The Sims 3 3DS


Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 29
  2. Negative: 12 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    If you'd like to play a life simulation on the new 3D handheld with face recognition and StreetPass and can live with just one savegame slot, you have to get this evergreen port now.
  2. Mar 25, 2011
    If you've already invested a portion of your life to the game on other platforms, it's probably not as essential because you've already done all it has to offer and more. Still, it's a great way to experience the fun of a Hoarders-style train wreck while you're on the road.
  3. Games Master UK
    May 8, 2011
    Impressive content but fiddly as a result. [June 2011, p.87]
  4. Nintendo Power
    Apr 13, 2011
    Everything's mostly solid from a gameplay standpoint, but touch-screen inputs can be recognized on occasion. [April 2011, p.80]
  5. Mar 23, 2011
    It's obvious that sweat has gone into translating all of Sims 3's features onto a hand-held device, but beyond the core game - the eating, buying, working, cleaning Sims - the game feels too lightweight and its features too incidental.
  6. Apr 1, 2011
    Electronic Arts was able to successfully pull together a faithful console/PC port for the much smaller 3DS platform, but I think that they pushed their luck a bit too far.
  7. Apr 13, 2011
    Though it is a full and immersive title, The Sims 3 does bear the hallmarks of being a port without much consideration for the increased capacity and capabilities of the 3DS, with some struggling controls and awkward presentation to boot.
  8. Apr 10, 2011
    In the end, EA did try to do good with this game but for me, there were too many inconsistencies of the interface to the graphical problems. To compound the problem, The Sims 3 was actually far sturdier and dare I say, more fun on the DS as it was a strong game overall, not so on the 3DS version.
  9. Mar 30, 2011
    We already know these Sims. We've seen them a lot of time and they have not changed. The 3D effect isn't spectacular and outline of the game does not support important innovations. There are other better versions of The Sims 3.
  10. Nintendo Gamer
    May 13, 2011
    Boring, truncated and better experienced elsewhere. [May 2011, p.64]
  11. 55
    Not an awful game; it's merely not well suited in its current form for the handheld.
  12. Mar 30, 2011
    The Sims 3 charms your socks off at first but soon reveals its disappointing limitations.
  13. Mar 30, 2011
    While the 3DS-enabled features are a nice touch and the core concept is intact, The Sims 3 ultimately feels like a lightweight launch title. Newcomers may get a small kick out of living a fake life, but if this isn't your first virtual rodeo, you're better off sticking to the real world.
  14. Apr 23, 2011
    The Sims 3 is an adequate port for the 3DS, but in the end fails to capture the addictive fun and charm of its original counterpart.
  15. Apr 6, 2011
    The Sims 3 for 3DS is simplified down to match the platform, but in turn loses most of its original appeal.
  16. Apr 5, 2011
    For all its faults, The Sims 3 on 3DS is a serviceable way of getting your pretend life fix on the go. As a launch title, it's frustrating that the game's 3DS features aren't better tuned.
  17. Mar 30, 2011
    This game should have never been ported to the 3DS. The game is much better on the PC and Electronic Arts should have put more time in the 3DS version. Too bad!
  18. 45
    Very limited content and clumsy controls make The Sims 3 a disappointing 3DS launch title. Nevertheless, there is a true Sims experience here, and one that is boosted by the clever use of the StreetPass function.
  19. Jun 14, 2011
    The Sims 3 simply doesn't work on Nintendo 3DS (and, probabily, on a portable system as well). The nice formula of the PC version has been distorted and misread.
  20. Apr 17, 2011
    The last installment of the most famous virtual life simulator jumps into a 3D new life: it's a shame that the games disappoints in every way.
  21. May 27, 2011
    Considering its numerous faults, this edition of The Sims 3 proves to be quite disappointing, since the only ones able to fully enjoy it will be those unable to live a single moment of their live's without their precious Sims by their side.
