NightSky Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NightSky is an ambient action-puzzle game that offers a gameplay experience unlike any other cerebral challenges fill uniquely designed picturesque worlds. Each of these worlds is broken into different areas in which the player must maneuver a sphere by using realistic physics to advance.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    100
    No guns, no damsel in distress, no witty vocal main character, but easily one of the most memorable experiences anyone will ever have on a Nintendo 3DS.
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    100
    Nintendo fans have been waiting a long time for NightSky, and they won't be disappointed. The finished product is gorgeous, flawlessly designed and bracingly atmospheric, with perfect controls, clever puzzles, and an endlessly evolving play style that will never see you solving the same puzzle the same way twice. Hidden stars, a locked world and an advanced difficulty lend the experience significant replayability, but even if it offered only a single playthrough, it's not an experience that could soon be forgotten. At last, the 3DS eShop has its masterpiece.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    91
    Ultimately, I may have mentioned multiple times that x or y was my favourite part, but in the end I really enjoyed everything this game had to offer.
  4. Oct 26, 2012
    75
    At the moment there's little on the E-Shop that feels quite like what NightSky has to offer, so I do feel like it's worth checking out, even if it's not quite a flawless experience.
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    75
    A small, simple, smart and very well made game, perfect for portable gaming, with a really nice atmosphere and good longevity. Nothing particularly new, though.
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    75
    Despite the somewhat forced feel of the mysterious vibe, Nightsky is still a good game. The ten different worlds offer a good amount of levels that need to be solved in different ways. A good combination of puzzles and skill.
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    58
    Neat ambient tone is shattered by design confusion and physics frustration. [May 2013, p.79]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    This games is really AWESOME!! The perfect game to play in bed using headphones. The art is really great, and the physics implementations andThis games is really AWESOME!! The perfect game to play in bed using headphones. The art is really great, and the physics implementations and the sound are fabulous I'm really waiting a night sky 2 because this is one of the best games I've ever played in a handheld.I recommend Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games this year.
    NightSky is a perfect game for playing at night. The simple graphic aesthetic of sundown with objects
    One of my favorite games this year.
    NightSky is a perfect game for playing at night. The simple graphic aesthetic of sundown with objects simply shown in shadowy outlines turns out to be beautiful, even moreso in 3D.

    I played NightSky years ago at the IGF when it was set to be a WiiWare game. I was unimpressed at the time. The controls were using tilt, which is simply not precise enough for veteran gamers. You can accomplish SO much more with a proper controller, and when I found out that NightSky was using a controller on the 3DS, I was immediately sold.

    The game has a great sense of feeling alone, but not in a totally lonely way. You explore and adventure, solving puzzles and using technique to get through it. The sound and music are muted to further provide that sense of isolation. It's a great game to play to get away from things, unique and different from the noisy shooters and other games that are busy trying to get in your face. NightSky lets you come to it and doesn't try to fake you out or sell you. It just is what it is, and what it is, is a lovely game that no-one should miss.
    Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    A great relaxing game, I could play it for hours or enjoy the music, it's so simple that it is amazing. Roughly described, is a world of gooA great relaxing game, I could play it for hours or enjoy the music, it's so simple that it is amazing. Roughly described, is a world of goo platformer but so much more. You know nicalis is a great developer, it's a great purchase. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    Looking for a game where ambiance, simplicity, creativity, and challenge coexist? This is your title. While the price could be slightly lower,Looking for a game where ambiance, simplicity, creativity, and challenge coexist? This is your title. While the price could be slightly lower, after playing this title for a little over 2 hours (Non-stop), I still haven't finished the entire game. This game doesn't let you get frustrated so quickly either with it's ambient music and calming scenery.

    Should you buy it? If ambiance is a puzzle game appeals to you, seriously, don't hesitate.
    Collapse
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    This is possibly one of the best games on the 3DS, the simple graphics and the atmosphere is so relaxing, the music and sound effects are alsoThis is possibly one of the best games on the 3DS, the simple graphics and the atmosphere is so relaxing, the music and sound effects are also very relaxing, and everything else is just relaxing. Expand