• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 11, 2011
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    91
    If you're a fan of Mahjong, this is worth checking out.
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    83
    Ultimately, this is the type of title that will live in my handheld for months, like Honeycomb Beat and Planet Puzzle League before it – a simple, wildly addictive puzzler with great presentation and a boatload of content. It brings a nice twist to a classic game, looks great in 3D, and totally distracted me from the massive release field this October – not bad for a "little port" from Japan.
  3. Oct 20, 2011
    78
    Mahjong definitely isn't the most popular puzzle game out there, but Cub3d makes it feel modern and relevant. Simply put, if you are a puzzle fan, you'll enjoy Cub3d.
  4. Dec 14, 2011
    70
    Overall, Mahjong Cub3d is a solid title if you enjoy puzzles and have a fondness for Mahjong Solitaire. At $30, it's a budget title for the 3DS, but it's still a considerable amount of cash. Still, the title packs a solid amount of play time, and it's a refreshing take on a classic game. If you're a puzzle fan looking for a title on the 3DS, Mahjong Cub3d is a good choice.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    70
    Mahjong Cub3D is exactly what it needs to be - a collection of mahjong puzzles with a neat gimmick that works well with the 3DS's display.
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    Mahjong Cub3d is simply mahjong in fully rotatable 3D. I can tell you that it's easy to get into and control, and that it seems to have this gravitational pull on me as a puzzle game fan. I've always liked mahjong, and this 3D twist on the classic formula makes it even more enjoyable and challenging.
  7. Oct 20, 2011
    62
    For the mahjong player on the go, Mahjong Cub3d may be an enticing pickup, but if you've already decided you aren't a fan of mahjong, Cub3d won't change your state of mind.
  8. Oct 30, 2011
    60
    Mahjong CUB3D doesn't revolutionise the game, but it does add an interesting twist.
  9. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    Mahjong Cub3D is intriguing and unique, but the concept doesn't quite work that well.
  10. Oct 27, 2011
    55
    The presentation of the game is lacking. The psychedelic backgrounds are interesting to look at in 3D, but there is only one per mode. The music is also extremely limited, which means turning down the volume is your best course of action.
  11. Nov 30, 2011
    40
    To sum up things, I didn't care for Mahjong Cub3D. I'm all for interesting ways to play established games, and while the developers were clearly trying to change up the formula, I don't feel like it worked.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    6
    Mahjong Cub3d did little to improve the classic Mahjong game style. Further, the control system is not near as intuitive as the 3DS could have allowed for with this type of game, leading to a lackluster experience.

    As a quick game to pass the time idly it does more than a passable job, just don't expect to be amazed. Better interface and tile image choices could have been made to render this game more enjoyable and remove needless frustrations.
    Full Review »