• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Code of Princess is an action RPG brawler for Nintendo 3DS with cooperative and competitive multiplayer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    93
    The gurus at Atlas have once again graced us with a fantastic piece of gaming art. If you own a 3DS, then you owe it to yourself to try this great game.
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    80
    With a simple gameplay but that leaves us always wanting play more, an appealing visual look, and modes that guarantee entertainment for many hours, this is certainly another great game for the Nintendo 3DS's catalog.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    75
    A really interesting new addition for the Nintendo 3DS eShop game library. An extremely engaging beat´em up experience despite its issues.
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    70
    Code of Princess is a fun and funny fantasy brawler that's unfortunately hampered by technical issues.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    69
    Beyond the winning localization and expert voice acting, though, playing through this adventure just felt lacking – its various unique ideas and innovations never came together to create a real sense of fun.
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    60
    This could have been good, but the visual chaos on-screen is really a shame.
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    30
    The JRPG genre is ripe with overused characters and plot points worth joking about, but the game's lazy mish-mash of half-assembled ideas rarely made me laugh. Code of Princess wants to be a clever parody, but it never rises above the level of shameful mockery.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of the only games from this generation that I feel deserves a 10/10. At first glance, I thought it would be just another one ofThis is one of the only games from this generation that I feel deserves a 10/10. At first glance, I thought it would be just another one of Fatlus' JRPG games like all the rest. And I'm sure a lot of you felt the same. I bought this game originally just for collecting and archiving purposes, but instantly fell in love after I gave it a chance.
    Everything about the game is light hearted and goofy. And that is a great change from the usual pace of realistic dark and grimy shooters we have this days. But it doesn't ruin the combat a bit. The combat in this game is very deep and also fun. If you are a fan of fighting games, you will be able to pull of combos very easily.
    The dialogue is captivating. I haven't felt inclined to watch cutscenes in years. The characters are cool, interesting and have a lot of depth. I was also very impressed with the voice acting. Not a lot of 3DS games actually have real voice actors, just text to tell the story.
    On top of all that, this game has infinite replay value. 50 unlockable characters, all with their own stats you can customize to your playstyle, plus tons of unlockable items that do a variety of things.
    And the multiplayer. I don't know what to say, other than this is the best game to have on the 3DS if you want to play with friends.
    This is a must have game for any 3DS owner. Even if you don't like anime, trust me, you will enjoy this game thoroughly.
    Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome!... I have sunk about 10 hours into the game and am still captivated by the game play. The combat system is simple butThis game is awesome!... I have sunk about 10 hours into the game and am still captivated by the game play. The combat system is simple but deep executing the right moves at the right time to chain together combos takes skill and practice. The game plays more like a fighter than it does a brawler. I wish there were more depth on the rpg elements not they are shallow in anyway but i would have like to have seen more done with the weapons system. I can see why they didn't though the game is filled to the brim with content whether it be unlocked characters, online game modes, single player game modes etc. I could go on forever. I have had no frame rate drops and only had a lag issue in one match of the 30 or so ive played. The graphics are smooth and animations are seamless as well. This game is worth every penny of the 40$ price tag. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    This is probably one of the best 3DS games I've played in a long time. Story mode is pretty awesome and the dialog is quite well written andThis is probably one of the best 3DS games I've played in a long time. Story mode is pretty awesome and the dialog is quite well written and funny. Voice actors are great too! The gameplay can be pretty challenging at times, but you can grind yourself up to the right level when you need to. I also like how you can play as different characters in both story mode and free play. Only issue i have is with the frame rate at times, but it doesn't really take away from the experience for me. A must have for any RPG fan. Collapse
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    TONS of characters with full voice acting, all with different play styles, and a charming story. Everything I'd expect from an Atlus game.TONS of characters with full voice acting, all with different play styles, and a charming story. Everything I'd expect from an Atlus game. Kept me busy for hours. Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    7
    An action RPG with a charming cast of characters, each playing differently from one another, a good action-oriented gameplay (which slows downAn action RPG with a charming cast of characters, each playing differently from one another, a good action-oriented gameplay (which slows down occasionally) and a goofy plot that never takes itself too seriously. The game progresses through missions (which lack variety) that seldom are hard to complete; little to no grinding required (still some micro management on equipments and status though). The coop and vs mode increases the longevity of the game. The perfect example of "good but not great" game for me. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    Great graphics, decent combat (although sometimes repetitive), and a mediocre story. The RPG mechanics are well done for the most part.Great graphics, decent combat (although sometimes repetitive), and a mediocre story. The RPG mechanics are well done for the most part. Several characters to choose from (you gain more along the way) and each can be individually leveled and geared. Combat consists of simplistic inputs similar to smash bros. However, technical issues mar this title. Frequent slowdown and input lag, in addition to some low quality audio (the static!) get in the way of enjoying what could have been a great game, that is now simply a "decent" game Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    Absolute trash. Voice acting is the worst I have ever heard. Story and characters are utterly atrocious. Gameplay is only fun for the firstAbsolute trash. Voice acting is the worst I have ever heard. Story and characters are utterly atrocious. Gameplay is only fun for the first couple hours. Graphics and character animations are embarrassing. The turn animation was more fluid in the Castlevania games for the DS. Complete crap, start to finish. If you dig action/rpgs, go with Kingdom Hearts. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews