Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    67
    The promise of a portable and blockbuster RE is mostly realized, and the control improvements and sense of scale translate effectively, but I sincerely hope Capcom chooses to skew from RE's cheesy past and make more memorable adventures moving forward.
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    91
    Resident Evil: Revelations doesn't completely achieve its goal: returns to the survival horror's roots, but it's still a great game, with a great mix of action and survival sections. Definitely, one of the best games available for Nintendo 3DS.
  3. Feb 1, 2012
    81
    On one hand you have the atmospheric stages on board the Queen Zenobia with constant changes between horror and terror elements. Unfortunately in latter levels the classic formula mutates to a simple action game that is average at best, even though visually Revelations is easily one of the most impressive games on the 3DS.
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    80
    There are some issues in the way of variety with enemies, and some missed opportunities for serious survival-horror scares, but on the whole it's still one of the stronger Resi releases we've seen in a while. Definitely worth more than a look in.
  5. Jan 26, 2012
    90
    Resident Evil Revelations was a genuine eye-opener and one hell of a thrill-ride. It handles like a dream, looks magnificent, has a completely immersive score, clever sound design and unique gameplay mechanics taking the series leaps and bounds forward.
  6. 86
    The story is one of the best in Resident Evil's recent history, and the shooter controls are pretty much perfect.
  7. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    Capcom is no stranger to getting the most out of the hardware it develops for, and Resident Evil: Revelations is certainly no exception. A console experience in portable form, this scare-fest cements its place in the Resident Evil series with a solid campaign and highly addictive side mode, together with unyielding gameplay and plot mechanics.
  8. Feb 8, 2012
    90
    Resident Evil: Revelations is a great return to form for the Resident Evil franchise and a wonderful start to 2012 in terms of gaming, if you're looking for something to play on your 3DS or something to play in general, do not hesitate to pick this up.
  9. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Making a handheld game that feels every bit as deep and technically impressive as it's home console cousins is no mean feat, but Capcom have pulled it off in style. Revelations really sets the bar high for third and first party developers on the 3DS.
  10. Feb 6, 2012
    80
    An exhausting game. It's the type of game that demands cigarette breaks between levels, due to how strenuous it can be. It lacks the outright scares of its survival horror influences, but the consistently bleak atmosphere and exigent combat situations make for a game that will drain one's brain in a disconcertingly enjoyable way.
  11. Feb 6, 2012
    87
    Overall, it's one of the best portable survival horror titles I've played in a while-even if it's not all survival horror.
  12. Feb 9, 2012
    80
    The abandoned cruise ship setting evokes a sense of fear and isolation that was missing from its predecessor, rivalling early games in the scare stakes.
  13. Jan 25, 2012
    60
    It takes the best and worst of Resident Evils past and present, and spot welds them together unevenly. If the designers had committed wholeheartedly to either polarity of action or horror, Revelations may have been a headshot, but what we're left with is more like a glancing blow. [Feb 2012, p.112]
  14. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    Resident Evil: Revelations is gorgeous, huge, and offers the most fully-featured online co-op experience on 3DS. The single-player isn't quite the survival horror comeback Capcom promised but, with its brilliant take on score attack, Raid mode ensures Revelations delivers at least once on its title.
  15. 90
    No matter if you´ve been a Resident Evil aficionado for decades or just got to know the world of survival horror, Resident Evil: Revelations will keep you hooked. It will frighten you, it will impress you and won´t let go, until you´ve finally finished its excellent story.
  16. Jan 25, 2012
    90
    Resident Evil: Revelations is a gorgeous showcase of what a Nintendo 3DS is really capable of... and one of the best "modern" chapters of the series.
  17. 80
    If you have a Nintendo 3DS or are considering buying one, Resident Evil Revelations is one of the best propositions that you can find.
  18. Jan 31, 2012
    80
    Although it tries to recover the survival horror feel of the first games in the franchise, Revelations is much more focused on action. This may annoy some fans, but it's a great game anyway.
  19. Feb 8, 2012
    70
    Resident Evil: Revelations is a beautiful game and a welcome addendum to a series that gradually has turned away from its roots. If the story hadn't been chopped to pieces - this game, with its narrow spaces and scarce ammo, would have been able to compete with tense horror titles like Dead Space.
