Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    80
    Shifting World takes the whole world switching mechanic and breathes fresh air into it, presenting players with some amazing brain-teasing stages. Smart level design, a stylish art style, and plenty of different modes to work through make this puzzle platform title one of the best 'under the radar' Nintendo 3DS games of 2012.
  2. 75
    Despite the frustration caused by these problems, I really enjoyed this game. I'll continue to play it, because even though I know at least a couple times an hour I'm going to want to throw my 3DS through the nearest wall, when that's not happening Shifting World is a great little puzzle platformer with a lot of interesting wrinkles.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    65
    It's disappointing to see such a promising title held back by problems that could have been easily fixed. [April 2012, p.83]
  4. May 15, 2012
    60
    The fact that Shifting World's flaws are so easily fixable makes this release all the more frustrating.
  5. Jun 7, 2012
    55
    It has all the earmarks of a classic puzzler that keeps you coming back for more. That's what makes it so frustrating: it's clear there's a good game under the surface, but it's lying at the bottom of a deep pool of frustrating, ill-conceived design decisions.
  6. Jun 20, 2012
    52
    A great idea for a puzzle game, with a cool minimal art style, but it's just stretched too thin. The baffling slowdown and useless mini-map only make it worse. [July 2012, p.92]
  7. Sep 17, 2012
    49
    The simplicity of the web game is lost in this flabby, oversized spin-off. [Nov 2012, p.85]
  8. The original's good ideas are distorted in an apparent attempt to justify a price tag. [Nov 2012, p.98]
  9. May 14, 2012
    30
    Shifting World certainly contains the germ of a great idea but it execution leaves a lot to be desired. Uninspired level design, a useless map, poor responsiveness and inexplicable slowdown all come together to make Shifting World feel like an unfinished beta version released at retail. Shifting World had potential, but in its current state, you're not missing much by passing on it.

There are no user reviews yet.