• Publisher: Natsume
  • Release Date: Oct 22, 2013
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 8 out of 14
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    Quick to pick up but difficult to master, Hometown Story's a tough sell but will yield an investment of enjoyable, quick play sessions if you're patient.
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    60
    I can't deny Hometown Story has charm with its premise and I love the ideas, but the execution needs work. Owning a shop should be more frantic and rewarding. If the developer, Toybox, can smooth out the rough edges, it may one day match the lure of simulation games like Harvest Moon and Animal Crossing. Sadly, it's not in the same league.
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    50
    Hometown Story’s attempts at setting up an involving store management game end up falling in a tiresome, repetitive and often difficult to understand challenge, where the rules are not clear and where aspects which are logic in everyday life gain a completely illogical dimension in the game. While the beginning may be alluring enough to bring some players in, the game will quickly wear out those with higher expectations.
  4. It's hard to care about villagers when they are all generic-faced repetition bots. [June 2014, p.86]
  5. May 1, 2014
    50
    With more polish, Hometown Story could have been a worthy successor to Harvest Moon, but sadly the final product doesn't come close to matching the highs of that famous franchise.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    50
    The controls are sometimes clunky and unresponsive when walking around, and the screen even froze once right in the middle of a transaction. Add in a poorly designed village that’s too spread out and a temperamental camera that keeps changing angles, and Hometown Story’s mechanics go from forgivably faulty to downright aggravating.
  7. Jun 7, 2014
    48
    An apoplexy-inducing camera, that shifts between perspectives at every turn, ensures that just getting about the place is a chore. [July 2014, p.79]
  8. Jul 15, 2014
    40
    Hometown Story is charming on first glance, but there are a lot of problems that overshadow it.
  9. Jun 28, 2014
    40
    Shows some potential, but ultimately uninspiring. [Issue#149, p.122]
  10. May 20, 2014
    40
    It's charming, mind you, but it still boggles my mind how Yasuhiro Wada, the mind behind the brilliant Harvest Moon, managed to make this boring a game.
  11. 40
    Hometown Story is a woeful game that promises much and delivers little.
  12. Oct 28, 2013
    40
    More of a game for your younger sister than you, Hometown Story pales in comparison to the many 'life simulation' games already in the market. In many ways, it's a bare-bones version of Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale, stripped of all its zaniness and sly negotiations. Hometown Story isn't necessarily bad but given the price tag that it commands, I'm unwilling to recommend it. More deserving games are waiting for your money.
  13. May 26, 2014
    39
    Unbelievable but true: The dev team from Toybox created another low point in the franchise’s history. While most Harvest Moons give you loads of interesting things to do or to discover all you’ll find here is boredom.
  14. Dec 13, 2013
    20
    To be honest, I have a difficult time even calling Hometown Story a game, as its gameplay mechanics have almost nothing to do with its progression. Without a massive overhaul of how progression in the game works, it would probably have been better served as a visual novel, and even then, it would have been a pretty poor one.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    5
    It is fun and strangely addicting, but the gameplay is seriously lacking. Weird camera angles and controls can get a bit frustrating. A general lapse in interesting characters and dialogue can make this game boring and repetitive. That being said it is charming, and as a die-hard Harvest Moon fan I still happen to enjoy it. However I hope to see improvement in the future if this series keeps up. Full Review »
  2. Sep 2, 2014
    1
    I have never played such a boring game, the quests are inconsequential the gameplay is stale, the "Makers or Harvest Moon" is so misleading, there is no sourcing mechanic like there is in the Harvest Series, whats worse is that it seems to be a Poor mans "Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale", and I paid next to nothing for that! I was upset that Rune Factory 4 wasn't coming out in my region, and this game has made me feel even worse! Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2014
    6
    its not as good as the harvest moon games, but it's still fun and addicting. The only problems i have with it is that you'll find yourself running out of things to do and get bored of it, and like everyone else says, the camera really sucks.
    other than that i feel as if it's a very solid game! with a great map and fun characters.
    Full Review »