  22. Apr 19, 2011
    The Sims 3 3DS is to the other console versions what the travel MB games are to the original MB connect 4. A light portable version keeping the basic principles, with adapted ergonomics but without every bell and whistle that were its charm. You can get it if your really won't be able to keep away from the other versions for long, but even if it's your case, I wouldn't recommend it if you don't want to play it in 2D, since the 3D gives more headaches than added enjoyment.
  23. Apr 12, 2011
    Ultimately, The Sims is a game you can lose yourself in, as you get caught up in the antics of the little digital people you've created. You share their hopes, their fears, their ups and downs. Or, at least, you can do that on the PC. On the 3DS, you mainly have to mop up a lot of messes, half of which are created by your Sim wetting themselves. It's about as fun as it sounds.
  24. Mar 22, 2011
    As a quick and dirty port this is no disgrace but it doesn't make any meaningful use of the 3DS's functions or the concept's potential.
  25. Apr 2, 2011
    The Sims 3 for Nintendo 3DS is nothing but a rushed and soulless conversion of the popular series. Only the most essential functions remain, and the use of 3 in the games title remains a mystery. This shouldn't even be called Sims 1,5. Stay away.
  26. Apr 2, 2011
    Quotation forthcoming.
  27. Mar 31, 2011
    It's not at all surprising to play a franchise launch game that lacks polish and precision, but The Sims 3 comes off as careless -- especially for a series with such strong cultural and consumer cachet. Even the much cheaper iPhone version offers a richer portable take on the series, and that came out in 2009!
  28. Mar 30, 2011
    A strong contender for the title of 'Worst 3DS Launch Game'. It has a sickening amount of bugs, is unfinished and reeks of a game that has been rushed for launch.
  29. A shambles of a port that is an embarrassment to anyone who decided it was ready to be released.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. May 23, 2011
    Picked up The Sims 3 on the launch of the 3DS, and what a disappointment it was. I have been a avid Sims fan since the original, and this gamePicked up The Sims 3 on the launch of the 3DS, and what a disappointment it was. I have been a avid Sims fan since the original, and this game has got to be the worst Sims product I have ever bought. The biggest disappointment has to be the amount of content in the game, which is very limited with only three locations available (your home and two community lots which include a library and stores). I could have sacrificed the number of options if the core gameplay was as I expected, but no, the sluggish, low frame rate almost makes the game unplayable (Its also worth mentioning that turning off the 3D didn't seem to help, which I found odd). This has been my least played 3DS title and a complete waste of my time and money. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2011
    The Sims 3 is the latest in the franchise and what way to bring it to the 3DS. What do I think? It is absolutely !@$?. The sims was never goodThe Sims 3 is the latest in the franchise and what way to bring it to the 3DS. What do I think? It is absolutely !@$?. The sims was never good to be on a handheld device but the 3DS is even worse! I been playing it but even before playing the game it was extremely bad! The character customisation is horrible, the camera doesn't work well with it. Making the character from scratch it Horrible. No good content. The gameplay is very hard and confusing with the 3DS because the buttons just don't work well with it! And even controlling your character and organising his/her life is impossible, you don't get a sense of control in the world but feels as if the game just plays it for you but in a bad way. You can't look after your character because its so hard to do all these things on the 3DS, it will just turn into a disaster. The 3D effects are good. I can't recommend this game, But if your a die hard fan and can get use to it then and play on-the-go then this is for you. But if you really want the best sims experience play the PC version. Even the console version is better then the 3DS version. Save your money and buy SSFIV 3D or Zelda. A horrible game. Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    I got this game for free with the 3DS and even THEN I feel ripped off. This is like the "I just wasted ten seconds of your life" video in gameI got this game for free with the 3DS and even THEN I feel ripped off. This is like the "I just wasted ten seconds of your life" video in game format. I regret opening the box, inserting the cartridge and starting the "Game" which is worse than Sims1 without any expansions. I'm willing to bet absolutely ZERO dollars were put into this game and they just recycled graphics from The Sims 2. Full Review »