Theatrhythm Final Fantasy 3DS

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
Buy On
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    70
    Only hardcore Final Fantasy aficionados need apply as the game won't sustain interest for those with a casual like for the franchise.
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    70
    Theatrhythm Final Fantasy is beautiful and charming in many respects, but an absolute drudgery in others.
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    60
    It's a simple rhythm-action title at its core, with a set of bolted-on RPG mechanics of little worth. But then players aren't here for those mechanics, they're here for the memories. Bearing that in mind, Theatrhythm Final Fantasy achieves exactly what it sets out to do.
  4. Jul 4, 2012
    70
    A simple music game. But, for someone who grew up with these myths wallpapering their imagination, it is a complex vehicle for emotion. Final Fantasy may be a loose, somewhat obnoxious umbrella term for a collection of games of mixed message and quality, but Theatrhythm succeeds in touching upon some true magic within its bounds.
  5. Aug 11, 2012
    60
    Far from being a perfect choice in rhythm games, the big problem lies in the gameplay model that exhausts its effectiveness quickly and a system of evolution of characters that never works quite right.
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    70
    Theatrhythm is a game made by and for lovers of the Final Fantasy saga.
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    60
    Theatrhythm Final Fantasy, as an hommage to 25 years of Final Fantasy games, is a pure fan service musical game. But one that features some of the best pieces ever written for video games, a very strong point that would almost balance out the shortcomings of a repetitive gameplay.
  8. Feb 13, 2013
    60
    Theatrhythm: Final Fantasy starts off as a celebrated adventure through the musical history of the long-running Final Fantasy series, and the fanservice is apparent and appreciated. However, after only a few hours, the nostalgia wears off and the experience loses its luster. There's just too little to drive this title forward, and without more substance, even the best fanservice in the world will start to lose its appeal.
  9. Jul 30, 2012
    60
    A game conceived, crafted and offered only with the fans of the Final Fantasy franchise in mind. Bear this in mind when you visit your local videogames store.
  10. Jul 7, 2012
    70
    Theatrhythm Final Fantasy isn't original, brilliant or new in any way. You tap and swipe the touch screen of the 3DS to the rhythm of the melodies, like we've done in countless other games before it when this genre was way more popular. This musical puzzle game isn't anything special unless you've played a lot of other Final Fantasy games.
  11. Hyper Magazine
    Sep 18, 2012
    70
    An enjoyable, addictive rhythm experience with some great music, but it's not quite up there with the genre's best. [Oct 2012, p.67]
  12. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    A rhythm game with fantastic music from the Final Fantasy games. Though some game modes are pretty pointless and it's a bit too easy for veterans.
  13. 70
    A cleverly orchestrated souvenir of Final Fantasy at its best, that also can't help but remind you of the series' most common failings.
  14. Jul 4, 2012
    70
    Theatrhythm's real star is undoubtedly its music, however, which appeals far more than its cumbersome RPG elements.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    All right, I may be biased. I love final fantasy, and I love Chibi Lightning. But Theatrhytm is really good fun. The foundation of the game,All right, I may be biased. I love final fantasy, and I love Chibi Lightning. But Theatrhytm is really good fun. The foundation of the game, the music, is not only drawn from some of the best soundtracks around, but easily some of the best in gaming; making for a fantastic rhythm game. I can easily play some of the songs over and over again, especially the Sunleth Waterscape and the Seymour Battle theme. And despite a genre which I initially expected to being non conducive to classic FF grinding and collecting, earning new songs and characters makes playing it so, so much more engaging, and adds hours and hours of playtime, even if you are not a fan of the series. In short, the game is a blast and one of the few portable games where I turn the volume to the max.
    Ps: I got the bonus sticker set, LOVIN IT.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    If you are an avid fan of Final Fantasy this is a must buy. The nostalgia meter is through the roof on this one, and there is a large amountIf you are an avid fan of Final Fantasy this is a must buy. The nostalgia meter is through the roof on this one, and there is a large amount of substance to the game beyond tapping along to songs. I have played many 3DS games and not one of them has ever made me motion sick. The 3D in this game coupled with the moving targets made me sick to my stomach after about 30 minutes of play. But, I powered through it because I'm a champ, and this is an awesome game! I would consider this the first decent game Square has made about Final Fantasy since XII. Full Review »
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    3
    Really Enix?
    This Game sucks, incomplete songs (a song of 4 minutes in theathrythm is 2 minutes), really bad 3d, only 3 songs for game ( I
    Really Enix?
    This Game sucks, incomplete songs (a song of 4 minutes in theathrythm is 2 minutes), really bad 3d, only 3 songs for game ( I not included the crystals songs in "history" mode) more than 50 songs in dlc... really? Since ff X-2, Enix lost his mind, and ff 13 it's a insult for ff fans... pfff, really bad game for 3ds, only for nostalgics and freaks, but the incomplete songs kills me so much... Enix U mad...
    Full Review »