User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 8 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    I think this game is one of the best side scrolling games out there. The touch controls are well thought out and remember that this is a painting game based on drawing and deleting the artwork. I am addicted to saving the Disney characters and following the story as it unfolds. I think this game is under rated and needs to be acknowledged for what it is, a sequel to the best Disney game from the 80's Mickey Mouse and the Castle of Illusion. This game is a worthy sequel and I give a special thanks to the creators of this game for taking the risk and releasing this game as a tribute to the original. Thank You for this game. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Power of Illusion is very much a sequel to Castle of Illusion, which is very obvious within 10 minutes of playing it. Not only does it reference it, it goes even deeper than that, though I'll leave that for you to discover so I don't spoil it for you. Some have expressed that they didn't care for the controls, as they felt floaty to them, but I assure you that they're no different if your memory of Castle of Illusion is clear. I played through a few levels of Castle of Illusion 2 days ago before writing this review to compare and contrast, and I was shocked by how faithful Power of Illusion is to Castle of Illusion. While yes, you do have the paint and thinner mechanic that wasn't in past Illusion games, everything else about this game is a faithful recreation of the gameplay. Also, this game looks absolutely stunning. The 2D art is phenomenal. The 3D effect shows off each layer of this beautiful world. Power of Illusion's quite the looker. I wish there were more 2D games like this these days.

    As you can see by my review, I really enjoyed Power of Illusion. I can understand if someone doesn't like the pain & thinner portions since those weren't in past Illusion games, but I think it's unfair to pan an overwhelmingly enjoyable game just because of one thing you didn't like. Open your mind, heart, and go on a trip with Mickey. Give it a chance.
    Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Great old school 2D action game, for veteran gamers this game will take you back to the beautiful 2d scenarios with a mix of 3d graphics, the music is also awesome, nearly a must have 3ds game
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    60
    A beautifully crafted game on the surface but is ultimately crippled by its core gameplay mechanics and short length.
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    75
    You will get a bitter taste in your mouth of wanting more.
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    Polished, thoughtful, and joyful. [Feb 2013, p.79]