Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask 3DS

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Nov 2, 2012
    70
    Fundamentally, it's hard to bear a grudge against a game with such generosity of spirit and pleasant delivery. But having tangled with mythical sea beasts and alternate Londons, isn't it time for Layton to solve the greatest mystery of all: where does he go next.
  2. Oct 26, 2012
    70
    Layton is a good distance removed from the hysteria that surrounded his debut title, then, but the fifth game in this stylised series is enough to keep you entertained.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    70
    Some great puzzles, but we know this formula by now.
  4. Nov 23, 2012
    70
    Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask does not upend the series' tried and true formula. It's still a delightful puzzle game embalmed in an engaging adventure, filled with eccentric characters in an exciting world. But it would be lovely to see something new added to the core.
  5. 70
    From a technical standpoint Professor Layton and The Miracle Mask is a decent game. While some puzzles are enhanced by the 3D capabilities of the hardware, the gameplay formula has changed very little save for the new investigation mode.
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    70
    Whilst not performing any great new feats, The Miracle Mask is a solid first 3DS addition to the Layton franchise.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Fantastic! This whole series is the best of the Nintendo DS! I recommend this game to everyone. You won't regret this purchase even if youFantastic! This whole series is the best of the Nintendo DS! I recommend this game to everyone. You won't regret this purchase even if you haven't played any of the other 4 in the series before this one. The puzzles are the best in the business. Plus, as a bonus you get one puzzle download a day for the next 365 days! 150 + 365 = 515 puzzles total by October 28, 2013! A+ 10/10. Full Review »
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Great Music, Puzzles and Story, so anybody who enjoys this kind of game will have a top-notch dose of entertainment.
    Returning fans can
    Great Music, Puzzles and Story, so anybody who enjoys this kind of game will have a top-notch dose of entertainment.
    Returning fans can expect more of the same, shaken up by a whole new top-down puzzle section that involves evading mummies and boulder puzzles.
    The Story is a tease, even though it's technically finished in itself it sets up the last game perfectly.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    While Lost Future still contains my favourite story, Miracle Mask definitely has the best gameplay in a Layton game to date. I go to exploreWhile Lost Future still contains my favourite story, Miracle Mask definitely has the best gameplay in a Layton game to date. I go to explore these underground ruins, expecting it to be a series of doors locked by puzzles, and the game actually turns into a dungeon crawler, while still maintaining the Layton style of using your brain to get through. The game's villain escapes being pursued by Layton and co on horseback, and you actually get to control this section and give chase. The new 3D puzzles are all excellent uses of what the 3DS can do. The story is incredibly interesting, miles better than Spector's call, (which is an achievement) telling the story of how Layton lost his best friend in the past, and at the same time showing us this beautiful city being under constant attacks by the "masked gentleman" and his "miracles". Seeing the two timelines intersect made for some really good storytelling. I'd definitely recommend this. Full Review »