Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 35
  2. Negative: 8 out of 35
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    84
    All things considered Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir is not only because of the very limited content almost like a playable B-Movie.
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    Many may bemoan the fact that Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir is a bite-sized gimmick of an adventure, but it stays true to the Project Zero series, mixing in some intriguing new gameplay techniques, and has plenty of depth for those that bother to scratch away the surface and delve deeper.
  3. Apr 23, 2012
    75
    The only 3DS game that rivals the AR integration in this game is the card collection that came with the handheld. It's just too bad Spirit Camera's play length is disappointingly short, even when you include the non-story modes.
  4. Apr 5, 2012
    75
    Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir is an interesting experiment in AR gaming that expands the possibilities of the 3DS beyond that of just a gaming handheld.
  5. May 8, 2012
    71
    Criminally short. [May 2012, p.88]
  6. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    The short Story mode was the most disappointing part, but I liked using the AR booklet and my own environment to make a largely satisfying experience.
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    70
    If you enjoyed the system's preinstalled AR Games, consider this a title worth investigating. [April, 2012, p.82]
  8. May 28, 2012
    66
    Isn't anything more than a tech demo. [July 2012, p.86]
  9. Apr 18, 2012
    66
    A tragic shame. The game offers up incredible potential, both for new creative possibilities in design and in unorthodox but engaging controls using the AR and camera feature of the 3DS.
  10. Aug 21, 2012
    60
    There's no shortage of ideas on display, featuring some of the best use of AR tech on the handheld to date, but ultimately the 3DS feels more like a curse for the franchise, rather than a blessing.
  11. Jul 3, 2012
    60
    Spirit Camera takes on the ambitious challenge of offering to the players a ghost hunt in augmented reality. A direct spin-off of Project Zero, this title is full of scary but fun ideas, and also excels in terms of sound design. Too bad though that one will have trouble sometimes to dive in the game because of the need for light for it to run smoothly, an AR requirement.
  12. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    When it works, the walls between reality and the Diary of Faces melt away, exposing an adventure truly suited to the 3DS. Unfortunately, the hokey story and technological limitations do the opposite, reaffirming the reality that you're just standing in your living room, spinning in place.
  13. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    Does an excellent job building suspense, and so long as you have the proper lights, works quite well. Not exactly the game that'll save AR, but after several years of failure, it's a step in the right direction.
  14. Apr 11, 2012
    59
    The ultimate knock against Spirit Camera is that it just doesn't have very much content. It's well-produced while it lasts, but it doesn't last long.
  15. A brilliant idea that works well, but it's far too short to offer value for money. [June 2012, p.106]
  16. Jul 7, 2012
    55
    A wonderful idea, but poorly executed. It doesn't work in the dark and it loses it's horror essence during the day. For once we're glad a game only lasts three to four hours.
  17. Jun 28, 2012
    55
    A good idea has not gone that high as it could. Puzzles and minigames for 3DS cameras, sometimes they fail and hinder the fun. Short and shallow.
  18. Apr 19, 2012
    55
    The underlying idea behind Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir good, but the overall package isn't up to snuff.
  19. Apr 9, 2012
    55
    With a longer campaign and more content, Spirit Camera could have been a revolutionary experience. As is, it fails to go much farther than Face Raiders did - and that was free.
  20. Jul 9, 2012
    54
    As if it were an experimental title in augmented reality, Spirit Camera shows that stories can be told using this technology, offering an inmersive experience in which you can blend the console with the players' environment. Despite these good things, the game is too short and has its flaws, especially in the interaction with the cameras, But it is a bold game, with some interesting ideas, which acts as a pioneer in a new genre.
  21. Jun 28, 2012
    52
    Short and uninspired. Spirit Camera tries many good ideas but most of them are poorly executed.
  22. Aug 11, 2012
    50
    Spirit Camera is one of those games with a funny concept and that, while not resulting in the expected scale, always end up creating a certain willingness to finish the narrative presented.
  23. Aug 6, 2012
    50
    An original idea of a ghost-chasing and solving puzzles through your augmented reality is, however, buried by its brief stereotypic gameplay with technical issues. Buy it at a bargain price, otherwise not.
  24. Jul 22, 2012
    50
    Spirit Camera is a nice concept but one that's a little too demanding to be easily enjoyed. It's full of neat spooks and tricks but there are far cheaper and better ways of getting your freak on.
  25. Jul 19, 2012
    50
    The AR booklet offers an interesting concept and a few great puzzles, but Spirit Camera lacks the necessary compelling gameplay and scares to keep you on the edge of your seat.
  26. Jul 6, 2012
    50
    Great atmosphere and good potential for this Project Zero spin-off, that unfortunately fails in every other possible way.
