User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    Overall this is a great game for the 3DS it uses touchscreen controls where you act as a submarine commander. Some could argue that this is more of a tech demo then a game but I disagree. Nintendo has added Steel commander mode which is a lot of fun. It is a more simplified version of advanced wars but under water. The sonar component is well designed and the game offers an achievement system in the form of decals that upgrade your sub and change the gameplay. The 3D effect is beautiful and you really feel like your looking into the ocean as if it were a little take placed in your 3DS. If you want to play something totally unique that you have not played before this is well worth picking up. It uses every bit of your 3DS hardware in it's gameplay and it's just plain fun. Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    Steel Diver seems very similar to an obscure NES title called Silent Service, which is a good thing, since Silent Service was such an epic game. The epic 3D visuals and graphics make this a fun strategy.
  3. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    This is great. Really fun and a joy to play something new and wonderful and exiting like this. Superb tight controls makes this a winnner and with a full campaign, time trials , periscope strike challenges and steel commander a strategy game, this has really a lot to offer. I have allready spend about 4 hours with this game and i'm not half through yet. Thanks to Nintendo for trying something new and shame shame shame on all those crazy people giving this game a bad review. They are really NOT gamers.. All love goes to Steel Diver. â Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Steel Diver is a great game overall, but can be difficult, especially when trying to unlock all the game has to offer. The game offers three modes to play; Campaigns, Periscope Strike, and Steel Commander. Campaigns is broken up into two parts, Missions and a Time Trial mode. Missions are very addictive but are slow paced. The time trials are broken up into multiple maps but, unfortunately, you cannot trade you ghost times through StreetPass. Periscope Strike is a mode where you take command of a submarine and are trying to take out all the enemy ships within a certain time limit. It can be challenging but not very fun. Steel Commander is the games sole multiplayer mode. Thankfully, this mode can be played with DS Download Play. It is a basic Battleship game, except you don't get total control on the location of the ships. If your submarine is taken down, you lose. If you take out all the enemy ships or the enemy submarine, you win! Steel Diver can be addicting but slow. If you like fast paced games, give this a miss. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    6
    There's so much potential in this game yet the difficulty of controls make this a bit forgettable. It's my least played game in my collection so far.
  6. Dec 5, 2011
    4
    This was my first 3DS game and i havent polayed it in a long time because there are so many awesome titles that just beat the crap out of it. There are fun modes like sinking the battleships but are only fun for about 15 minutes. The controls are awful and it is very difficult to manuver your submarine in story mode and you occasionally hit into obstacles and enemies and blow up. The missiles are hard to shoot at enemies in story mode and usually cost you health just trying to aim and fire at ships at the surface of the water. The graphics and 3D are average and the water affects are good when you are splashed, but nothing worth "WOWing!" Overall, this game should be avoided to most 3DS owners and eager children should have their parents wait until the price drops to at least to $20 or lower, which is unlikely. Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    I just can't get enough of this game. Almost every day I play Steel Diver not only to get high scores in time trials ang campaign missions, but also just to repeat these relaxing undersea voyages that are so amazingly addictive. The only mode I didn't enjoy was Steel Commander, but perhaps you'll understand it better then I and get some fun there (well, it's pretty fun if you play it with someone via Download Play). One of my favourite games for Nintendo 3DS! I just love it. Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    http://anti-gaming.tumblr.com/post/12747253131/steel-diver-review

    A great little game. Unfortunately, gamers are spoiled today and expect way too much. Steel Diver is a game that demands precision and only rewards mastery. This doesn't sit well with most people, I imagine.
  9. Apr 29, 2012
    7
    This game makes me sad. Its not a bad game by any means, but it could have been so much better. The controls are purposefully unresponsive which may sound like a bad thing, but if this game had fluid and responsive controls, it would suck. The whole poit of this game is to make you think about your next move, and requiring you to anticipate whats next, which makes the gameplay smart and rewarding. The graphics and art of the game are quite nice, and the sound effects are very atmospheric, which really help to immerse you into the game. The great thing about this game is how unique the gameplay is. Chances are you haven't every played a sidescrolling submarine strategy/action/racing/sim game before. This is why it pains me to say how little gameplay is existant in this game. You get three subs, and 7 short levels, and thats it. If your good at the game you could probably beat the hardest/longest level in the game in under 10 minutes. Although it's fun to replay the levels with different subs, your doing it on the same 7 levels. Although when you beat all the levels with all three subs you unlock expert levels, their just the same levels with a few extra objects put in it. The short time trial mode and crummy battleship ripoff aren't enough to make up for the overall lack of content. Although I do think the gameplay is quite fun and the game is atmospheric, I can't shake the feeling that because of the relatively small amount of content in this game it would have been better suited as an eshop downloadable title. If you can find this game for 15 or possibly 20$ I could recommend it but otherwise the price is just to steep. Its a shame there isn't more content because the game itself is quite intruiging. Expand
  10. Aug 26, 2013
    4
    It seems that Steel Diver was made not to make a good game but to show off what the 3DS could do in terms of how you control the game (big examples being the switches to move and the wolf gang like part in the game) but just because it was innovative doesn't mean it's good.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. Jul 7, 2011
    50
    Simple arcade game with relatively addicting gameplay which suffers from a severe lack of content. In this case it's quite a fundamental problem.
  2. 60
    Some good ideas and stunning graphics with nice 3D effects rise this underwater arcade slightly above average. [June 2011]
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    70
    It seems safe to say that Steel Diver will not reach the level of popularity among Nintendo's most beloved franchises, but Miyamoto and company still deserve kudos for inventing another unique gameplay experience that is seldom seen elsewhere. While the learning curve can be steep, enough patience will lead to a satisfying package that's two games in one and easily bears replaying.