameplay. The graphics are right at the top of 3ds games, it has a lot of detail and animating stuff going on which some 3ds games do not. The music matches each cartoon level you play in and the end song on credits is hilarious. The game in general has a lot of the CN charm and funny stuff. The story mode is really good with a great story behind it and i cant stop playing the multiplayer battle mode. when friends come over thats all we do is battle it up against each other. I havnt put this game down since i got it. Get this is game if you like smash bros type of game and want a great story mode as well! Collapse
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    After reading many of the negative reviews online and from Game Informer which gave it a 4 out of 10.... But when my gamefly account startedAfter reading many of the negative reviews online and from Game Informer which gave it a 4 out of 10.... But when my gamefly account started up again I decided to pick it up. I am about 2 hours through the story mode. The game is pretty solid with good platforming(despite what others say) and combat that isnt as polished as it could be but good enough. The graphics are good and the 3d does make it look great and it has no frame drops. The roster is made of a variety of characters and each with their own move sets. The story itself is solid and does a pretty good job at changing the scenes and characters. The amount of different scenes is very good and varies from cartoon to cartoon. multi player is also a plus since it has Download play, vs cpu and vs player local. The only real error I can find in this game is the terrible voice acting and sounds in general. While some characters do sound fine most of them seem off even with earphones. The explosions and other noises tend to be low quality and the only thing that didnt hurt my ears was the narrator,but this problem can be easily fixed by turning your volume off. So overall this is a very solid 3DS brawling and will help kill off your bordom till better games come out and eventually they bring smash brothers to the 3DS(it has been announced). Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2014
    5
    Horrible Super Smash Bros Clone! I mean it! What´s the point to unite all of your favorite characters from TV and copy the smash formula ifHorrible Super Smash Bros Clone! I mean it! What´s the point to unite all of your favorite characters from TV and copy the smash formula if they can´t get it right? Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    5
    A decent game. if you are a cartoon network fan, you will love it. The Gameplay is alright (Not even close to Smash Bros.) . The 3-d aspect isA decent game. if you are a cartoon network fan, you will love it. The Gameplay is alright (Not even close to Smash Bros.) . The 3-d aspect is fantastic and adds to the game. The main problem though, is that this is the most glitchy game have ever played. You can't go through 30 minutes without the screen freezing up in story mode. The game was a let down for me. Without the glitches, would've given this game a 7, but sadly the glitches make an otherwise good game... suck. Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2016
    5
    It's Super Smash Bros. for Cartoon Network fans. Get the real games starting with the latest installments on Nintendo 3DS and Wii U instead ofIt's Super Smash Bros. for Cartoon Network fans. Get the real games starting with the latest installments on Nintendo 3DS and Wii U instead of buying this. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2015
    0
    The worst game that ripped off Super Smash Bros. series. Very painful graphics, Horrible music, No online, **** GAMEPLAY, Shortest length toThe worst game that ripped off Super Smash Bros. series. Very painful graphics, Horrible music, No online, **** GAMEPLAY, Shortest length to beat the whole **** game, Bad cutscenes in story mode, Same controls and a lot of **** GLITCHES. I RATE THIS 0/10, **** DISASTER. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews