Project X Zone 3DS

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 142
  2. Negative: 23 out of 142
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    Project X Zone is simply a straight forward Tactical-RPG with emphasis on a Capcom styled fight sequence for each of it's battles. Though it can seem immersive at times, the gameplay can feel a little shallow considering that combos can be easily pulled off easily and one of the main strategies for clearing each stage revolves around keeping your units together and either clearing out theProject X Zone is simply a straight forward Tactical-RPG with emphasis on a Capcom styled fight sequence for each of it's battles. Though it can seem immersive at times, the gameplay can feel a little shallow considering that combos can be easily pulled off easily and one of the main strategies for clearing each stage revolves around keeping your units together and either clearing out the weaker units before sending them on an all-out assault. Roster wise, it's amazing to see Megaman X gain recognition after Megaman's horrendous appearance in Street Fighter X Tekken and each and every character have some amazing voice acting followed up. Though I can understand why a majority of characters are Japanese anime stereotypes, but I find it questionable why Sega excluded characters such as Sonic the Hedgehog, Nights, Ryo Hakazuki, and not a single character to Skies of Arcadia. The story can prove to be another weak point since most of the characters seem to be easily swallowed up into the plot due to the large cast of characters. Though I've only register a few hours, Project X Zone is an amazing title, though it could have had some additional gameplay elements. If you're a huge fan of any of the four developers who helped out with this game or simply need a RPG for the summer then look no further. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    As a quirky, fan service-y type game, Project X Zone achieves what it sets out to do. It's a fun, throw together type of game that's a real treat for fans. It unfortunately falls into the shadow of superior strategy RPGs like the recent Fire Emblem Awakening, which is unfair because although PXZ appears to be a strategy RPG, it's a very different type of game that focuses more on theAs a quirky, fan service-y type game, Project X Zone achieves what it sets out to do. It's a fun, throw together type of game that's a real treat for fans. It unfortunately falls into the shadow of superior strategy RPGs like the recent Fire Emblem Awakening, which is unfair because although PXZ appears to be a strategy RPG, it's a very different type of game that focuses more on the action side of combat than the actual strategy. It's cheap for a reason and well worth playing for fans of any of the many series that are represented in the game (of which there are around 30). Project X Zone is a rare treat for Japanese gaming fans and it's great that Namco Bandai went to the trouble of translating the game for the Western audiences. It's not supposed to be the best game ever, just a bit of fun for the fans and damn is it fun. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    I can definitely say that the story mode is long enough, and makes enough sense. Maybe one of the things that isn't very good in this game is the limited number of moves on the map. This along with the fact that you can beat your opponent without doing any fancy shcmancy combos, that are definitely necessary in regular fighting games. The element of randomness also helps the score, somehowI can definitely say that the story mode is long enough, and makes enough sense. Maybe one of the things that isn't very good in this game is the limited number of moves on the map. This along with the fact that you can beat your opponent without doing any fancy shcmancy combos, that are definitely necessary in regular fighting games. The element of randomness also helps the score, somehow both suffer and stay relatively high. Overall, 6.4/10 Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2015
    5
    After two years I finally mustered the willpower to slog through the last of Project X Zone. Really, the game has a major issue with dragging on well past the point where it stops being enjoyable. The first half of the game is a pleasure, as you meet new characters and learn new moves while honing your skills with the battle system. The next ten missions have the story starting to come toAfter two years I finally mustered the willpower to slog through the last of Project X Zone. Really, the game has a major issue with dragging on well past the point where it stops being enjoyable. The first half of the game is a pleasure, as you meet new characters and learn new moves while honing your skills with the battle system. The next ten missions have the story starting to come to a head. The adrenaline rush of the first twenty missions keep you pushing towards the ending, even as the novelty of the battle system has worn off. Then... the story doesn't end. It keeps going. For another fifteen missions that get increasingly long. Level design is awful even early on, as the game seems to have no way to ramp difficulty up besides "throw more dudes in with more health", and the game completely falls apart into menial busywork as you repeat your perfectly honed moves on enemies that have no difference from one another besides appearance, all the way through until the finale. Project X Zone was a game I was fully ready to give a nice positive rating to, but the story went nowhere, the battles became boring, the characters never evolved, and I honestly couldn't play much more than a level at a time without throwing the game down and playing something else for at least a few weeks to refresh the novelty a little. Positives? Well, the music's good, though a bit low quality for the 3DS. The spritework is gorgeous, and it helps a lot with snagging your interest with just how amazing it all flows. At 60 hours it's a long game (though really I would have preferred a tighter, shorter game, maybe around 30 hours instead). If you can find it cheap the first half might be worth the price of entry. Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2013
    7
    Usually I hate games like this. Games that sacrifice story, character development, and anything else revolving around the plot for great gameplay usually aren't what I go for. But that's exactly what this game does and I love it for some reason. First off, the plot is pure nonsense. I honestly stopped trying to pay attention to what was going on because it was so convoluted that it wasUsually I hate games like this. Games that sacrifice story, character development, and anything else revolving around the plot for great gameplay usually aren't what I go for. But that's exactly what this game does and I love it for some reason. First off, the plot is pure nonsense. I honestly stopped trying to pay attention to what was going on because it was so convoluted that it was almost pointless to keep following, especially since they add a new character every chapter, with your final party being somewhere in the neighborhood of 30-40 separate characters to play. But the game is just so much fun. The fighting system was made for handhelds and I can't think of a system that was more perfectly designed for the handheld market than this one. Do I think it would work on a console? Yes but not nearly as well. I do feel like I overpaid for this game when I bought it for 30 bucks a few months back but I don't exactly regret my decision as it's given me hours of fun going around and playing with the fighting system. It definitely won't win any awards this year but there's something to be said about the value that fun brings to a game sometimes. If you can overlook the fact that pretty much everything else about the game is mediocre/below average, then you'll really enjoy this game. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2013
    7
    Project X Zone is targeted at very specific gamers and is overwhelmingly limited beyond that; while the crossover concept is overall excellent and has a variety of characters from franchise favorites such as Mega Man, Resident Evil, Street Fighter, Tekken, etc., the stories and dialogues of the characters become far too confusing to make it all worth viewing. And gameplay becomesProject X Zone is targeted at very specific gamers and is overwhelmingly limited beyond that; while the crossover concept is overall excellent and has a variety of characters from franchise favorites such as Mega Man, Resident Evil, Street Fighter, Tekken, etc., the stories and dialogues of the characters become far too confusing to make it all worth viewing. And gameplay becomes horrendously repetitive with very limited tactic settings and special attacks that are all style, no substance. But that being said, the anime/16-bit style visuals throughout the game will pleasure many of the franchise's fandoms and maybe even some of those unfamiliar with the lesser known ones (ahem, Sega's). Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2013
    5
    Fun at first but drags most of the way through. The main characters of the game are Kite and BlackRose, if those are not the characters you like too bad. The actual main characters Mii and Kogoro take a back seat to these boring .hack characters. Despite people saying the story is confusing, its not. Its just so simple, and the characters are so stupid it confuses people. Its like aFun at first but drags most of the way through. The main characters of the game are Kite and BlackRose, if those are not the characters you like too bad. The actual main characters Mii and Kogoro take a back seat to these boring .hack characters. Despite people saying the story is confusing, its not. Its just so simple, and the characters are so stupid it confuses people. Its like a Saturday morning cartoon in story quality. Let me sum it up, bad guy wants to take over all of time and space and good guys want to stop him. I did enjoy the fun combat system, but that can't keep the game going alone. Unless you a huge .hack fan, this game will not be that fun. Every other RPG I have played on the 3DS has been better than this. Every character is a glass cannon, where is the class differences? Expand
  8. Feb 19, 2015
    5
    This game is hard to evaluate.
    Game is ok, art is superb, gameplay duration is horrible. SUPERB as fanservice.
    The game is passable, actually it can be good.... but oh god.. somebody should had to tell the team that 60+hours repeating the same gameplay was too much. If that game would last 20 hours would be far way better... the story is totally laughable and the gameplay fits better in
    This game is hard to evaluate.
    Game is ok, art is superb, gameplay duration is horrible. SUPERB as fanservice.
    The game is passable, actually it can be good.... but oh god.. somebody should had to tell the team that 60+hours repeating the same gameplay was too much.
    If that game would last 20 hours would be far way better... the story is totally laughable and the gameplay fits better in those 20 hours.
    you will spend most of the other 40 hours just repeating the same.
    the issue is that what you do in the game is not bad at all , is *** cool. The animations, the character and the combos and awesome.
    The game lacked difficulty (except the last battle.... IF i would fail there i would not play it again...).
    Expand
  9. Feb 20, 2015
    5
    Project X Zone feels like a game made by a young child. It throws logic and reason to the wind and mashes together characters from many different franchises in one confusing mess. It lacks direction, depth, and tries to sell itself on the value of the characters alone. To be fair, it portrays all the franchises well and has reference materials in-game so you can understand all that goesProject X Zone feels like a game made by a young child. It throws logic and reason to the wind and mashes together characters from many different franchises in one confusing mess. It lacks direction, depth, and tries to sell itself on the value of the characters alone. To be fair, it portrays all the franchises well and has reference materials in-game so you can understand all that goes on, but it still feels like too much to take for casual fans of a few of the franchises. At times it shows promise of a good crossover, such as the house of the dead chapter featuring many zombies and zombie hunters across the companies trading quips and references, but otherwise it suffers from too many characters taking far too long to do anything, making me wonder why the game doesn't make you choose only a select few members for a mission instead of forcing you to control an army one unit at a time

