Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    100
    The best thing I can say about Pokemon Y is that the various design tweaks and visual upgrades brings out the joy of this world to match that first time you caught a Pokemon or beat a gym leader.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    100
    A true evolution of the series, Pokemon X and Y is the most important, expansive, exciting monster-battling title since the earlier days of the franchise.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    100
    Pokemon X / Y is the perfect version we were dreaming about 17 years ago.
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    97
    Y? Because you'll love it.
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    96
    With Pokémon X and Y, Nintendo may have become their worst enemy; they've outdone themselves so much that it's difficult to see how the series could get any better.
  7. Oct 23, 2013
    96
    Fans of Pokémon will be in familiar territory while newcomers will have a great time learning the ropes. It never deviates from the norm too much, but what X and Y does and does brilliantly, is the improvements to connectivity and game progression.
  8. Oct 11, 2013
    95
    Some of us love the "stale" old Pokemon foundation, and we're happy to get it looking as good as it's ever looked. I want to walk around in grass and toss my balls in a magic dog's face, and that's exactly what I get from X and Y. That I get it with beautifully animated combat and gorgeous, vivid colors just totally seals the deal.
  9. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Pokemon X and Y made me feel like I was back on the middle school playground, vying for real-life superiority in battle and communing in trade. I didn't think games could still make me feel that way — but I'm so glad to be proven wrong.
  10. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Not revolution, but regeneration. The Pokémon series takes a step forward energizing the classic gameplay formula with new and interesting twists and tweaks, like megaevolutions. A must-have for Nintendo 3DS owners.
  11. Oct 24, 2013
    94
    Though Game Freak is sometimes criticized for recycling gameplay in the Pokémon franchise, they've really outdone themselves with these games. Highly recommended.
  12. Oct 16, 2013
    93
    Pokémon X/Y represent one of the largest steps the franchise has taken since its beginnings. The main game mode is not only vast, but fun. Anyone who gets through the initial portion of the game will found a deep and complex RPG experience and a rich competitive side that is more accessible than ever. It doesn't matter if they are veterans or newcomers; every 3DS owner need this game.
  13. It's still one of the most accessible yet deep role-playing games around. It's still going to capture the hearts and imaginations of kids and adults alike. And, yes, you'll still want to catch 'em all.
  14. Nov 27, 2013
    92
    The biggest change in Pokemon's history. [Christmas 2013, p.80]
  15. Oct 5, 2013
    92
    From the first moment you boot up this game you will know you are playing the future of Pokémon.
  16. Oct 4, 2013
    92
    Pokémon comes back with another adventure, as fun and addictive as always, with a great visual evolution that suits it really well. It's yet another must-have on 3DS.
  17. 3D Visuals transformed the classic Pokemon approach in a good way. Online capabilities are top notch, this new generation will really make Pokemon fans happy.
  18. Dec 13, 2013
    90
    The best Pokemon game since Gold and Silver. It’s worth buying a 3DS. [13/2013, p.76]
  19. Nov 22, 2013
    90
    Pokemon X and Y are definitely two of the best games in the series to date.
  20. Nov 7, 2013
    90
    The game's campaign is quite simple to no avail, and some features should be refreshed. However, underneath its puerile skin there are hidden the best executed Pokémons with their traditionally catchy gameplay, pleasing both young and mature gamers. There's no reason for fans of the series to be hesitant, and the rest of you should know the meaning of our number nine - one of the best RPGs of the year.
  21. Oct 30, 2013
    90
    It’s - once again - the best version available, and the updates really are significant this time around.
  22. Oct 26, 2013
    90
    Small improvements make the game better in ways I didn’t even know I wanted. The ease of online connectivity and interacting with players from around the world makes these games even more immersive and entertaining. Finally bringing the franchise into the third dimension makes the game look and feel like nothing we’ve experienced yet.
  23. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    Pokemon X&Y set a new high point for the series with beautiful, new 3D graphics, evolved gameplay and amazing online features. Simply put, it's the perfect opportunity to fall in love with Pokemon all over again.
  24. Oct 23, 2013
    90
    It’s a coming of age story, essentially, with the saccharine beginnings of a jolly jaunt giving way to harsher challenges along the way.
  25. Oct 21, 2013
    90
    X & Y are two of the best 3DS games available and succeed in making Pokémon feel next-gen.
  26. Oct 21, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re a new or old Pokemon fan, X and Y is one of the best offerings from Game Freak yet, if not the very best.
  27. 90
    I found it to be surprisingly challenging, and while it may a bit too easy for veterans of previous games I think it’s a great.
  28. Oct 16, 2013
    90
    Unquestionably the finest Pokémon game for years, Y offers a huge challenge in many other ways than just the battles – and there is so much to enjoy.
  29. Oct 15, 2013
    90
    This is one of the best installments in the series, and the new mechanics introduced in X and Y could turn into something even more significant and refined in the future, paving the way for truly spectacular evolution.
  30. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    Having taken huge steps forward in graphical, world, and interface design along with connectivity, Pokémon X/Y is a refreshing game to play.
  31. Oct 13, 2013
    90
    At a glance Pokémon X and Pokémon Y did seem like a standard leap in numbers and a new look, but upon diving into the new world, it's more than just a pair of new Pokémon games.
  32. Oct 10, 2013
    90
    Pokemon X / Y is, undoubtedly, the evolution of the species. The latest work by Game Freak fits into one of the most solid structures ever created on the handheld console, in a series that needed important innovations to dispose of the outdated mechanics. One of the best chapters since the very first adventures of the series.
  33. Oct 9, 2013
    90
    With Pokémon X and Y, GameFreak finally delivers on the big promise: a Pokémon game in which the pocket monsters actually come to life. That the game is also filled to the brim with content, makes X and Y the ultimate Pokémon generation.
  34. Oct 9, 2013
    90
    The core formula has had slow refinements enacted upon it for generations, but X/Y feel like a triumphant return to the central philosophy that made Red/Blue great – these are games about exploration, and getting in touch with that childish joy of the undiscovered. A game that prompts that in both adults and children can be considered nothing other than a success.
  35. 90
    Pokémon X & Y do not change the formula of the series but has undoubtedly modified some bases already established. Never before has there been so many novelties to come at once and this is precisely why you will want to play it.
  36. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Nintendo brings a new generation of Pokémon on 3DS. With more depth and some new interesting take on the old formula, it succeeds in creating an engrossing and fascinating adventure.
  37. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Although it is never outlandishly difficult, it balances and becomes much more compelling as the challenge ramps up.
  38. Oct 5, 2013
    90
    In 1996 Game Freak created some kind of a ritual that still remains untouched today with Pokémon X and Y, which, besides being the most ambitious game in the series, is the cherry on top for a spectacular year for 3DS.
  39. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    All told, it's an impressive accomplishment, and a great start for the series on the Nintendo 3DS. I have no idea what the future holds, but for another few years at least, the beat will go right on for what may be the most important series on any Nintendo platform.
  40. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    That aside, X and Y are great editions to the Pokemon franchise, ideal for gamers who walked away from the series and hardcore fans who have been there the whole way. On that note, generation six is a mega evolution of its own. With this in mind, we highly recommend X and Y for any Pokemon fan or 3DS owner looking to complete their game collections.
  41. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Once again, Game Freak hits the nail squarely on the head, making Pokémon X and Y an excellent new addition to the series' expansive library.
  42. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Tried and true mechanics get a much-needed refresh in the most interesting and engrossing Pokémon adventure in many a year. Take Magikarp's advice and Splash out on this at once.
  43. 90
    New Pokémon games often introduce minor features like this but they often feel like slim justification for a new game, and are abandoned the instant a new sequel comes out. Most of X and Y’s new ideas are more substantial, or at least more fun, and help to cement this as the definitive Pokémon game of the modern age.
  44. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Most importantly, the game seems to have been designed with usability in mind, while also maintaining the endless reams of Pokémon trivia and esoteric references that longtime fans demand.
  45. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    For the young, the game is a soothing promise that, if you work hard, concentrate and look after others, victory and success will be yours. For the young at heart it's a warm reminder of the childlike thrills of discovery, compilation and care.
  46. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Pokémon X and Y are the best Pokémon versions ever made. The new 3D graphics are astounding and the nostalgia effect when playing many of the most famous first/second generation Pokémon is overwhelming. The ultimate evolution of the series, a new standard for every Pokémon game to come.
  47. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    Building on five generations of games, a digital menagerie of captivating creatures, and a wide range of diverse regions to explore, Pokemon X and Y proves this formulaic portable role-playing series can still deliver an innovative experience.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 471 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 98
  2. Negative: 2 out of 98
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Any pokemon fan can get this game and enjoy. This game is pretty fun and has beautiful visuals too. Every aspect of pokemon has been improved with pokemon x and y. Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    Pokémon has been around for several years, and today marks another day in the history of this franchise. Two new games called X and Y have been released to start the sixth generation of this beloved series. Can those games still provide us with the fun we had all these years?

