Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    70
    It might sound a bit more harsh than the game deserves, but sometimes you have to call the developers out when a game suffers under ill-advised direction. Thanks to the beautiful and richly filled houses and some really great characters, Luigi's Mansion qualifies as a really good game. It's just not the fantastic one it could have been.
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    70
    Luigi's Mansion 2 does exactly what a good sequel should do and builds upon he solid foundation of its predecessor whilst also bringing fresh new elements to the table. Our frightened protagonist is as charming as ever, and the game's mission based structure is a welcome addition over the open world setting of the original game.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    65
    A mostly pleasant game marred by the possibility of moments so frustrating, they threaten to overshadow the entire experience. These missteps are all the more disappointing because the better elements of the game are so charming. You may still want to take up the PolterGust 5000 and explore these haunted houses, but be warned: the things lurking in these dark places aren't likely to scare you, but they may well have you seeing red.
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    70
    Dark Moon is a likable if flawed journey through an enjoyably spooky world, and while it may not hold up to a long-term residency, it’s certainly worth a weekend getaway.
  5. Mar 21, 2013
    70
    Dark Moon is a bit like Luigi himself: charming, goofy and utterly affable. The core mechanic of catching ghosts is solid and exciting, and the environments are absolutely worth seeing and exploring. It's got heart, but after trudging through all five of its locales, you may wind up feeling a little like a bedraggled, battle-worn ghostbuster yourself.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    70
    A good sequel that improves upon the original and does most things right. Sadly a couple of misses such as lack of checkpoints and clunky controls stands in the way of a higher grade.
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    70
    Dark Moon has lost a bit of the soul of its predecessor — the ghosts have lost their motivations and personalities, such as they were. They're just monsters now. But by nearly every mechanical design metric, Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon is a better game than its predecessor.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 397 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 93
  2. Negative: 3 out of 93
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Picked this up with my kid's this morning. They made me get up early and take them to BestBuy as soon as it opened.

    They've been glued to
    Picked this up with my kid's this morning. They made me get up early and take them to BestBuy as soon as it opened.

    They've been glued to our 3DS's ever since. They're just trying the multiplayer right now and are having a blast.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    It's been years since luigi has got his own game and this is the perfect return.The graphics are so stunning and the characters have a lotIt's been years since luigi has got his own game and this is the perfect return.The graphics are so stunning and the characters have a lot of personality the multiplayer is good as well Full Review »
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    As usual a great Nintendo 1st party entry. Great humor, great gameplay and just pure fun. I have played through Luigis Mansion 2-3 times andAs usual a great Nintendo 1st party entry. Great humor, great gameplay and just pure fun. I have played through Luigis Mansion 2-3 times and love it. This takes what made the original great and expands upon it while not straying to far from the formula. In my eyes that is what makes a sequel truly great. Full Review »