Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 90
    While the game makes great use of the 3DS overall, the one area that is worth mentioning is that it lacks any 3D at all, which and it did surprise me, but the game still looks great and the dual screens work very well having the persistent map at the bottom.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    Taken on its own merits, though, free from comparison to the earlier versions, it's hard to see Retro City Rampage DX as anything less than a deranged masterpiece.
  3. 90
    Retro City Rampage: DX is the best open world game to hit a portable system since GTA: Chinatown Wars on the DS.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    82
    Retro City Rampage DX takes the over the top vintage from the original versions of the game, adds an awful amount of enhancements and becomes a very good open world portable game.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    An absolutely delightful and action-packed gem, loaded with references to 1980s pop culture and made even more playable on a handheld, Retro City Rampage: DX brings all that to the 3DS. Players who already have the other versions should reconsider this purchase, though, as it adds little to those.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    Retro City Rampage DX is a short and simple game, but the ingenious and inordinate use of 80s references plus the updates of the portable version make for a unique and innovative experience.
  7. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Apr 13, 2014
    78
    It's cruelly authentic in places, but the bombastic immediacy, improved balance and reverence for the source material are a great fit for 3DS. [Apr 2014, p.90]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 1, 2014
    8
    Great game port, is the weight that I can say positive. Cons are - not disclosed potential 3D (It is not used in the game)
    8/10 for port
    Great game port, is the weight that I can say positive. Cons are - not disclosed potential 3D (It is not used in the game)
    8/10 for port
    9/10 for game
    Full Review »
  2. AQY
    Mar 1, 2014
    10
    That's really a very good game! I would say, that this game is the best eShop Game forever. The Controls a fantastic und the story isThat's really a very good game! I would say, that this game is the best eShop Game forever. The Controls a fantastic und the story is LEGENDARY xD. BUY THIS GAME!!! :D Full Review »
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    I've never had any console besides a 3dsxl and Steam doesn't work on my computer. Therefore, Retro City Rampage had been unplayable for me forI've never had any console besides a 3dsxl and Steam doesn't work on my computer. Therefore, Retro City Rampage had been unplayable for me for a couple of years. When the news came that it would arrive on 3ds I couldn't contain my excitement. I was so excited that I downloaded it at 6:00 am the day it came out. And never once have I regretted the purchase. Retro City Rampage DX is an absolute masterpiece. It's basically GTA in the 90's. Now that may not sound the best but let me finish. First, I'm going to start with the visuals. This game is mastered perfectly for a "retro" feel. There are 13 different radio stations so you can change the music while playing! Plus, you can change the colors to look like any 80's or 90's gaming system. Next, I'll talk about gameplay. The open world city is HUGE! There are over 20 different vehicles to drive and you can customize Player, your avatar, with various hats and glasses. So once you beat the main game, open world wil have you on the run from the cops for years to come. The missions are full of charm, character, and humor! There are 62 missions in all that you can enjoy. Some are WAY easier that others. The first few missions are insanely easy but around level 25 the difficulty spikes. The missions will have you thinking, trying not to get blown up by the cops and, well raging. I mean raging to the point where you'll throw your system out the window! Sometimes the story doesn't make any sense but that's why this is called a parody game. Sometimes you'll be laughing out loud at the games references. Other times you'll be thinking : really? In terms of extras the game is loaded! here's a list of some of them: there are 3 mini games : bit trip runner (WARNING: this one's a rager, epic meal time, and super meat boy, there are shops where you can change your cars color and equip it with guns and missile launchers, various stores that sell various things, countless items for you to find throughout the city, warp pipes to different zones, a casino (you can actually gamble), arcade challenges (fun mini-missions) and much, much more! In conclusion, this game is, in all aspects, perfect and essential for any 3ds owners. This was $10 well spent. GRAPHICS: 10/10. SOUNDTRACK: 10/10. GAMEPLAY: 10/10 EXTRAS/BONUSES/SIDE CONTENT :10/10. LASTING APPEAL: 10/10. FUN: 10/10. Full Review »