Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lead the Ghosts, the most elite special forces unit in the US Army, across multiple tactical missions to prevent a war from breaking out.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    91
    Overall, the general feel of Shadow Wars is a solid turn-based strategy game -- even if its story backdrop, limited multiplayer, and character archetypes are short on originality.
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    84
    This will keep you staring at your 3DS until you eyes bleed. In a good way. [May 2011, p.67]
  3. May 6, 2011
    81
    This is the best surprise of 3DS launch titles, and those looking for a deep, strategic game will have a lot of fun with it.
  4. Easy to pick up, with enough new stuff to make you think in new ways. [Apr 2011, p.84]
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    80
    That said, the suite of options completes what is a very nice package for strategy fans. Honestly, I'm a little shocked by the overall quality of the experience; in lesser hands, I'm sure it would have ended up being a mediocre port of the console shooters. Instead, we've been treated to a scrumptious strategy experience from one of the best designers in the business. It's not a turn that I was expecting for the Ghost Recon franchise, but I will definitely take it.
  6. May 3, 2011
    70
    Julian Gollop is back with yet another masterful turn based strategy game, and if you can see beyond the weak story and the gimmicky 3D effects - that don't to much to enhance the bland graphics - you'll find a spiritual successor to his old games. Laser Squad: Shadow Wars would have been an equally good name.
  7. Aug 19, 2011
    50
    While it might not be the most pleasant-looking game or have a ton of depth, Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars is still enjoyable and at its best when played in small doses.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    Going into this I was expecting a first person extravaganza but instead got a top down strategy game. It was a pleasant surprise to be honest. Leveling up can use some work and when more people get the 3DS online should be great. I highly recommend this title, hands down the best game out so far. Expand
  2. May 30, 2011
    10
    I was a bit unsure of whether to get this game. I have played games like Advance Wars and Fire Emblem in the past and have really enjoyed them, but for some reason, modern gaming has made me only buy a game if it has good online multiplayer, good graphics and a good story....turns out neither of these things are needed to make this one of the best launch titles for the 3ds, it will keep you occupied for ages and the gameplay is extremely addictive! Worth every penny! Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    I haven't finished the campaign yet, but I'm enjoying it so far. The turn based strategy shows it's predecessors, but that's not a bad thing as I've always enjoyed them. The graphics work well, but this isn't the game you are going to use to showcase the 3D of the system. The only problem is this isn't the Ghost Recon that you've played before. Treat it as a new IP and enjoy it! Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    It was quite repetitive, but the slow addition and accumulation of game concepts were good. The 3d was pronounced, which was good. My two complaints with the game were these, firstly, the game has a horrible story. Actually, one of the worst I've seen. However, since the story does not mix with the game, it is not a huge negative. Secondly, I experienced a couple of bugs where I had to restart the level. I look at the game favorably though, so I recomend getting it for any stategy game fan owning a 3ds. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    8
    If you're looking for a new visual display for your 3DS to really "wow" you, Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars is probably not the game you're looking for. If, however, you're looking for a deep experience with hours of gameplay and have a thing for strategy/tactical games, Shadow Wars is a safe way to spend your money. Graphically, Shadow Wars is kind of ugly. The character models and environments are all rendered in 3D (3D modeling) and clearly don't push the system to its limits with low polygon counts and bland textures. The 3D effects (the ones where the images "pop" out of the screen) add depth to the game, but never go out of their way to do anything interesting with the tech--the way it looks is like cutting a hole in the top of a shoe box and peering through it at little, plastic army men. The 3D doesn't pop out of the screen as much as create a window for you to peer into this world. It does have a clearly defined sense of depth, but it's nothing to drool over. The visuals are very basic and were clearly not the focus of the game's development, but they get the job done. Gameplay, however, offers basic but deep strategic combat while incorporating RPG elements that allow you to improve your team. You're given a team of six Ghosts to control throughout the robust campaign, and each Ghost has a specialty (Sniper, Heavy Weapons, Medic, etc). Each character also comes with a special ability attached to a gauge that fills up slowly after each action--the special abilities come in handy when you find yourself backed against a wall and can act as a sort of panic button (I played on the hardest difficulty for each of the campaign missions, so use of the special abilities was essential). Each mission allows you to choose your difficulty (of which, there are three) before starting and contains a series of objectives (some of which are "starred"). After completing a mission, you are given stars (the amount of stars given is determined by the starred objectives) which you can use to upgrade your characters and equipment. It's a nice touch that adds some sense of depth and customization to an otherwise straightforward strategy game, but it's not a robust leveling system and you're encouraged to level your squad uniformly. There's also a ranking system dubbed "Persistent Elite Creation" (P.E.C.) which allows the player to rank up with ranking tied to the difficulty a mission is completed on. As stated earlier, there are three difficulties and each difficulty opens a new tier of "Eagles" that can be earned (for example: a mission on easy might give you one or two eagles, but playing on the next difficulty up might get you two or three). After completing a mission on any difficulty, the only way to earn eagles for that level is to play it on a higher difficulty. Each eagle you earn increases your P.E.C. score and you rank up after you have accrued the required amount of eagles. Completing campaign missions can also unlock skirmish and multiplayer challenges. The skirmish missions are objective based and similar to (but separate from) the campaign missions--like story-less side missions that expand the game's content (which is a good thing). I haven't played the multiplayer but, from what I've read in the instruction manual, it has players passing a 3DS back and forth (think controller swapping from the days of NES... except with a handheld console). The lack of local wireless and online multiplayer is a bit of a letdown, but there's plenty of content in Shadow Wars to keep you occupied for many, many hours (especially if you're striving to gain max P.E.C. rank). Story in Shadow Wars is pretty lackluster and cliche and never evolves beyond a formula of "bad people are doing bad things." This would be much more bearable if you didn't have to click through text of uninteresting plot developments and unneeded character banter that is often cheesy and poorly written. Another issue with this is mission failure; if you fail a mission, you have to go back to the mission select screen, choose the mission you failed, click your way through all the text and dialogue again, and then you can finally proceed with playing the mission. It's disappointing to me that a game bearing Tom Clancy's name manages to be so uninteresting when it comes to plot. Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars might not be the prettiest game on the 3DS right now and it's not going to blow you away with its added depth, but it's likely to give you the most content for your cash while being a satisfying experience. It's a fun game that's deep enough to keep you engaged, but simple to the point where it will never really astound you. It's certainly good (especially for a launch title) and provides a game that isn't needlessly gimmicky by overusing the 3D effects of Nintendo's new system because it knows it can stand on its own merits as a game. Collapse
  6. May 7, 2012
    8
    For fans of tactical strategy games, this game will surely give you a LOT of entertainment. for those that are not very familiar with this genre, it's simple enough and the way that it guides you through the earlier levels will surely arm you with what you need to know to play this game and play it well.

    combat mechanics are smooth and will be familiar to veterans of this genre of game.

    honestly surprised that i found this with a bargain price of $20 (at my local zellers... not sure if it's everywhere or if this was merely an overstock clearance sale.) but if you see it, it's worth adding to your library.
    Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    Not too bad, but not too goos, either. Gameplay is a bit stuttered, and the game as a whole is let down by dodgy graphics. The lack of online play makes this game a "kinda have". I bought it hoping for more, but will probably end up trading it. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews