Dead or Alive: Dimensions 3DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dead or Alive: Dimensions Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DEAD OR ALIVE Dimensions takes the vivacious characters and locales that have made the DOA franchise a hit with gamers everywhere and presents them in eye-popping 3D. All of the punches, kicks, counters and holds that have defined the series as a top-tier fighter are present for the firstDEAD OR ALIVE Dimensions takes the vivacious characters and locales that have made the DOA franchise a hit with gamers everywhere and presents them in eye-popping 3D. All of the punches, kicks, counters and holds that have defined the series as a top-tier fighter are present for the first time on a portable gaming system - the Nintendo 3DS®. DEAD OR ALIVE Dimensions features some of the best content from the series spanning all of the titles from the original DOA up to DOA 4. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. May 28, 2011
    91
    Having played both Super Street Fighter IV and Dead or Alive Dimensions, DOAD is far superior is our books and is easily one of the best fighters available on any portable console. The gameplay is flawlessly fun and even though we have seen it all before, this may be the fact on home consoles but not in the portable world of gaming. The developers have included enough fan service to make any Dead or Alive fanboy or girl glee from joy but best of all, it's got the gameplay and the graphics.
  2. Nintendo Power
    May 6, 2011
    90
    Within the launch window of the Nintendo 3DS, we've gotten two--Dead or Alive Dimensions and Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition--and they're the two best games in the handheld's library so far. [May 2011, p.84]
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    Playing Dead or Alive again has been a highly enjoyable journey of rediscovery. The more time I've spent playing it, the more I've remembered why I've really enjoyed the series over the years. It's a really fun fighting game that's easy to pick up and play, features some great characters, and delivers some very satisfying moments, especially when you pull off a huge series of moves that look spectacular, or punch someone off the top of a particularly high area so they fall to their death.
  4. May 22, 2011
    80
    Dead or Alive: Dimensions is a solid entry into the classic fighting series whether you're a fan or series newcomer. It's just as fast, responsive and enjoyable as past iterations, with far more balanced movesets and counters; a visually appetising, impressive fighter particularly for a game released in 3DS' launch period.
  5. 80
    Dead or Alive Dimensions fully justifies the interest of fans or new players. The way the various events are presented in story mode is able to maintain the interest of both.
  6. May 30, 2011
    75
    Dimensions' bosomy action-figure characters are as devoid of moral perspective as a box of Legos with circles drawn on them. Like Legos, though, they're fun to play with.
  7. May 20, 2011
    50
    I spent a lot of my time waiting, begging, willing the game to spread its wings and fly. But it never left the ground. A real shame.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. May 28, 2011
    10
    Great graphics,great gameplay , with the slide pad feesl like a big console game, could have been a little harder but besides that I thinkGreat graphics,great gameplay , with the slide pad feesl like a big console game, could have been a little harder but besides that I think it is great, to me the best 3ds game so far Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2017
    10
    Great game, but most of the reason I give it a 10 is because of the Japanese box art, just look at it, very sexy and I wish it was kept in theGreat game, but most of the reason I give it a 10 is because of the Japanese box art, just look at it, very sexy and I wish it was kept in the us version of the box Expand
  3. May 24, 2011
    10
    The graphics and gameplay are clean, and the storyline mode was actually enjoyable. Internet match mode was simple enough to access andThe graphics and gameplay are clean, and the storyline mode was actually enjoyable. Internet match mode was simple enough to access and despite early testing reports of framerate issues, I have seen none while running full 3d. If you're only going to have one fighting game in your 3ds library, I recommend this over any other... unless Super Smash Brothers comes out...

    All the bounce of the previous DOA in the palm of your hand... wait, that sounded dirty.
    Collapse
  4. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    A great game of fight for Nintendo 3DS. It has a clean, powerful and spectacular graphs, is full of options and moves and seems brilliant. TheA great game of fight for Nintendo 3DS. It has a clean, powerful and spectacular graphs, is full of options and moves and seems brilliant. The indispensable fighting game for Nintendo 3DS. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    Dead or alive dimensions continues the series only being available on the 3ds.
    for followers of the series this game turns out to be a
    Dead or alive dimensions continues the series only being available on the 3ds.
    for followers of the series this game turns out to be a surprisingly well put together addition to the dead or alive series.

    both as a fighting game that actually plays well runs smoothly and looks great with or without the 3d turned on. Recommended if you are looking for a fighting game that is easy to get into but
    difficult to master. Great for beginners ok for pro fighters. the only point i could find was that a switch difficulty option is only available in the free play mode. were you set everything from the difficulty to the background stage and character costumes . The game contains enough unlockable content and game modes to keep you busy for a good 20hours or more. Overall a quality 3ds release. playing in the dark with the 3d switched up the characters almost jump out of the screen. one of the best 3ds release games.
    Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2011
    8
    The graphics of them game are generally very attractive and is one of the best looking games on the Nintendo 3ds thus far. The gameplay isThe graphics of them game are generally very attractive and is one of the best looking games on the Nintendo 3ds thus far. The gameplay is fluid although the addition of the touch screen input for combos becomes more of a hinderance than a perk when playing the game competitively it is better to use the buttons and nub which work quite effectively and fluidly with the game. The 3D effect is quite solid within the game, however this is hindered by frame rate problems which won't greatly ruin your experience unless playing online, frame count drops from around a sleek 60 to around 30 - 40 fps. Which is not ideal. The modes themselves are great and although the narrative isn't the best within the story it is still very effective at adding play time to the game itself. There is also a few other modes like arcade, time attack, survival , training and an online mode respectively. The real challenge within the game itself comes from the tag mode which towards the end requires real skill to pass the challenges. There is the use of streetpass and spotpass within the game, these features are very solid with the streetpass giving ghost data to fight against and spotpass giving challenges and new costumes for characters. The final problem with the game however is it's online mode which is very inconsistent and may take you ages to find a game. More often than not once your connected there may be some minor lag which is not at all good for a 3D fighter which plays at this pace. Graphics: 8
    Presentation: 7
    Story: 7
    Gameplay: 7
    Longevity: 10
    Expand
  7. May 2, 2015
    0
    I HATE THIS GAME!!! one of the worst fighting games i have ever played 'oooo but it has samus and ridely' I DON'T CARE THE GAME SHOULD BEI HATE THIS GAME!!! one of the worst fighting games i have ever played 'oooo but it has samus and ridely' I DON'T CARE THE GAME SHOULD BE BURIED LIKE ET don't buy it it's crap there are mechanics that are fun, but then they go ahead and get rid of them as if to say, 'what he likes that? well lets get rid of it before he enjoys himself' they are even lazy in cutscenes giving characters no lip sync as if it where an anime but then decides 'hey lets add lip sync' it's dumb, even the gameplay is stupid, your opponent can perform theese crazy combo moves so i'm like 'hey i wanna do that, that looks cool!' but then you check the moves list and find out they don't exist... yeah they let the AI do the combos but not you?!?! street fighter does it and everyone loves it, mortal kombat does it and everyone loves it, virtua fighter, smash bros, ect ect ect! why do the devs think to do this? also the difficulty curves are ridiculous! for instance in tag team if you die you get one more revival which is cool! i'd like more games to do that! and then the AI is easy but next round you don't get a revive and the AI is stupidly OP all the ones before ryu and hayate are easy if you stand there they don't attack but ryu and hayate are relentless they don't stop attacking block almost every move and worst of all you don't have your revival thing you had before? it's dumb i don't get it and this game was released to celebrate 10 years of DoA? well what a stupid way to celebrate get your franchise you're celebrating and ruin it. it's dumb i hate it 0/10 Expand

See all 28 User Reviews