Rune Factory 4 3DS

Rune Factory 4 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rune Factory 4 marks the return of the popular Harvest Moon spinoff that combines farming with dungeon adventuring. For the first time in the series, the player can select to play as a male or female hero, and potential suitors of either gender are also available in order to pursue love,Rune Factory 4 marks the return of the popular Harvest Moon spinoff that combines farming with dungeon adventuring. For the first time in the series, the player can select to play as a male or female hero, and potential suitors of either gender are also available in order to pursue love, marriage, and possibly a child. As the newly-appointed prince or princess, you can fulfill your royal duties of protecting the town from invaders, or take a more rural approach to governing by raising your own fruits and vegetables and helping townsfolk. Should some dungeon adventuring be on the days itinerary, you can select from the castles vast armament of swords, spears, and staffs along with magic for battle against dangerous foes, or even bring along a companion or friendly monster to aid you during your travels. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Oct 6, 2013
    91
    Rune Factory 4 is a game that you could easily dive into for twenty minutes or two hours at a time, and it seemingly never ends. There’s always one more thing you can do to improve your station in the town, or the town’s station in the world.
  2. Jan 23, 2015
    82
    A creative proposal that keeps in track with the previous games' gameplay. It becomes redundant after a few hours of battle, but it possess an undoubtful charm.
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    It may not be the best 3DS roleplaying experience, but it’s a darn fine one all the same.
  4. Dec 17, 2014
    80
    It's been a long wait, but it's been worth it. It's an episode that doesn't evolve the formula too much, but that has some new additions and will satisfy fans of the franchise.
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    75
    I definitely think Rune Factory 4 is worth a look, whether you’re a fan of the series or not, as it offers up a pretty unique experience on the 3DS.
  6. Jan 12, 2015
    75
    Fun and colorful, Rune Factory 4 gives the player so many charming things to do, making it a solid entry in the franchise. Although we would have wished some more complexity and deepness of some aspects.
  7. Oct 23, 2013
    60
    It's a solid 3DS title with tons of content to explore, but while the refinements are minimal, it doesn't do enough to launch itself into greatness.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This may be the best Rune Factory or Harvest Moon yet. I can nary find anything wrong with it, and I just can't stop playing. I tried to startThis may be the best Rune Factory or Harvest Moon yet. I can nary find anything wrong with it, and I just can't stop playing. I tried to start playing Pokemon X, but couldn't give up Rune Factory to do it. There's so much to do, so much variety, great characters, a charming story. The controls are really well done, there's no stupid touch screen controls like previous Harvest Moon games. It's very difficult to get bored, as you're constantly looking for more time to do things; to spend a day giving gifts to all the villagers or to expand your farm or to do all the requests or to go dungeon crawling or to go out into the map and forage... If only this game were more popular in the mainstream and not consistently overshadowed and labelled "niche". There's are lots of dungeon crawlers, lots of action RPGs, and some sim games out there all of which could benefit from the influence of Rune Factory. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2015
    10
    I'm an avid fan of many rpgs on the 3DS, and RF4 has taken the spot as my all time favorite. I've put in over 140 hours into this game, andI'm an avid fan of many rpgs on the 3DS, and RF4 has taken the spot as my all time favorite. I've put in over 140 hours into this game, and this is the first game where I've played more than a single file for. I'm only a third finished with what I want to accomplish in this game!

    The characters are beautifully developed; dialogue changes every day, the voice acting is amusing, everyone has their own personality, and they move around town based on their preferences rather than being emotionless NPCs with the same schedule all the time. You will find yourself loving each and every character, whether they are a bachelor, a bachelorette, or a simple villager. The town is not very big, so it takes only one or two ingame hours to go through the whole map in order to pass on gifts and raise FP/LP to everyone. The time passes per second, so it is a little fast.

    The dungeon crawling is addictive as well. On days you prefer not to wander in town, you can go out to train your character using a variety of weapons. My personal favorite is the dual blade because it's offensive and swift. Keep in mind that if you want to complete the entire storyline, you might want to consider maxing out your craft and forge skills. I finished my first playthrough without it entirely, but my second file is going to do so.

    RF4 is a game you truly won't regret buying. When I bought it, I simply thought it was like Harvest Moon and the box art was pretty. But it is so much more. It took me a while to pick up a HM game again because once you play a RF game, HM feels smaller in comparison.

    Personally, I think characters are the most important aspect of a simulation rpg. With fascinating characters, you find yourself captivated by the stories you learn as you raise your friendships. You definitely should consider getting this game! (PS, the bachelors are going to ruin your life. I need another copy to marry all six.)
    Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    This was my first rune factory game, recommended to me because of my large Harvest Moon collection. I was skeptical, but I have to say IThis was my first rune factory game, recommended to me because of my large Harvest Moon collection. I was skeptical, but I have to say I enjoyed it far more than I thought I would. There isn't a real 'story' progression besides developing the town and finding romance, but that's to be expected. I also wasn't surprised that you can only be in heterosexual relationships, but it's still a bit of a downer. Over all, it's extremely fun to play and many hours can go into it before it gets boring. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. If you're a fan of Rune Factory or Harvest Moon games, then this is definitely a game to check out. TheThis game is absolutely fantastic. If you're a fan of Rune Factory or Harvest Moon games, then this is definitely a game to check out. The storyline in this is a lot more in-depth than the other games, and there's a LOT more content for you to explore and discover. In Rune Factory 3, for example, I had NO problems rushing through the dungeons. In Rune Factory 4, however, they provide a challenge that makes it fun to go through and not just cream everything. Strategy is needed, and it is great. The farming and other aspects of the game like crafting and cooking are very well done, too. Collapse
  5. Oct 1, 2015
    9
    Rune Factory 4 is a game that I would highly recommend. I found Harvest Moon to be too focused on farming, and while this game does have someRune Factory 4 is a game that I would highly recommend. I found Harvest Moon to be too focused on farming, and while this game does have some farming aspects, it's not the main focus of the game. It has a colorful cast of characters. And, amazingly, almost every time I talk to one of the characters (in the game), they have something new/different to tell me. The art is gorgeous. Surprisingly, the voice actors are very good too. Most of the controls are easy-to-use. This game was really addicting. I think I literally played it for three hours straight, when I first got it. Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    I have played all the DS games of Rune Factory, and i was addicted to it. It was like i was in a game, a very unique one. And when i heardI have played all the DS games of Rune Factory, and i was addicted to it. It was like i was in a game, a very unique one. And when i heard there was Rune Factory 4, i bought and played it and it didn't disappoint me at all. There were new stories, new additions and the characters were different. And also we can choose our gender. I also like the cut-scenes. But the sprites weren't really something i was fond of, some was not really good and felt like it was forgotten, but i still like the art. And the swimming clothes and pajamas weren't all that different, some looks the same.

    But there was also the dating system, which i really love. It made me felt like i was the one dating the character and it felt really romantic, like a real love story.

    What i would like the most was better sprites, more talking with different topics, and the 3D characters could have more expressions and i would like to see a more bigger world, and also it's better if i could see the characters face and body more.
    Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    A good change of pace to the other RPG's out there. I played Rune Factory Frontier on the Wii, and this is a definite step forward for theA good change of pace to the other RPG's out there. I played Rune Factory Frontier on the Wii, and this is a definite step forward for the franchise. Where Frontier was murky and confusing on how to progress the main story, Rune Factory 4 is clear and concise. The farming and town aspects are fun and are something you just don't see in other games (obvious Harvest Moon comparison excluded). If you're an RPG fan and looking for either a solid next RPG, or something a little different from the status quo, this is a good place to look. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers