Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    While attempting to be innovative, Dream Trigger 3D fails to keep me engaged. Its horribly steep learning curve, combined with repetitive gameplay when you finally master it, makes this a game I'd rather avoid.
  2. Jul 31, 2011
    40
    An interesting and original shooter, but one that never has enough ideas or challenge to justify the price of admission.
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    40
    Dream Trigger is a novel experiment that starts off refreshing, surreal and unique, but it's too content to regurgitate the same tricks and never evolves past its base mechanics. New coats of paint can only mask so much before it grows tiresome.
  4. May 16, 2011
    40
    The big reason why this game received a two out of five, though, is because it crashed multiple times at random moments, forcing us to restart the system. Bottom line, we find this unacceptable.
  5. 30
    A frantic shoot 'em up that throws new ideas at you constantly, but ends up punishing the player with an unfinished quagmire that wont appeal to anyone except perhaps the most dedicated genre fans.
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    30
    Dream Trigger 3D tries to offer its player an original mix of shooting and puzzling, that's supposed to please the hardcore gamer on the 3DS with abstract worlds and a high difficulty. Unfortunately the game is unclear, unfair and simply unplayable, which's why it's actually interesting for no one.
  7. Jun 1, 2011
    30
    Dream Trigger features some really unique and original gameplay ideas - maybe a few too many for its own good - and ultimately tries to do too many things at once, overwhelming the player with its rather steep learning curve. Toss in the barrage of game crashes and you're left with a game that had a lot of potential that was never in the vicinity of being reached.
  8. Jun 27, 2011
    25
    Dream Trigger 3D is off-putting and inaccessible at worst when coupled with the difficulty level and crude production values. If this game had a more casually approachable tone and a greater focus on one core mechanic (or two simple and complementary ones), then there might have been a great game here. As it stands, it's a muddled nightmare, in 3D.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. May 11, 2011
    10
    Let me make it clear. you do NOT need to look at the bottom screen to play the game. I'll glance at it if I need to see where a pesky bogie isLet me make it clear. you do NOT need to look at the bottom screen to play the game. I'll glance at it if I need to see where a pesky bogie is hiding, but otherwise I avoid it and just put down my Sonar Pings with A. I'm really enjoying the game. The gameplay is intense and the levels are just amazingly surreal. Honestly its probably one of the best titles on the 3DS now. Full Review »
  2. May 12, 2011
    2
    Fly around with the circle pad? Ok. "Ping" enemies with the stylus? Ok. But wait...I'm left-handed. Not to mention the very first level isFly around with the circle pad? Ok. "Ping" enemies with the stylus? Ok. But wait...I'm left-handed. Not to mention the very first level is impossible. The enemies fly way too quickly to catch up. Each one shoots three bullets in each direction. Unless you get lucky and manage to ping AND kill each one, you're going to get riddled with bullets, which are tiny by the way, making them impossible to keep track of in addition to pings and enemies. You may be invincible while using your power, but that doesn't last long, especially if you don't manage to hit anything. If you're on the fence about this one, take my advice and skip it or wait for it to be available for rent. This is $40 I wish I didn't waste. In reply to Tanasinn: How can he play level 2 if he can't get past level 1? I'm right in the same boat as he is; the minute I do well -at all-, I run out of power and basically can only just sit there and wait to die yet again. Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2011
    3
    Sounds like the developers caught wind of the poor review and decided to make their own to up the score, much like what has been done here onSounds like the developers caught wind of the poor review and decided to make their own to up the score, much like what has been done here on metacritic to raise review scores. Devoting entire user reviews to try and discredit a user review is pathetic. If your game sucks, it sucks. And I, as a consumer and a long time gamer (27 years) have the right to voice my opinion, as does everyone on the web. If's sad that developers and publishers come on to metacritic and review their own games. Next time, make a good game and you won't have to defend this garbage..... Stay away, this game is NOT fun... it's more like a chore. There's way better games coming out that will provide a challenge and entertainment. Full Review »