Metroid Prime: Federation Force Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 239 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enlist with a four-player local or online squad in this co-operative sci-fi shooter set in the Metroid universe. Hop in a specialized battle Mech suit and work with your teammates to take down enemy forces and complete objective- based missions. Then, take a break and play a fun, pick-upEnlist with a four-player local or online squad in this co-operative sci-fi shooter set in the Metroid universe. Hop in a specialized battle Mech suit and work with your teammates to take down enemy forces and complete objective- based missions. Then, take a break and play a fun, pick-up game of Blast Ball with fellow troops. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metroid Prime: Federation Force - E3 2015 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 56
  2. Negative: 6 out of 56
  1. Aug 19, 2016
    95
    Metroid Prime: Federation Force is not only the best FPS on the 3DS, but perhaps one of my favorite FPS games ever.
  2. Aug 19, 2016
    80
    Despite the undue hate it has been subjected to over the past year, Metroid Prime: Federation Force is a very impressive, polished and playable package - the only real grumble we have is that during online play the lack of voice chat can become maddening, and the game's built-in chat function is an inadequate substitute.
  3. Aug 19, 2016
    75
    Metroid Prime: Federation Force succeeds at carving out its own identity, but loses a few elements in translation. It’s still Metroid at its core but lacks the masterful execution that the series is known for.
  4. Aug 19, 2016
    70
    Metroid Prime: Federation Force is an ambitious production. It's a solid and fun co-op FPS, but is shamelessly multiplayer-oriented. Is it a true Metroid? We're not sure.
  5. Sep 17, 2016
    60
    It may not be the type of game nearly all Metroid fans desperately want, and it may go ignored due to that, but Metroid Prime: Federation Force is a great example of not only how to make FPS work on the 3DS, but how to successfully do co-operative mission-based multiplayer.
  6. Aug 19, 2016
    55
    Its biggest problem? The three planets are different enough (ice, desert, and gas), but the missions within aren't.
  7. Aug 30, 2016
    35
    There is a core idea here that could’ve worked, but Metroid Prime: Federation Force is nothing short of a disaster due to horribly thought out implementation and shoddy execution.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 51
  2. Negative: 13 out of 51
  1. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    Federation Force blew me away, it is amazing i already completed normal and hard mode and now working to get
    All of the medals. People who
    Federation Force blew me away, it is amazing i already completed normal and hard mode and now working to get
    All of the medals. People who don't enjoy this game are just
    Metroid fans who want nothing different, just metroid games
    Whereas this great Fps game for the 3ds is the best. And proves
    The 3ds is saved again!
    Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2016
    10
    It's a great game that doesn't get the credit it deserves. Too many people are upset it isnt the style game they want so they leave harshIt's a great game that doesn't get the credit it deserves. Too many people are upset it isnt the style game they want so they leave harsh reviews. It's a great game that focuses on team work and a multiplayer experience. I have been playing this game since day 1 and I really enjoy it! I highly recommend getting the game and experiencing the online play for yourself! Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2016
    10
    Metroid Prime: Federation Force is a true masterpiece of the FPS Genre, and expands the Metroid universe with a gripping narrative that leavesMetroid Prime: Federation Force is a true masterpiece of the FPS Genre, and expands the Metroid universe with a gripping narrative that leaves you hooked till the last mission Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2016
    8
    Pretty fun shooting/adventure game especially online. Good customization options and variety in missions. BlastBall mode isn't as good as thePretty fun shooting/adventure game especially online. Good customization options and variety in missions. BlastBall mode isn't as good as the main mode but I guess it's nice to have. Expand
  5. May 13, 2017
    7
    Metroid Prime: Federation Force is the best FPS for the 3DS, because there is no other good FPS games on 3DS. Not to say it is a bad game, itMetroid Prime: Federation Force is the best FPS for the 3DS, because there is no other good FPS games on 3DS. Not to say it is a bad game, it just didn't impress me that much. Including this in a wonderful expansive game library with games such as Zelda: A Link Between Worlds and Super Smash Bros, I feel like they could have done a Galactic Federation-focused game much better. A lot of people say that this game is bad because it is slower than the Metroid games where you are Samus Aran. This is intentional, as you are NOT Samus. No speed booster, spin jump, morph ball, and much mobility. You are a team of clunky Federation tanks tasked with blasting the **** out of the Space Pirates and (for one mission) Metroids. Just because you are using heavy Federation elites doesn't mean it is a slow game. It can actually get very fast-paced at times, especially in rooms that lock you with waves and waves of Space Pirates. I also really like the variation in missions that never fails to provide tension, excitement, and overall hectic moments. My least favorite thing about Federation Force: the lack of a single deathmatch mode. Sure, you can disable other Mechs in Blast Ball, but you cannot lock on to them like the Space Pirates and Metroids. A team deathmatch mode with a slew of (not destroyed) iconic Metroid locations such as Phazon Mines or a rebuilt B.S.L station would be amazing and not worth missing by any means. Also, the limit of 3 planets throughout the entire game was a bit disappointing for a 3DS game. Each environment is amazingly crafted and the enemies haunting each environment can make some moments exciting and sometimes even threatening. The DOOMSEYE mission was amazing, and provided pure excitement and action that made it worth calling a final mission. Samus saving your life TWICE in this mission was also cool and even surprising, and provided another reason to say that a single blind playthrough of this game was well worth it.
    Blast Ball was fun... if you had anyone to play it with. That is all I am saying about it.
    Overall, MPFF was a solid game and still worth the buy, despite the amount of hate it gets.
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2016
    5
    A bland single player experience graced with a fun but bland multiplayer experience, metroid prime federation force is just another soullessA bland single player experience graced with a fun but bland multiplayer experience, metroid prime federation force is just another soulless sci fi shooter and does nothing else to impress newcomers or fans of the series

    56%
    Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2017
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Federation Farce is not a Metroid game, or even a good game in general. If you disagree, I would highly recommend playing through the rest of the Series (Fusion, Super, the prime games of which only 3 exist at time of writing, et cetera)

    If you still feel the need to defend this shameless insult to the Metroid name and fanbase, find the nearest cliff and take a nice long walk.
    Expand

See all 51 User Reviews