Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan has players board their skyship and set out into the clouds in search of treasure, glory, and the answer to Tharsis' oldest mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    100
    But for everyone else, Etrian Odyssey IV offers more of what you already love about the series, just this time it’s a little prettier in action.
  2. 90
    If someone is looking for one of the most entrancing, addictive RPGs on the 3DS, then they should not hesitate to run as quickly as they can to their nearest game store to purchase Legends of the Titan; it’s certainly worth every penny of its price tag, and then some.
  3. 90
    Etrian Odyssey IV’s sense of adventure is ever present as you explore its wide variety of environments. The game’s lackluster story and occasional difficulty may scare some away, but between the amazing dungeons, challenging battles, and great music, this is an accessible and worthwhile chapter in the series.
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    85
    This is a game for those who enjoy what a game used to be: a challenge. If that's not what you're looking for, even the "casual mode" could be too much for you.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    80
    It all comes down to your affinity for JRPGs, but credit falls to Atlus for offering curious newbies that helping hand, a hand that has the strength and power to pull you into the world and become entranced.
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    80
    Thanks to the all new Casual Mode, Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan will finally appeal more than just the hardcore players looking for an extremely deep battle system and a real challenge. However, it's still a retro RPG with a thin plot that won't be easy to overcome. It's not Final Fantasy, but Etrian Odyssey IV is great on its own terms.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Unless you’re a chronic stat-cruncher and menu enthusiast, though, I can’t imagine that this incremental and grind-heavy sequel will resonate with you.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Atlus keeps my 3DS busy. Etrian Odyssey IV brings a modern jRPG twist on first person RPGs akin to Eye of the Beholder, and Wizardry. Fuse those concepts with incredibly charming (and adorable) anime art, and a fantastically fitting soundtrack, and you have one of the best time sinks on the 3DS. The 3D effect on the menus is pleasing to look at. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    While I can understand how this kind of game may be boring or even tedious, I enjoyed the hell out of this game! The presentation is astounding and the environments you find yourself taking in are dangerous, beautiful, and unique. While the first area suffers from green hill zone syndrome, once you beat the first maze you'll be amazed by the unique colors and orchestrated music of the second area. Going on to the game play, it's more on the traditional side of your modern JRPG but because you have to put so much thought into your party it's not tedious at all. This game is surprisingly easy to jump into because it has an easier difficulty setting, which doesn't detract too much from the overall experience and can always be changed. Try out the demo before you get it, but I believe that this is the best JRPG on the 3DS. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    Like the ds, all players can deeply thanks atlus for all the good games.

    Etrian odyssey 4 is a hardcore donjon-rpg but far better than any
    wizardry, class of heroes of whatever else.
    The 3ds give finally some good graphics for this serie (3d models are cool, but they didn't do ugly 3d artworks), you have a lot of class to make your team, the musics are great (even if Etrian odyssey 3 is unmatchable)..

    If you have a 3ds and you want a good (and not easy) game, you NEED to buy EO4.
    Because we need more games like this one, more good rpg games, the 3ds don't have enough of them actually.
    Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    9
    Etrian Odyssey IV Legends if the Titan is a game for the hardcore. And I mean that in a good way. It requires a lot of grinding, but that just makes it all the more satisfying to finally be able to defeat that enemy you never could before. The ability to map out dungeons makes this more a more strategic affair. The classes are well balanced and customisable. It ups the difficulty but adds in a casual mode to make it more accessible. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    The game's main draw is the sense of accomplishments you get from exploring a dungeon drawing it out making notes and successfully completing a dungeon filled with challenging and diverse enemies. The battling is fun making you command several different classes with branching special abilities which you can customize to your play style. Liking this game far more than expected too. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Purchased this game on a hunch based on the good user reviews, and thought i should come back to confirm it was a good hunch. This game starts a little slowly, but the more you put it into it, the more it gives back. It is a very rewarding game experience that makes excellent use of the 3DS hardware. I have binge-played it for a couple of days and just made it to the beginning of the second world area. Character customization is seemingly very deep, already some of the ones i made have a multitude of abilities and ive yet to break past the "novice" tier of character skill development.

    The more you learn about how to play, how to take advantage of the mapping features with the touchscreen, and progress the game, the more fun the game has become for me. One doesnt have to play it all in long sessions, either. it is quite possible to spend small jaunts of time quite productively, as well as going all-out to try and bend the gameplay to your will. If you attempt the later i believe you will find the challenge beyond satisfactory. Rushing ahead is punished harshly, but almost miraculously i dont think you will be compelled to do so. This is a fun experience to be savored patiently.
    Collapse
  7. May 8, 2014
    0
    Atlus ripped us off with this installment. The music sounds like it was recorded under a freaking toliet paper tube...! The game itself is sooo grindy unlike the original classics for the DS. The 3D models are ugly and are reused and reused with a little color change!

    If you want a brilliant 3DS RPG I recommend getting Braverly Default (Which is just absolutely perfection) or Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater (They removed half of the cutscenes found in the SONY versions of the game and made it into gameplay. You know, WHY YOU BUY VIDEO GAMES IN THE FIRST GAME, SONY?).

    I wanted to like this game, I really did. I even beat it 4 times but it's such a hallow experience.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews