Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    90
    Heroes of Ruin is a landmark 3DS release, providing true online gaming that will keep you entertained from start to finish.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    89
    If you like loot-em-ups, and you like the idea of having one in your pocket, you'll be hard pressed to find anything better than this.
  3. Jun 15, 2012
    86
    Torchlight meets Diablo III in Nintendo 3DS. Heroes of Ruin is a stylish Action-RPG that will bring you into an online virtual world with your friends. One of the most interesting Nintendo 3DS games for this summer.
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    85
    For the most part, you will have a very good time with Heroes of Ruin. The loot whoring is done right, the online integration is handled very well and the over all feel of the game is top notch. If you were looking for the one game that brought dungeon crawling to the hand-held market and done right, Heroes of Ruin is that game. If you own a 3DS, and you enjoy action RPGs, you really should pick up this game.
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    85
    An impressive game on the 3DS, which has surpassed our expectations both technically and artistically, and truly a unique game in the 3DS. We hope the content is expanded in the future.
  6. Jul 9, 2012
    84
    Heroes of Ruin shows how well multiplayer can and should work on the 3DS.
  7. Jul 17, 2012
    82
    Delving fully into the game, you're bound to find many small nuances, some you'll find pleasing while others might cause you to complain. But as the time passes and you find yourself continually picking up your 3DS for another quick solo dungeon or a full afternoon with friends, you'll realize with pride that Heroes of Ruin was a worthy choice to add to your collection.
  8. Jun 15, 2012
    82
    Not so deep as Diablo, but very accessible for 3DS users. Heroes of Ruin is a dungeon crawler with many hours of gameplay, powerful online features and a charm missions system. A must for adventurers, and a good option for the rest of the gamers.
  9. Oct 14, 2012
    80
    Pocket-sized Diablo is by far the best multiplayer game on 3DS. You can't do little Diablo any better than this. The watered-down difficulty level and few control related issues, like inventory, are the biggest downsides of the game. Other than that, Heroes of the Ruin is a fair example, that a PC-exclusive can be ported on the little device as well. [Sept 2012]
  10. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    If you enjoy hacking and slashing and screaming at randoms, this is the one. [Sept 2012, p.76]
  11. 80
    Heroes of Ruin is a fantastic game hindered by a few issues. However, with those cast aside, monster-bashing fun is in store for all who play. A cooperative online game on a Nintendo system is not something you would normally see, especially on a handheld, but n-Space delivered such an experience well.
  12. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    A well-done action RPG for 3DS handheld. The game may attract your attention with its well-built tree of abilities, its online multiplayer along with its doping gameplay. However, many of its minor flaws like overabundance of loot, the New Game+ absence or higher difficulties with the same character of yours are holding the game back from the elite.
  13. Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Heroes of Ruin is a mediocre game if you'd just stick to single player. But when you delve into the dungeons online, it turns out to be surprisingly good.
  14. Jun 21, 2012
    80
    Heroes of Ruin does have a few rough edges and areas where greater refinement would have been welcome, but they don't detract from an accomplished effort on 3DS. A short campaign is offset by four separate characters to develop, and the experience feels entirely suitable for a fully-tooled handheld action RPG. It's the online structure that truly raises the bar for the platform; crawling through dungeons is a lot more fun with others to share the glory, and the inclusion of voice chat in particular is a highlight.
  15. Jun 20, 2012
    80
    Samey combat can cause biff-fatigue to set in, but the nearly endless loot treadmill coupled with skills that are enjoyable to use make Heroes of Ruin a dungeon that's fun to run. [July 2012, p.94]
  16. Some slightly dodgy mechanics aside, this is a truly excellent dungeon crawler.
  17. Jun 25, 2012
    77
    Simple in combat but underpinned by a host of stats, HoR sates your desire for more stuff. [August 2012, p.68]
  18. 70
    Long-lasting classic action RPG brings solid playability despite its flat story and charmless world. [July 2012]
  19. Jul 18, 2012
    70
    Heroes of Ruin is a pretty game by 3DS standards, with a compelling story wrapped around unoriginal combat, quests, and leveling.
  20. Jul 17, 2012
    70
    Heroes of Ruin is an excellent game if you're looking to take your Diablo addiction on the road with you. It's deep, replayable, and the online is instantly accessible.
  21. Jul 16, 2012
    70
    Praises and complaints aside, Heroes of Ruin does exactly what it wanted to do -- give 3DS users a solid hack n' slash RPG. While it flounders on the way to that simple goal, it's a goal that has been undoubtedly reached. Better may come along in the future, but right now, this does the trick.
  22. Jul 7, 2012
    70
    Even better, this game does a mostly good job of bringing the Diablo-style experience to the Nintendo 3DS system. [July 2012, p.85]
  23. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    While it doesnʼt offer a unique experience, Heroes of Ruin is definitely a game that will keep you going for hours.
  24. 70
    The implementation of higher difficulties and Player vs Player were key elements to Heroes of Ruin could call itself a great dungeon crawler and one of the best titles available on Nintendo 3DS. Even with these limitations, Heroes of Ruin still manages to be a good recommendation if you are looking for an action RPG.
  25. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    Heroes of Ruin is a fun dungeon crawler with tons of loot to collect and more than enough possibilities to connect with other players. The game is a bit standard though, failing to stand out from the croud.
  26. Jun 25, 2012
    70
    It's more of a short-term investment than some might be expecting, then, but while you're caught in its irresistible loot cycle, you'll probably find it very hard to put down.
  27. Jun 22, 2012
    70
    A Diablo-esque game in a time when Diablo III is still the hottest game on shelves; the first dungeon crawler on 3DS, and with real time voice chat too. Heroes of Ruin is a good attempt to make a game like this on a portable console, but it is too easy and there's no end game at all.
  28. Jun 20, 2012
    70
    A nice surprise and one of the most ambitious online multiplayer modes we've seen on a 3DS game.
  29. Jun 20, 2012
    70
    The true strength of Heroes of Ruin is in the pleasing flexibility of the online experience - and it's a model Nintendo itself could learn a few things from.
  30. Jul 9, 2012
    69
    All-in-all, Heroes of Ruin is a good bit of fun, marred by a couple of serious problems. The combat is dynamic and fluid, loot collecting is as addictive as ever, and online and multiplayer is done right. If only dungeons suffered from less repetition, the campaign was longer, and the inventory had been thoughtfully designed, it could have really shined.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Very good game. an excellent first try to this type of game. I buy this game las month and I'm still playing. very funny and entertaining.............. Full Review »
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Although it has its flaws I am glad that I have bought it. Heroes of ruin is a hack n slash action rpg that takes place in the ruined kingdom of veil. The ruler of nexus which is one of the remaining cities has been laid down by an unknown curse. Your job is to find a cure for the ruinlord ataraxis, the ruler of nexus. Now,first things first many people have complained about the longetivity of the game. It is true that it could have a longer story but dont let that put you off. I finished the game with a lvl 30 gunslinger at 18.42 minutes. I am currently at 84% on the alchitect with 8.13 minutes. I have 45 hours in my activity log and expect to get 80 hours out of HOR altogether.Firstly, to fully maxamise the longetivity try and complete as much daily and weekly quests as possible. This found me revisiting several areas in search of the various creatures which I had to destroy and further added longetivity to the game. These quests will be updated daily for a year so there is no shortage of them. Secondly, before you go into the final dungeon *after rigels treachery* play online with people to reach lvl 30. This is what I did with the gunslinger and it added several extra hours. Then with the valor you collected from the daily challenges buy legendary gear to be the best prepared for the final boss battle, which is truly epic and will leave you thinking for a while. Thirdly and most importantly to lengthen the game, FIND A FRIEND. I met up with this lad through 3ds friendcodes.com and I play with him every chance I get, whether it's leveling up alliance rank or defeating a difficult boss it is rewarding and extremely enjoyable and it really made this game something special for me. It is so easy to find someone to play with on the officail site and I highly recommend this if you want to fully experience what this game has to offer. I have since made even more friends and we play together regularly. The voice chat varies from time to time but with the friends I play with it is fine. Every single boss battle is unique and intuitive, even better when you plan it out with a friend. The four characters are varied enough that you would want to play through with each one. The gameplay is extremely fun and I enjoyed every minute of it. The graphics are a bit of a dissapointment as some areas are muddled but it doesnt overly affect the gameplay. One problem is that the online load time is quite long but you cant fix that. All in all this is a solid action rpg which I enjoyed thoroughly and if you follow my tips you will get many hours of gameplay from it. But a personally I think a friend is NECESSARY to enjoy this game and if you want someone to play with look me up on the officail site under rickeire..pm me:) Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    A very cosy game to play while sipping on a coffee relaxing on the couch. Although not gem perfect it achieves the goal of being an intriguing hack n slash on the 3ds. Very fun to play, looking forward to more similar gAmes on the 3ds. The environments draw me in and the monsters are designed beautifully. Can't wait to pop this on the 3ds xl to enjoy greater 3d! Full Review »