Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon 3DS

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 471 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Luigi's Mansion 2" in the UK/EU) Luigi is back on a mission to remove a bunch of stubborn ghosts from some spooky mansions. Armed with his trusty Poltergust ghost-sucking vacuum cleaner, Mario's brother takes center stage to capture these pesky phantoms.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    While the system has been blessed with multiple must-have Mario adventures, it's a delight to say there's now an essential one from his often overlooked sibling too.
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    92
    Luigi's Mansion 2 is a fantastic adventure full of charm and personality, with gorgeous graphics and more than enjoyable mechanics. A control scheme that screams for the second analog stick and a somewhat disappointing last mission are the only minor drawbacks of a more-than-recommended purchase.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    90
    It's a fantastic little platformer that looks great, plays well, doesn't talk down to you and utilizes the strengths of the system to their full effect. This is a game that really "gets" the essence of the 3DS, and understands that a good 3DS game means so much more than just using the 3D effect.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    90
    With Luigi's Mansion 2 Nintendo adds a brilliant game to the 3DS. Luigi got through the first part with the vacuum cleaner well and delivered a good second part.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    85
    The mission system may be something some players will dislike, compared to the freedom of the original. However, it has many hours of gameplay to offer, and the new multiplayer mode is a great addition that will make us forget about that.
  6. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 9, 2013
    80
    A charming, entertaining romp with bucket-loads of character. Luigi's back in action! [May 2013, p.79]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    65
    A mostly pleasant game marred by the possibility of moments so frustrating, they threaten to overshadow the entire experience. These missteps are all the more disappointing because the better elements of the game are so charming. You may still want to take up the PolterGust 5000 and explore these haunted houses, but be warned: the things lurking in these dark places aren't likely to scare you, but they may well have you seeing red.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 103
  2. Negative: 1 out of 103
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Picked this up with my kid's this morning. They made me get up early and take them to BestBuy as soon as it opened.

    They've been glued to
    Picked this up with my kid's this morning. They made me get up early and take them to BestBuy as soon as it opened.

    They've been glued to our 3DS's ever since. They're just trying the multiplayer right now and are having a blast.
    Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    Luigi's Mansion Dark Moon for Nintendo 3DS is one of most fav games ever
    i enjoyed playing story mode, although for this Review i wanted
    Luigi's Mansion Dark Moon for Nintendo 3DS is one of most fav games ever
    i enjoyed playing story mode, although for this Review i wanted talked about Multplayer
    the Multplayer was very well fun catching ghost and leveling up your poturgust 3000(i think)
    Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Now I do not usually write reviews on games as my opinions might be hated by people. This is an exception as I LOVED the original game andNow I do not usually write reviews on games as my opinions might be hated by people. This is an exception as I LOVED the original game and needed to voice why I think this game is equal to/better than the original. Note: I also played the original A LOT. I beat the game 8 times and got the A mansion.

    Now, this review won't be divided into too many sections.

    GAMEPLAY:

    The gameplay is much more varied than the original game. To fight some ghosts you have to wait at a certain time before you flash them (not taking your clothes off) with the light or use the dark light device on the Boos to reveal where they are. The original was mostly turning your flashlight off then on when the ghost was in the path. The only part I did not like, but am starting to not mind too much, is that you cannot turn around with the light being charged. It is a minor annoyance.

    STORY:

    The story in this game is just as silly as the original (in a good way). The "Dark Moon" was destroyed by someone (will not say who) and the ghosts went crazy. Then you are called upon by Professor E. Gadd (he makes a return) to help fix the moon. The story is really good in this game.

    Those are the two categories I am going to touch on because that is mostly what I personally look for in a Nintendo game (gameplay more than story).
    Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Excelente juego, considerablemente mejor que el original, con bastante contenido, puzzles, montones de elementos "coleccionables" yExcelente juego, considerablemente mejor que el original, con bastante contenido, puzzles, montones de elementos "coleccionables" y desafiantes niveles que pueden hacer que uno como jugador se quede horas y horas jugando y pasando niveles. Lo único es que el juego no tenga checkpoints, lo que hace repetir un nivel completo en caso de morir. Hasta el momento es de los mejores juegos de 3DS y uno obligatorio de tener. Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game
    I enjoyed literally every stage and level of the game
    Also liked the head scratching puzzles here and there
    this game is totally worth the buck...just give it a shot and you won't regret it
    Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2016
    8
    This is a great game, although I would not call it a masterpiece. Luigi’s mansion is a bit of platforming, exploration and puzzling. It is aThis is a great game, although I would not call it a masterpiece. Luigi’s mansion is a bit of platforming, exploration and puzzling. It is a very nice mixture in my opinion, but I found the game a bit slow and I think the ghost capturing process needs improvement. It is quite repetitive and pretty much the same throughout the game, dazzle them plus some vacuum power. I think much more can be done with that and at the moment, after a few hours in the game capturing the ghosts gets tedious. Also the mission structure cripples the game in general, you constantly get messages from the professor and they only let you explore a part of the mansion at once which kills the whole exploration concept a bit.

    Said that, I think this is a pretty enjoyable game, the mansions and Luigi are lovely and it is fun to play in general. The 3D effect is quite awesome and the graphics, in general, are quite good.

    Summarising, I think the game is good but I don’t think is a masterpiece. I think it needs urgent improvement. They limit quite badly the exploration potential but puzzles are excellent, although they could be a bit harder. I think this universe is wonderful but I think it is a bit restricted with the whole haunted mansion concept. Don’t get me wrong the design of the mansions is amazingly well made, they don’t feel repetitive, but still, they’re just mansions; I was thinking why not expanding the concept, why not the whole kingdom gets haunted and go to woods, caves, mountains and stuff. Anyway, some really good stuff in this game, I just feel it could be significantly bigger and better; it definitely has potential to be a masterpiece.
    Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    4
    This game is really fun... when you're actually able to play it. However, each mission only lets you explore a limited amount of a mansion atThis game is really fun... when you're actually able to play it. However, each mission only lets you explore a limited amount of a mansion at once. Also, you're constantly interrupted by message from the Professor telling you what to do. Even when you replay a mission, there's still the same constant interruptions that you've already heard. The mansion bosses are kinda all over the place in terms of fun and difficulty. There's upgrades you can get for Luigi, but they're all in a fixed order, and you get all of them pretty early on.

    Really, the biggest thing to me is that the replay value of the game is killed because there's always stuff in your way preventing you from just exploring a whole mansion at once, and there's always dumb messages from E. Gad that you can't skip over, telling you the same things you already know.
    Expand

See all 103 User Reviews