Kid Icarus: Uprising 3DS

Kid Icarus: Uprising Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 476 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kid Icarus: Uprising is the long-awaited franchise follow-up to the NES classic.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  2. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    85
    Sakurai did it again. The rebirth of Kid Icarus is nothing less than a game packed with action, great graphics, superb writing and many inspired gameplay ideas.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 9, 2012
    80
    Outstanding colorful and funny action game demands to learn the controls well but the reward is worthy – hours and hours of pure entertainment. [May 2012]
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    A great hardcore action game, with surprisingly deep difficulty and customization options.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    The single player is a complete waste despite the hefty amount of content put into it. If you're going to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, it's because you can stand the awful controls and really badly want something to play online. If you're considering the game for any other reason than that, I highly recommend catching the next updraft and tossing it into the sun.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 176
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up toGreat game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Playing Uprising feels like taking a breath of fresh air after being in a cave for a long time; it's cool and refreshing. While the controlPlaying Uprising feels like taking a breath of fresh air after being in a cave for a long time; it's cool and refreshing. While the control scheme may take a few minutes to get used to, it works beautifully when you get used to it. The graphics are console-quality, but a tiny bit of bad textures get in the way sometimes. The story is gripping, and it keeps it at a light-hearted tone due to the silly chatting between characters on the bottom screen (complete with solid voice-acting). If you don't at least chuckle at the frequent Nintendo game references and the awesomely bad puns, than you obviously have no soul. With a crap-ton of achievements, idols (think trophies from Super Smash Bros. Brawl), and weapons, Kid Icarus: Uprising is definitely worth the price and your time. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    best handheld game i have ever played, i play lvd with my friends all the time the campaign was very good and pretty long. ive heard alot ofbest handheld game i have ever played, i play lvd with my friends all the time the campaign was very good and pretty long. ive heard alot of people talking garbage about the controls and really i think they are great you really have to aim and the dodging in super fun i really cant say a game is better then this one thats out right now Collapse
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Brilliant game. The controls are perfectly fine for me and I'm left handed! If the controls are comfortable there are quite a variety ofBrilliant game. The controls are perfectly fine for me and I'm left handed! If the controls are comfortable there are quite a variety of different control schemes you can choose from. Solo mode is very fun. The dialogue is absolutely hilarious at times. Fiend's cauldron is a great idea and the varying level of difficulty really shows. Online has been very entertaining. Prefer Free-For-All to Light vs Dark but both are very enjoyable. There is plenty to unlock and the weapon variations keep players of different styles happy. The little retro touches are a good nod to players of the original. Once again, amazing game. Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    A fairly different game.The combat works well though and I enjoy both the land and air sections.The weapon system is incredibly good and theA fairly different game.The combat works well though and I enjoy both the land and air sections.The weapon system is incredibly good and the effort from Nintendo to make this work has been good.(I've been to two Kid Icarus events) Easily the best 3DS game of 2012. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Kid Icarus Uprising is the 3DS's flagship game of 2012, and it's a great one. This game is very fun, packed full of amazing content, and isKid Icarus Uprising is the 3DS's flagship game of 2012, and it's a great one. This game is very fun, packed full of amazing content, and is addicting to the point where you'll keep coming back for more. This game was developed by Nintendo's very own Project Sora, the team responsible for the fantastic Super Smash Bros. series, and although this may not be the best game they've made, it's still one that deserves plenty of attention. It's a great example of what the 3DS is capable of, and will likely serve as a template for 3DS games to come. Basically, Uprising is a shooter that has two play modes. Single player campaign, and of course, multiplayer. In the campaign, you play as the angelic Pit, who fights the forces of the underworld for the goddess of light, Palutena. Each level begins with a flying sequence, and later goes into a land battle. Flying sequences play very similarly to StarFox. Pit flies on rails, controlled by Palutena, and you're job is to fly Pit around the screen while shooting underworld forces that attack you, while Palutena guides you towards your objective. It's addicting, and the opening flying sequences alone can keep you playing for hours, but there's also the land sequence, which you'll be spending most of your play time doing. Land battles aren't as fun as the flying sequences, and suffer from the games awkward controls (we'll get to that in a minute). Still, the land sequences are fun, and can prove to be really challenging and intense. Basically, land battles are sequences of getting from point A to point B while destroying any enemies that are thrown at you along the way as well as collecting treasure that can be used later, until finally you reach the boss at the end. Defeat the boss, and you'll beat the level, and earn rewards. Weapons, powers, hearts, and even achievements. Hearts, however, are very important, as you need them to buy new gear, fuse gems that you get from StreetPass tags, as well as bet on each level you play. The difficulty of the level you play determines how many hearts you'll earn in your fight. The harder the difficulty, the more hearts you'll earn, and vice-versa. But if you die, you lose the hearts you bet, and difficulty will automatically go down as your penalty, so be careful how much you bet. Betting can be bad for you after all. Once you've started earning weapons, however, you can begin fusing them to create better gear. This game is literally packed full of a ton of content, meaning there are more than a fair amount of weapons to choose from. From claws, to bows, to blade, to staves, to many others. You'll have plenty a variety to choose from once you progress, so get ready to experiment from up to 100 different weapons. Then there's multiplayer, where you can play either Light vs Dark (Team Deathmatch) 3 vs 3, or Free for All. You can play online, or locally, and any gear you obtain in the single player campaign can be used online. And of course, you can invite your online friends to play with you. Each team has a health bar, and when you die, the health bar decreases. The first team to lose all their health is the loser. Eventually, though, once the teams health bar reaches a certain point, the last player to die will become that teams Pit, or Dark Pit if you're on the Dark Team. That player then becomes the last resort, and if he dies, the team loses. So once the opposing Pit appears, the goal is to defeat him. However, the person who becomes Pit or Dark Pit gets enhanced abilities and health, so don't think you can kill him as easily as the others. The game is fantastic, and of course 3D looks great. Dialog in the campaign is corky and entertaining, and will give you a few laughs. There's just one problem with this game that prevents it from being a 10, and I'm sure people already know where this is going. I'm talking, of course, about the controls. Uprising is controlled by moving Pit around with the circle pad, while aiming with the stylus-touchscreen combo, and shooting/melee with the L button. And believe me, this takes getting used to. I'm actually pretty shocked that Sora didn't include a dual analog option with the Circle Pad Pro, but I think they were trying to go with the more accurate route of stylus since this alternative really is much more accurate for a shooter this intense. Still, It would've been nice to have the option for players who aren't as daring. But the good news is, though the controls sound awkward, it really doesn't take long to get used to. And once you've figured out the controls, you'll have a blast with this game. But if you're stil grieving for dual analog, then get yourself a thumb stylus, or a DS Wrist Strap. That'll solve your problem. But overall, Uprising is a fantastic 3D shooter adventure that's well worth the money. Kid Icarus Uprising gets a 9/10 from me. :) Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    A complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shameA complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shame consider how the actual game is quite good. Considering how game breaking the controls are, I have to rate this one low, especially considering the expectations. Expand

See all 176 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.