  20. Jan 31, 2012
    85
    Resident Evil Revelations is a quite accomplished mixture of the series' most reknown titles. Borrowing something from the first episode, others from the latest, it succeeds in creating a new formula, appealing to both the new and old fans of the franchise. The game's structure has some minor flaws, but its value is undeniable.
  21. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    The abysmal controls and resulting frustrations are unforgiveable.
  22. Feb 20, 2012
    92
    I was late to hop on the 3DS bandwagon and I only have a handful of the top games for my 3DS so far, but Resident Evil: Revelations is by far one of the best if not "the best" game currently out for the system.
  23. Jan 11, 2012
    90
    The story is interesting with the added bonus of actually being coherent for once, the gameplay feels perfect on 3DS, and it's one of the greatest-looking portable games I've ever seen, especially with the 3D cranked up. [Feb 2012, p.92]
  24. Feb 13, 2012
    85
    I'm not sure I'd buy a 3DS just for Revelations. It's not a system seller, but it's a good, solid third-party title. As an installment in the larger series, it's an interesting and hopeful glimpse of where Resident Evil is going now.
  25. Jan 30, 2012
    90
    All in all, Resident Evil Revelations is one of the strongest entries in the series. For perspective, it took me almost two years to finish RE5 because I just wasn't compelled enough to play it. But with Revelations, I couldn't wait to get back to the Queen Zenobia in between play sessions. I'm crossing my fingers that when RE6 descends upon us, it plays a lot more like this one.
  26. Jan 30, 2012
    90
    For its second coming on the 3DS, Resident Evil treats itself to a splendid come back on the frontlines. Visually stunning, diabolically paced, and at last correctly smoothed out in terms of gameplay, the adventure is a delight, even though it completely lacks... revelations.
  27. Feb 20, 2012
    90
    While some kinks still need to be ironed out, like the off-balanced narrative and some weak moments in the campaign, the game remains one of the best experiences you can find on the system, and rises as the most impressive technical achievement we've seen on Nintendo's 3D handheld so far.
  28. Jan 31, 2012
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  29. Feb 16, 2012
    80
    Despite some issues, Resident Evil: Revelations is a damn fine demonstration of what the 3DS is capable of, and can be acknowledged as the best action game currently available on the handheld. However, where it falters slightly is as an ambassador for a return to former glories for the Resident Evil franchise.
  30. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    As a core game, Revelations proves that the 3DS can not only display amazing console quality graphics, but control just fine as a handheld; with or without the optional circle pad add-on. Revelations comes up short in many respects, but ultimately it may be enough to scratch that Resident itch until Raccoon City and RE6 hit later this year.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 350 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 98
  2. Negative: 2 out of 98
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Great job made by Capcom. The best graphics on 3DS, great story and beautiful soundtrack. A must have sure!. A game thatExcellent game. Great job made by Capcom. The best graphics on 3DS, great story and beautiful soundtrack. A must have sure!. A game that recovers things that RE 5 minimized... You will love this game, ;) Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    AMAZING. Must Buy. Awesome story, graphics sounds, all that stuff. Plus if your still not sure, there's a free, yep i wrote it, free demo. SoAMAZING. Must Buy. Awesome story, graphics sounds, all that stuff. Plus if your still not sure, there's a free, yep i wrote it, free demo. So try it, if you like it then buy it, but if you don't like it don't. Im not going to be one of those annoying people who tells everyone to buy a games even if they hate it. HA!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I bought this a few days ago and can't put it down. I've already reached the halfway point. The graphics are unbelievable, the animations areI bought this a few days ago and can't put it down. I've already reached the halfway point. The graphics are unbelievable, the animations are smooth, the enemies and environments have lots of personality and variation. Raid mode is also a blast. If you are looking for a good 3DS title, a good survival horror game, or something to make you a no-life, this is it. This game is easily a system seller. If you are saving up for a 3DS and one game to buy with it, make it this one, you won't be disappointed. The only minor setbacks this game has are some framerate drops during times when a new area is loading and like most Resident Evil games the dialogue and story are both ridiculous. If those things don't bother you, pick this one up ASAP. Full Review »