Colors! 3D Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Colors! 3D is a simple yet robust painting application that combines ease of use and powerful painting tools.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    100
    I'm no artist, but I had fun with Colors 3D. Even though there are a couple things I wish were incorporated that were not, checking out the gallery made me realize the potential of this program. For only $6.99, it's definitely one to recommend to pass the time if you like to draw and paint.
  2. This is a wonderful piece of software for creative types.
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    90
    With plenty of options, great tutorials and an easy-to-master interface, Colors! 3D is the 3D painting application 3DS owners have been waiting for.
  4. 90
    This is SwapNote for artists. I highly recommend this app, and I think it will develop a big following among the 3DS artists out there.
  5. May 20, 2012
    90
    Colors 3D is no doubt one of the best applications to grace the eShop and if you have an interest in drawing and art in general, you'll love it.
  6. May 28, 2012
    87
    Impressively slick. [July 2012, p.87]
  7. May 22, 2012
    80
    Colors 3D is a very good application for 3DS that will allow the most talented to develop all kinds of work related to painting and drawing.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    A fantastic drawing application with many layers to make 3D pictures, you can even make animation in it if you get the hang of it. There are aA fantastic drawing application with many layers to make 3D pictures, you can even make animation in it if you get the hang of it. There are a fantastic amount of tools for you to use. There is also a massive online community built into the application where you watch watch tutorials and look at how everyone's drawings are done for inspiration. Expand
  2. May 6, 2012
    10
    Amazing its one of my most fav apps on 3DS

    love online gallery its great place see other artists works and show off you own:) the interface
    Amazing its one of my most fav apps on 3DS

    love online gallery its great place see other artists works and show off you own:)

    the interface is simply and great to use

    and its worth every penny:D


    enough said:P
    Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    A relatively cheap way to have fun, whether or not you are a good artist. There's a lot you can do with the app and the layering to add 3D toA relatively cheap way to have fun, whether or not you are a good artist. There's a lot you can do with the app and the layering to add 3D to the drawings really make more room for creativity. You can have up to 5 layers, and the controls for colors! 3D are very easy to use. Worth the $6.99 it costs. Expand
  4. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Great drawing app. Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app. Great drawing app Great drawingGreat drawing app. Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app. Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing appGreat drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Great drawing app Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    I remember playing this on my DS that had a flashcart. It was one of my favourite home-brewed pieces of software out there. Fast forward a fewI remember playing this on my DS that had a flashcart. It was one of my favourite home-brewed pieces of software out there. Fast forward a few years: it's great to see it get full official support and become one of the best apps on the 3DS! It's really easy to use and the 3D effect is really good! It's like a mini Corel Draw/Photoshop in your pocket, minus the $500-900 pricetag! Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THIS DL IS TO LOOK AT THIS (and watch the "video" that shows its creation):ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THIS DL IS TO LOOK AT THIS (and watch the "video" that shows its creation): http://colorslive.com/details/81294-Lion_Couple_by_Richtea87.php. Also, I am not saying just anyone can accomplish that phenomenal painting, but the point is that it shows the ability of Colors! 3D. If you are an artist, you can make a masterpiece and finally show it in 3D (to a point, there are 6 "layers" of depth). It isn't great for making an object seem like it is moving from one plane to another, but it is amazing when you are trying to put objects behind or in front of another. Just look at some of the forestry that people have made and you will 100% understand the awesome potential of this for artists. Those lions were CREATED on the 3DS and look that flawless. The possibilities are endless. I think for true artists used to one-dimensional painting/drawing, this could be a game-changer. This is a new medium, and to call it anything less is denying where this could eventually lead. I, by no means am, but I have been mesmerized by painting after painting in the gallery. Some would rock considered what tiny screen they were created on even in 2D, but some people have truly embraced the possibilities of still 3D art. And for $6.99, I cannot be missed if you have a 3DS. You'll spend more time looking at other people's work than making your own in some cases, and it still will be worth far more than you paid. Collapse
  7. May 9, 2012
    8
    This is not a game, this is a painting application. Just thought i'd get that out of the way first so there's no confusion. that being said,This is not a game, this is a painting application. Just thought i'd get that out of the way first so there's no confusion. that being said, it's a rather robust and somewhat intuitive painting application and the inclusion of painting in 3d (which is actually more like slices akin to the multi-planar camera from animation days past) is pretty darn good! IF you don't have an artistic bone in your body and you can't even draw a stick figure to save your life, avoid this application as you're probably going to consider it wasted money... IF, however, you like painting/drawing or you're keen on learning, it's certainly worth considering. the screen size is a bit of a trade-off for portability but that's a rather small price to pay in my personal opinion. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.