    In short, this game SEVERELY needed fine-tuning so the game could be more interesting and less repetitive, as well as having a more complete story and a more interesting gallery of enemies for you to fight instead of an overwhelming majority from a couple of franchises with some others sprinkled in for variety.
    Expand
  10. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    Narrative:

    Be warned, do not attempt to wrap your brain around Project X Zone’s fractured fairy tale. Stringing together a cohesive plot with hundreds of characters from multiple franchises across three companies is a train wreck waiting to happen. While the narrative might not make much logical sense, I doubt even the likes of Hideo Kojima could turn this mess into a masterpiece. The
    Narrative:

    Be warned, do not attempt to wrap your brain around Project X Zone’s fractured fairy tale. Stringing together a cohesive plot with hundreds of characters from multiple franchises across three companies is a train wreck waiting to happen. While the narrative might not make much logical sense, I doubt even the likes of Hideo Kojima could turn this mess into a masterpiece. The overarching story is your standard save the world trope. How exactly does this diverse cast find themselves in the same game? Simple: A mysterious stone has been stolen by a group of baddies which has the ability to merge these realities into one world.

    To Monolith’s credit it’s evident a genuine effort was put forth to relate the characters, however different, to one another. For instance, when Ling Xiaoyu of Tekken bumps into Pai of Virtua Fighter, she instantly recognizes her as a martial arts action movie star. Just one of the little exchanges of dialogue between characters that adds to the charm of the game. It helps elevate an otherwise average narrative and is the kind of humorous banter which truly makes the game endearing.

    Audio:

    Monolith also took advantage of the rich soundscape afforded to them because of this team up. The music of each franchise is almost as iconic as the characters themselves. There are a few original tracks, but for the most part the soundtrack is filled with memorable remixed versions of these classic melodies. There is something indescribably amazing about doing battle as the opening stage music to Mega Man X4 blares through your speakers. Even obscure songs, such as ‘Primitive Force (Theme of our Hero)’ from Sega’s Gain Ground, make it in the mix. This all adds to the previously mentioned fan service found in the story.

    The original Japanese voice overs have been kept intact for the American release. This is much preferred over an English dub which would have been expensive and unnecessary.

    Visuals:

    As an avid fan of all things 2S, PXZ is a testament to the goodness of sprite artwork. Considering the hundreds of characters which had to to be individually translated into sprites then animated, it’s an impressive feat. Each character is drawn in a similar style to fit within the world of PXZ. For the most part this translation works well with just a few exceptions (I’m can’t put my finger on it but sometimes the polygon characters look a tad off).

    Beyond the fidelity of the sprites is the fluid animation. Every character has dozens of unique animations along with a handful of special/super attack animations. Four to five characters on screen at once showering the enemy with a flurry of attacks looks awesome if not rather visually assaulting.

    Gameplay:

    This is where the game distances itself from other tactics based RPGs. If you’re familiar with the Super Robot Wars series you’ll be fairly comfortable with the controls from the word go. Like its brethren, battles take place on an isometric grid. Though it’s when a your hero faces off against an enemy that the perspective changes to a side scrolling, dare I say, fighting game style. Dubbed the “Cross Active Battle System”, you control a single hero or a pair of heros who can utilize different button combinations to attack the enemy in real time. Not only are the number of attacks limited but juggling baddies becomes integral. Juggled enemies cannot block which then allows you to continue your barrage of attacks giving you the ability to pull off the aforementioned seizure inducing super moves.

    You also have control of support allies who can join the fray by attacking the enemy via the “Support Hit” and “Cross Hit” abilities. If your hero of choice happens to be in close enough proximity to another hero, you can call on them to inflict a special attack on the enemy in the middle of the battle. Therein lies part of the depth and strategy. Timing is absolutely essential to pulling off massively damaging combos.

    There were a few small lingering issues. Such as the way the in game scenery seems to get in my way from time to time when I’m trying to plan my attack. Lastly there will always be the complaint of “Why isn’t character “X” in this game?!” To that I say deal with it. You can’t make everyone happy. I feel the characters selected for the game are a healthy mix of the iconic to the obscure.

    Conclusion:

    In the end you pretty much already know if you’re going to like this game or not. There’s no deep underlying themes or story line. It’s an addictively fun Japanese action RPG with all the fan service any Namco, Sega, or Capcom fan could want. It trades long winded exposition for pulse pounding exhibition. For that I absolutely love it. You can tell the Monolith loves these franchises as much as their respective fans.

    If you can appreciate Project X Zone for the highly tuned experience it is, you’ll find yourself lost in a game with few equals in terms of both gameplay and fun.
    Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. Nov 10, 2013
    75
    It's a very good title, but one that requires a lot of patience.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    60
    It’s not easy to dislike Project X Zone, not only for its popular characters but also because it can be fun if played in small amounts, maybe a chapter a day.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2013
    70
    Devoid of tactical depth and exhaustingly repetitive - yet somehow still entertaining and enjoyable, if taken in moderation. [Sept 2013, p.76]