Super Monkey Ball 3D 3DS

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2011
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 57
  2. Negative: 16 out of 57
Buy On
  1. May 13, 2011
    91
    My only major complaint is the lack of mini-games. While the two present can be fun in their own right, I would have loved to see a few more for variety.
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    84
    The main game ends up being the most fun, but it can be completed relatively quickly. As far as launch games go, Super Monkey Ball 3D ends up being an impressive one, simply because of the amount of content available.
  3. Apr 14, 2011
    83
    While it risks being overlooked due to some of the series' less than stellar versions, Super Monkey Ball plays like a dream on Nintendo's latest handheld. It's a true return to form for AiAi and the bunch, and one of the best uses of 3D I've seen yet on the system.
  4. May 16, 2011
    80
    This is definitely a return to form for for the franchise. It's not as good as the original game, and much as that was what I was hoping for, it's not a disappointment.
  5. Mar 20, 2011
    80
    There will inevitably be some long-time fans disappointed by the game's far tamer level designs and lack of fan favourite Monkey Target mini-game, but those who can open their minds up to something a bit different might actually find the game a fun and engaging experience.
  6. Nintendo Power
    Apr 13, 2011
    75
    Still, the Super Monkey action here proves to be a satisfying addition to the franchise. [April 2011, p.86]
  7. Apr 13, 2011
    75
    In the end, SEGA should be commended for releasing one of their best Super Monkey Ball games to date. Not only does it pay homage to the original GameCube game but it features updated graphics and gyroscope technology that takes the franchise into the 21st century. It's a shame that the 3D doesn't work too well with the gyroscope but if you use the circle pad, the 3D works like a charm.
  8. Mar 25, 2011
    75
    A stellar action puzzle hybrid with tight controls, Monkey Ball 3D is the best Monkey Ball game since the original, and Sega's found some cool ways to implement the system's 3D functionality and make it relevant to the gameplay.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    Oh crap. I accidentally put 10 instead of 5.5 (5). Well there now they even each other out. Read my actual review if you want an in depth lookOh crap. I accidentally put 10 instead of 5.5 (5). Well there now they even each other out. Read my actual review if you want an in depth look in the game. Yeah. . . . Full Review »
  2. Jan 6, 2016
    6
    Super Monkey Ball 3D is a disappointing game filled with flaws and a moderately sized dosage of crap, but it still manages to be brieflySuper Monkey Ball 3D is a disappointing game filled with flaws and a moderately sized dosage of crap, but it still manages to be briefly decent with the underwhelming Challenge mode. I wouldn’t recommend buying this, but it isn’t the worst game in the world. Just don’t play Race or Fight mode.

    57/100 (rounded to 6/10).
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 6, 2015
    6
    The game is fun since you can use the motion control, otherwise is very easy, the minigames that should prolongue the game are very boring,The game is fun since you can use the motion control, otherwise is very easy, the minigames that should prolongue the game are very boring, the kart is broken and the fighting is just not interesting, the game is just not that fun... Full Review »