Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Aug 9, 2013
    100
    Ladies and gentlemen, may I present to you SteamWorld Dig: Your new favourite Nintendo 3DS game.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    95
    SteamWorld Dig is easily the best eShop game of the year.
  3. Sep 2, 2013
    91
    SteamWorld Dig sets out to be a safe but amazingly polished gem, and SteamWorld Dig is exactly that, no more, no less.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Part Metroid, part Minecraft and 100% wonderful. [Nov 2013, p.73]
  5. Well, this is a real adventure. Few other eShop games are as ambitious or as intelligent about how to achieve their goals on the required smaller scale.
  6. Aug 11, 2013
    90
    Those looking for a nice little distraction from something like Animal Crossing: New Leaf at the moment may just have found the perfect candidate.
  7. 90
    SteamWorld Dig is a fresh game for the Nintendo eShop and one of the best digital games available on Nintendo's 3D handheld.
  8. Sep 10, 2013
    88
    SteamWorld Dig starts slow, it's almost boring, you are going to drop it... then you find a new upgrade and keep going and a few hours later you are sad it's over. One of the best downloadable games on eShop, period.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! Read a lot of reviews praising this game so I had to download it. Great controls, gameplay and graphics. Great mix of spaghetti western and steampunk. Gotta love those robots. Can't wait for the sequel! Full Review »
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    As a big of dig games (Terraria, Minecraft, etc) I really enjoyed this game. The art style, minimized storyline and action platformer game-play made for an incredible enjoyable experience.

    The only complaint I can think to make about this game is that at 5 hours to complete (and a couple additional hours for full completion) I did feel like the experience was a bit short and due to to lack of randomization the re-playability is fairly low.

    That being said however this game was a blast and at the low pricetag even the brevity of the game isn't enough to stop me from recommending it to anyone.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Do you like games like Minecraft, Terraria, Dig Dug or Motherload? Is your second home in the underground, mining and digging minerals? Are you a robot? Well, if all 3 questions apply to you, you should go see a doctor. But if you are said yes to the first 2 questions, then SteamWorld Dig is the perfect game for you.
    In this game you will dig deeper and deeper, finding scary and awesome stuff and, of course, minerals to bring back home.
    I do not want to spoil too much, BUT I can assure you, you will love this game (if you are a fan of games like this) and enjoy every second of it. Go on now, go get it on the Nintendo 3DS eShop!
    Full Review »