HarmoKnight 3DS

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. May 27, 2013
    70
    Its music isn't as catchy as it could be, but this is nonetheless a vibrant little gem of a rhythm game with plenty of replay value; it's easy on the eyes and a joy to play.
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    HarmoKnight is a colorful rhythm platformer, available through the Nintendo 3DS eShop and made by the developers of Pokémon, that will keep you busy for about six hours. Thanks to the 50 levels and solid gameplay it’s worth the pretty high price of fifteen Euros. The characters and the story are very generic though. The standard levels are the most fun as well: the game sometimes experiments with different takes, which they shouldn’t have done in our opinion.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    70
    Harmoknight combines platform action with musical and rhythmic gameplay, and does so successfully. It's a shame that the game's concept is too limited to entertain players for long, because before long, you'll be doing the same thing over and over again. It's good, but HarmoKnight just doesn't hit all the right notes.
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Game Freak returns to the non-Pokémon world with HarmoKnight, a music-infused platformer that will be a light-hearted romp for casual fans of the genre—but which might not be memorable enough for more dedicated rhythm-game devotees.
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    In the end, though, the music needs to shine, and HarmoKnight fails to measure up to the best in the genre. We continued playing, not to see how the story unfolded, but in the hope the soundtrack would substantially improve.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    With HarmoKnight, Game Freak delivers a very nice rhythm platformer. Its only real shortcoming may reside in the lack of identity of its jazz, rock or samba tracks; none of them really stands out.
  7. Mar 28, 2013
    70
    HarmoKnight is not as complex as Beatmania, nor out of mind as Rhythm Paradise, but it does good work with the crossover between platform and rhythm game. The points which Game Freak may work on for a possible follow-up are many, it would be easy for them to propose something, in a short time, that does not deviate much from this title, but is more refined and studied in mechanicals.
  8. Mar 26, 2013
    70
    Anybody who enjoys the music and action but hopes to see a steadily increasing damage curve through the game should definitely pick it up.
  9. Mar 18, 2013
    70
    HarmoKnight Rhythm Game is a simple but funny game, which retrieves some elements of the genre to liven successfully its extreme minimal is.
  10. Mar 25, 2013
    64
    Sure, it’s polished, has solid gameplay mechanics, and the graphics and characters are charming, but the reality is that a music game needs memorable music.
  11. Apr 21, 2013
    60
    Although this is a game that has an extensive single-player campaign, it’s not very effective mechanics, uninspired songs and an absence of other game modes, determine the final outcome.
  12. Apr 5, 2013
    60
    Harmoknight isn't a bad little tune, but its simple melody just doesn't have the strength to carry a truly memorable song.
  13. Apr 3, 2013
    60
    The presentational pieces are there, and the controls tight, but when it comes to delivering a memorable set of tracks to underscore both the thematic and mechanical elements of the adventure, it doesn’t dig near deep enough. Without the joy of music to which the most successful games in the genre are conduits for, a lot of the effort and talent behind this charming game winds up feeling a little hollow.
  14. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    HarmoKnight is the friendliest rhythm platformer around, but its simplicity does not always work to the game's benefit.
  15. Jun 9, 2013
    55
    HarmoKnight is not attractive because of its repetitiveness. All with all it feels like a game on the wrong device.
  16. Apr 2, 2013
    50
    If you're after a by-the-numbers rhythm-action experience, then HarmoKnight has you covered, but its lack of style and unwillingness to push any of its few ideas forward are a massive letdown.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    I always enjoy music games, and this one is no exception. I enjoyed the many various levels and designs, as well as the music in game. TheI always enjoy music games, and this one is no exception. I enjoyed the many various levels and designs, as well as the music in game. The graphics were crisp and the characters' designs were nice to look at. The only issues I have are that the difficulty spike was sudden in the game, I couldn't get the official 'All Perfect' ending, and the jumping drums were finicky. Perhaps I couldn't time it right, but more often than not, whenever I reached a drum, 8 out of 10 times, I end up falling. But the game is still enjoyable, even with those flaws. Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favorite eshop games. The music is very catchy, and the gameplay is almost completely solid. My only real complaint is thatThis is one of my favorite eshop games. The music is very catchy, and the gameplay is almost completely solid. My only real complaint is that there are some spots where the beat does feel finicky. The note will come slightly early or late. These are few and far between though, so it's not enough to take away from the gameplay. Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2016
    8
    A fun game and a very good way to introduce yourself to rhythm games.
    If you're good enough you'll unlock some greatly appreciated Easter
    A fun game and a very good way to introduce yourself to rhythm games.
    If you're good enough you'll unlock some greatly appreciated Easter Eggs from other Game Freak games.
    Full Review »