Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the Glade of Dreams is overrun by "nefurrious" Darktoons, the Fairy Council hastily invokes Rayman to save the day; but the hero of light isn’t quite all there…To help him, Rayman teams up with his best friend, Globox, and two crafty wizards, the Teensies. Together, the world’s mostWhen the Glade of Dreams is overrun by "nefurrious" Darktoons, the Fairy Council hastily invokes Rayman to save the day; but the hero of light isn’t quite all there…To help him, Rayman teams up with his best friend, Globox, and two crafty wizards, the Teensies. Together, the world’s most hilarious team of heroes will need to restore peace to the Glade or watch as their beloved home vanishes like a bad dream... Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    85
    Just because it didn't reach the bar set by the Wii version doesn't mean the title isn't great--after all, the bar was set so high that very few games could touch it. [June 2012, p.86]
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    80
    A port that's slower, blurrier, and missing multiplayer, but for all that it's still the 3DS' best non-Mario platformer. Beautiful, fluid and packed with value. [July 2012, p.97]
  3. The 3DS version of Origins has the soul of an outstanding platformer, but the body's been lost in translation. If you really want to enjoy Rayman Origins, if you've any love for the 2D platforming genre at all, respectfully sidestep it on 3DS and invest in the Wii version.
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    If you haven't yet enjoyed Rayman Origin and you want to do it on your 3DS anywhere you are, this is better than nothing, as the game is already a classic. But this adaptation is a bit disappointing technical wise.
  5. Jun 14, 2012
    69
    At its core this still is a challenging and beautifully crazy old school platform adventure. But technical faults like framerate problems and the low quality soundtrack make it difficult to love Rayman in 3D.
  6. Jun 11, 2012
    60
    There's a great game struggling to escape the apparent confines of the 3DS here, but weak visuals and terrible sound make it a purchase only for those that can't play it any other way.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    Rayman Origins is a unique, well designed platformer with loads of personality that simply doesn't feel right on the 3DS.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Jun 14, 2012
    8
    The 3DS version seems like it's almost directly taken from the home console versions, which isn't surprising, but other than being 3D, andThe 3DS version seems like it's almost directly taken from the home console versions, which isn't surprising, but other than being 3D, and having a bottom screen, there's really no difference. I'm still going to give it an 8 because it's a great game in it's own right, they just could 've added a few extra things for the 3DS. On the PlayStation Vita they added the feature of being able to touch enemies to pop them once they have been bubbleized. This may sound like a small feature, but it's things like this that define it for the console you're playing it on. Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    Well i be honest i cant see why everyone is hating on this game? possibly because there comparing it to HD console versions or the fact gameWell i be honest i cant see why everyone is hating on this game? possibly because there comparing it to HD console versions or the fact game doesn't have local 4 player co-op which to me is no big deal. i bought it the other day for £18 pound and Ive got nothing but praise for it. Am not comparing this to any other version as am taking it on its own merits and what Ive played Ive enjoyed alot. Yes it has few faults no 4 player option which for me is not big draw. And you cant play as teenise's on 3DS version which is shame. Other than that i personal thought gameplay was great and really enjoyed it. Graphics specially in underwater levels look beautiful and while character aren't as detailed or crisp they do there job just as well. All 60 levels are present plus the huge boss battles, string of chest challenges, time attack levels and few unlockable costumes for two playable characters - Rayman and Globlox are present. There are few really cool flying levels and very tricky platforming treats around every corner. Ive notices 4 drops of slowdown in some of later levels but nothing game breaking. 3D while not "SUPER POP OUT" makes levels feel very pretty and gives them nice sense of depth which i really liked. Other reviews mention blurry textures which are there but again doesn't make the game ugly or unpleasing to eye. Personal this best 2D plaftformer Ive picked up in ages and if you enjoy this type of game then ill think you'll get kick out of it! BTW this game also has 32 achievements and use's streetpass function on 3DS. Collapse
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    After actually completing the game i can say the following: ITS THE SAME GAME AS OTHER VERSIONS!, Despite having poorly adapted visuals andAfter actually completing the game i can say the following: ITS THE SAME GAME AS OTHER VERSIONS!, Despite having poorly adapted visuals and sound, it feels the same... You'll found here the same level of fun and addictiveness, with a 3D effect that sometimes impresses and the same platforming goodness that is on other platformers. So, if you want a portable version of the game and don't have a Vita don't doubt and get it! You'll not regret. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2013
    6
    This Version make you feel like a long jump into a obscure abyss, the others versions of this wonderful platformer are incredible, i had mixedThis Version make you feel like a long jump into a obscure abyss, the others versions of this wonderful platformer are incredible, i had mixed feelings when i played, enjoyed the gameplay but couldn't forget about how good this can looks in the others consoles, minus to Ubisoft for release this unfinished and downgrade version. Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2014
    6
    Ladies and gentlemen, the boys and the girls, this game is not suit for your grandma to play, unless your grandma is really an expert.Ladies and gentlemen, the boys and the girls, this game is not suit for your grandma to play, unless your grandma is really an expert. However! Don't misunderstand what i say, the game is not so difficult for us, the young generation. I know someone may say 'Oh my guard! Wat is wrong With The SizE!" What do you expect from a 3.5 inches screen brother and sister -_- I play this game on my nokia old phone N-Gage , in this more smaller screen maybe you guys can search for nokia n-gage screen size... You may feel terrible rayman size , but i feel 'Oh DEER! OH MY GUARD !!! THIS GAME IS GOD! FREAKING GOOD!" I even play worm on that smaller screen phone than 3ds , but i never complain , your eyes will used to it within a few minutes.... We human sensory system mostly used to compare the differences , so when you zoom out the gameplay on your big big monitor screen find the game terrible tiny , but when you play on 3ds ... HEHEHEHE YOU NOE WAT I MEAN! Nothing bad in the game.. Really good for me, but ps1 is best, because ps1 bring the first surprise to me..... Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    3
    Ugly sound, low resolution, framerate problems - thats all about Rayman Origins on 3DS. If you want to enjoy the game fully - choose theUgly sound, low resolution, framerate problems - thats all about Rayman Origins on 3DS. If you want to enjoy the game fully - choose the version for the Wii. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2012
    2
    A pathetic port. My g*****n cell phone can probably run this game, why did Ubisoft have to port a halved frame rate and tons of lag into thisA pathetic port. My g*****n cell phone can probably run this game, why did Ubisoft have to port a halved frame rate and tons of lag into this game? Personally I thought the graphics were fine, but the fact that the game crawls and stutters, a 2D PLATFORMER crawling and stuttering when the original plays at 60 fps, is pathetic. Along with Rayman 3D's atrocious frame rate, I'm just not sure Ubisoft knows what they're doing anymore. And why did it take so long to release? Expand

See all 12 User Reviews