  27. Apr 12, 2012
    50
    I was thankful that this experience didn't last over three hours total, but players who paid money for it might not be as pleased. Spirit Camera has some extras to check out, but most of them involve repacking campaign content or taking photos with silly ghosts inserted into them. You can always play through a harder version of the campaign with added text and a cute new outfit for Maya, but I wouldn't recommend it.
  28. Jul 11, 2012
    48
    Spirit Camera is an interesting tech demo but a disaster as a retail title: in fact, it lacks so much in gaming elements you could hardly call it a video game.
  29. 40
    Unsatisfactory survival horror shows an interesting concept but every positive feeling is wiped out by its overall shortness and a weak presentation of augmented-reality. [Issue#220]
  30. Jul 11, 2012
    40
    With less focus on unspectacular Augmented Reality and more focus on suspense, psychological terror and atmosphere this could have been a great horror game for Nintendos mobile system.
  31. 40
    If Spirit Camera wasn't so tied to the AR booklet, the experience might be a little better, but the inherent problems with the 3DS' camera sensitivity and being tied to the booklet really drags the game down. Add to that a boring storyline and uninspired puzzles and you're left with a pretty worthless experience. No real reason to pick up this ghost story, folks. The AR games that came with your 3DS are better.
  32. Jul 30, 2012
    30
    A game broken in so many ways there's no point in even trying to press "start" in the menu screen.
  33. Apr 23, 2012
    30
    While Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir has a genuinely interesting premise, it's let down early by its own technological limitations, and the disappointment is fairly consistent from there.
  34. 20
    A laughably bad ghost story whose broken technology and shallow gameplay cannot sustain even its meagre two hour running time.
  35. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Shallow, predictable, awkward and pathetically brief, Spirit Camera isn't worth the paper that its silly ghost diary is printed on. You'll have a scarier time using the AR features already packed into the 3DS and making spooky owl noises with your mouth.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    Well this had alot mixed reviews and all boils down to fact the game use AR function on 3DS for everything in the game. it also use a special AR purple book that comes with the game. The game uses a16 page purple book to pull you into a different dimension of story telling. And that a great thing! it also use gyro scope in 3DS so you will turning around 360 degree exploring your own environment and spooky house that in the game that you must delve deep into. Personal i think concept is boss and fact get the purple book with game is great little extra! Game has three modes of play - Story mode, spirit camera and selection AR games that use purple book. Ive only just bought game other week for £22 pound and what Ive play Ive liked. This is spin off to fatal frame that appear on few consoles however never like this before. I haven't completed game yet as game require good amount light to play it and because AR camera on 3DS isn't most advanced camera in world. You will need to play it in the day time. Which kinda takes the scare factor down notch! but theirs few good scares and few really great ideas on show here! Graphics pretty good for what they are and the way they show in real world and fiction one is good.
    story mode last between 2 - 3 hours and then got optionally modes play around with that extend play time. There are few unlocks like AR levels, costumes, and difficult levels also extra hard mode story mode which will increase game time as fill in blanks to story so worth playing through it second time.
    I though its was great experience even though there were some design issues and fact need good lighting play game properly. But this is one few games that actual use AR function so in that respect Its good for what it does and if see it for cheap then id say take step into purple book and you may just find very unique experience that can only be found on 3DS.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I absolutely loved this game. It's good for those of you who like a good scare, but won't give you nightmares for the rest of your life. I haven't played any of the Fatal Frame games, partly because I've seen gameplay, and it looks even freakier than spirit camera, and partly because I have no PS2. If you want to get into horror games and haven't played any yet, this is a good starter. Now, don't get me wrong, these characters do look quite realistic at first. True story- I didn't know what to expect from Spirit Camera, played the first battle, and was afraid to go to the bathroom at night. The, I played it about 6 months later, and knew what to expect. Before playing the game, check out the characters on the official website. That should give you a sense of what to expect. It's a shame they don't show the woman in black, though, and some of the diary pages are missing on the site. Oh well, what can you do? The game may be short, but once you complete it, you get a lot of extra cool stuff. Also, you can play the game again with Maya in a different (VERY different) outfit. It only took my 3 days to finish after my little (or big) break, so it's short. The creepiest battle may have been Shiori's... that creeped me out for like one night but then I was fine, and I forgot about my fears of her and came to love her. Over all, I give this game a 10 (I'd give it a 100 if I could). Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    It was great for the first Fatal frame on a 3Ds nice graphics but, by the trailer I assumed you walked in an old manor like the console games I was very disappointed by how short this game was it only took me 2 hours to beat it... Full Review »