The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1051 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is being remade in 3-D for the 3DS.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    100
    This game is one of the greatest things that video games have ever achieved.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    100
    I wonder how anything will ever better Ocarina of Time in its small but vital corner of this bloated industry.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    100
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend.
  4. 95
    If you've never played Ocarina of Time before, run out and buy this immediately. If you're intimately familiar with the game, there's nothing too new in this version to pull you in, though if you ever get the urge to play it again, Ocarina of Time 3D lets you experience all your wonderful memories with a brand new modern feel.
  5. Game Informer
    Jun 15, 2011
    93
    My new favorite way to play one of my top 10 games of all time. Its updated visuals look great in 3D, the touch-screen streamlines inventory issues, and aiming with the gyroscope feels like much more than a gimmick. [July 2011, p.92]
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a classic that still works, even though it's essentially the same game as it was in 1998. It would surprise me if Nintendo in the future doesn't feel the need of releasing a new console with a battery that lasts longer between recharges, since that is the biggest issue with his remake. Using the gyroscope doesn't match well with the need of having your 3DS connected to the wall socket. But all in all, the excellent adventure remains intact.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 30, 2011
    70
    Not entirely a bad remake – the great adventure catches everyone but controls are clumsy and 3D effects are far from what we expected. [July 2011]

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 281
  1. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    The original Ocarina of time is one of the greatest games ever. The remake only makes it even better. One of the biggest selling points is theThe original Ocarina of time is one of the greatest games ever. The remake only makes it even better. One of the biggest selling points is the complete graphical overhaul. And let me say, the new look is smoother, more polished, and just plain better. The 3D effect is nice and does some cool stuff without being gimmicky. One dissapointment is the music. Don't get me wrong, the music is great, it's just Nintendo has literally not changed anything. The tunes, while great, have started to show age. The touch screen has given the blessing of easier item switching, something which everyone is thankfull for. While the puzzle solving and exploration is entertaining, the sword combat, like the music, is aged. Link's combat options are limited, with only 2 avalible sword attacks (regular slash and jump attack). This is only a minor blemish in a near perfect experiance though. This is a great way to experience a already great game, and a must buy considering the 3DS's lackluster library. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do,OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features or mechanics, however it does add a few features that take advantage of the 3ds hardware. Is this game still to be considered the best game ever made? Or is nostalgia a greater factor than the actual aspects of the game?

    Well, many die hard Zelda fans may be dismayed to hear this, but nostalgia is a HUGE factor of whether or not gamers will feel that this game is still amazing. Players who have never played OoT before this are surely going to love the story, the music, and the exploration and atmosphere, but may not feel it is one of the best games of all time.

    But as for the many of us who fell in love with the original, this is the same game, plain and simple. The 3ds specific features are overall enjoyable, but not game changing or breaking for that matter. the gyroscopic controls are a surprisingly well implemented idea. The 3D effect adds depth, and definitely has some moments that actually pop from the screen, however, again, it isn't game changing or necessary. Like it or not, OoT is just as amazing now as it was in 98. With the revamped graphics, the master quest, boss rush, and optional hints for newer players, this game is surely deserving of the attention of anyone who enjoys video games.
    Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Yes, It's the same game from the n64, exactly. That is PERFECTLY FINE! some things don't need to change, this game was perfect and it isYes, It's the same game from the n64, exactly. That is PERFECTLY FINE! some things don't need to change, this game was perfect and it is perfect now. Plus you get to play it on the go. Plus the graphics have improved. Plus you feel a bit of nostalgia playing it. Rarely do remakes keep the charm and playability of the original, in this case the game keeps all of its virtues. This is a perfect version of this game, as was the n64 version. I love it, a whole lot. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece. This game includes great length, great story, absolutely awesome puzzles and of course the graphics. It'sThis game is a true masterpiece. This game includes great length, great story, absolutely awesome puzzles and of course the graphics. It's been pretty much 13 years since the original game on the N64 and because of certain limitations, the N64 version looked a bit......blocky. Now having it on the 3DS, the game looks a million times better (especially the effects that appear when you play the ocarina). Great Work Ninty, you have crafted a true masterpiece. Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    I don't think there is anything I could say about this game that hasn't been said in the past, like, 12 years since it originally came out.I don't think there is anything I could say about this game that hasn't been said in the past, like, 12 years since it originally came out. It's a good game, play it. The 3DS version works perfectly. Controls are great and the second screen working as the map is quite a good idea. Additionally, graphics have received an upgrade. The magic of the original and the improvements of a re-release make this a great package overall. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    This gmae is great. This is the first zelda game I have played and it got me hooked on the other games. The gameplay and puzzles are perfectThis gmae is great. This is the first zelda game I have played and it got me hooked on the other games. The gameplay and puzzles are perfect and it doesn't seem very dull. Collecting all the heart peices and killing all the skulltulas can become a pain, but otherwise its a must get if you have a 3ds Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2015
    1
    This version of the game makes me miss the N64. The controls basically ruined an above average game for me. The soundtrack and the visualsThis version of the game makes me miss the N64. The controls basically ruined an above average game for me. The soundtrack and the visuals look awesome. Expand

See all 281 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games Image
    Published: July 1, 2016
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Nintendo 3DS.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.