    You start of as either a boy, Callum, or a girl, Serena. You just moved into town but you're introduced to the other characters pretty quick. When you walk outside, you meet the opposite protagonist and Shauna. Shortly after you are introduced to two more characters and it seems that they are a whole bunch of friends. You get your first starter and a new journey has officially begun. Story-wise this game is pretty simple, but it gets pretty deep as you meet the new antagonists Team Flare. They start of as a silly team with a terrible taste of fashion, but don't let the cover fool you. While playing through the game, you'll discover that they aren't just a team out for money. They are far more villainous than that.

    This game introduced us to a lot of new mechanics, too much to cover here actually. For that reason, I'm only covering the two most popular mechanics: the Fairy type and Mega Evolutions. The Fairy-type are new kinds of pokémon discovered within the Kalos region, which gives the dragon nation another run for their money. And here is the big one: Mega Evolutions. To mention it in short, they are new forms of Pokémon their final evolution, with boosted stats and awesome designs. Many pokémon have these already, and currently even more are being discovered. The only problem is that some pokémon have them and some won't. Also, it is guaranteed that pokémon which have these certain Mega Evolutions will not have another evolution. But looking through that, this is definitely a great new addition to the franchise.

    Pokémon designs are always a hit or miss for me. This generation only included 69 pokémon so far, but I have to say that I like most of them, with a few exceptions. And therefore, I prefer quality over quantity, and Gamefreak realised that and did their best with the designs.

    Those games introduced so much to the franchise, and will definitely keep you busy for a lot of hours.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Pokemon X and y is beautiful. I have not yet gone fully through the game, but i already know how awesome it is. Pokemon X and y is THE BEST pokemon games to date and no doubt about that.; The new pokemon, your friends, the visuals, the new mechanics(especially mega evolution and super training), pokemon amie all add up to game that if you have a 3ds, you can NOT pass up. If you don't have a 3ds and don't want to pay as much for it, this game is almost as enjoyable in the 2ds, minus the epic 3d in battles. YOU MUST GET POKEMON X AND Y! Full Review »